We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“continous humming from the pool motor.”
Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on Friday 12th of August. Originally stayed at the hotel on the same site some 39 years ago, then it was called the Queens.

Went to bed around 11.300 PM. At 1.00AM we had to get up the noise from the pool motor was very annoying. went down to the night desk, explained our problem and was given a new room, in fact a suite, brilliant. With the night porter was the man from the pool company!!! who said he couldn't understand where the noise was coming from, I then went with him to the pool area where the noise was coming from then back to the 3rd floor namelly room 315. I really wasn't in the mood for arguing, just wanted some sleep as it was now gone 1.30AM. Not a happy family!!!

Room Tip: Do not take any rooms near the pool IE- rooms 115-215-315 or surrounding rooms, unless of course you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 661 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

PROs
Great hotel, staff were Warm and welcoming and very helpful
What you get from the hotel is good value for money.
The overall Cleanliness of the hotel was very clean, the only thing was they left the washing on the landing when cleaning the rooms.
It is situated about a mile from Prestatyn town center, which is a nice walk to get to
The Double sea facing room on the 3rd floor was nice, The rooms and bathroom were clean, and very well mantained (with tea, coffee, sugar etc), there is a bible in one of the bedside drawers for people who want it.
The breakfast is nice, you get a choice of cerial, choice of juce and tea or coffee, Plus a fried breakfast and toast and jam

CONs
The shower tray kept filling up and the Velux blind rose up slightly

Extra info
We stayed for Sunday dinner and thefood was very nice,
I have not given a rating for the spa as we did not use it, but we did use the heated pool which was very clean and plesent, the only thing that let that down was the locker room was not much to be desired.

Room Tip: Nice Views from the third floor sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Johnson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Enjoy the friendly atmoshere the cullinary delights and the most pleasant helpful staff well recomended for a long weekend or short stay visit local beaches landmarks and places of interset hotel staff are well versed on all local and area attractions call to see snowdon anglesey conwy and many more places of interest

Room Tip: Be friendly also polite ask for sea view also ask for their suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORDBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just returned from The Beaches Hotel after a two night stay. We opted for dinner bed and breakfast option and cannot fault the food. The staff were all very friendly especially in the restaurant . We had a lovely sea view room which although small was very nice with modern bathroom. We would happily return to this hotel if in the area.

Room Tip: Would recommend sea view at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Went to this hotel for a bar meal on 6th July as it was the last night of our holiday. after a lengthy wait to have our order taken, the food took 50 mins to arrive, we ordered 2 starters an omelette and a club sandwich all to be served at the same time for myself, hubby and young daughter. It was in a word disgusting, especially the club sandwich and the omelette was luke warm. we ate the starters but did not enjoy this meal at all, we should've complained but really just wanted to get out ASAP. Bill came to €29.30 for all this we were ripped off big style the prices are far too high for what you get. Then we went to the toilets and they were far from clean. Bar staff are very disorganized and not fast at serving etc, they seem to be more into the plush restaurant at
exorbitant prices. I would not recommend this bar restaurant to anyone, all in all a total waste of. money and spoilt my last night of holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HerbiePaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the hotel, had a lovely time! Didn't look much from the outside, reception and bar areas were lovely. we were a party of 15 or so, celebrating a 60th birthday, great time had by all...

Only minor drawback was, we were given a double room at the front of the hotel, 308... it was like a cupboard, with a dated bathroom. The view was of pontins which looks like a prison camp. also the wind was lifting the ceiling tiles, even with the window closed! We asked to move, there was a twin available, and we moved, it was a sea view room at the back and it was much bigger, the beds could be pushed together, so it was like a double, the bathroom was lovely, modern and clean, with a super power shower!!
Three was no issues about moving us, reception were very helpful so no harm done!

Food in the restaurant was delicious, breakfast good, bar nice atmosphere and lovely staff.

Great location, sea view rooms a must, great to see and hear the sea from your bed, gorgeous :-) would stay again most definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n1kla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Went for 3 nights for a Beatles weekend and had a great time :) Clean pleasant hotel. Wine and food prices a bit much, but since you are in middle of nowhere you put up with it!! Good brekki apart from first morning, that was a bit of a disaster, but fab for next 2 days!! Very nice staff. Wouldnt hesitate in recomending. Im going again for next years beatles weekend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bint69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
1 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
11.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
498 reviews
18 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range: $94 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing