We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good apart from one thing....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the HQ for 2nights. We had to leave early the next day so left where we were told too.
My mum had paid for the room as a present, in the morning she received a rude phone call asking if we had taken the remote in which we had not.

Half an hour later my partner called up to say the remote was in the room. During the phone call the remote was found.

My partner asked them to call back my mum because she was worrying and tell her the remote was found but they did not. Apart from that it was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unknown987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Halcyon Quest Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although not the best hotel certainly not the worst I have stayed in. The room was clean and big enough and well-supplied with tea/coffee and all amenities were in good working order. Also a breakfast is included which was ample enough in the style of English Breakfast. On the negative side the en-suite toilet basin was very small and the window should have been frosted but wasn't and also rooms could do with redecorating. Apart from that the hotel suited its needs.

Room Tip: When booking specify a non-smoking room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked four nights here but left after two. Horrible place, damp and dirty and staffs communication leaves a lot to be desired. Shower door wouldn't close and the bathroom window was clear glass not opaque (people could see everything!!), couldn't adjust water temperature, toilet handle broke struggled to flush and light in bathroom only worked on odd occasion. The room was dirty didn't look like it had been cleaned or hoovered, windows were mainly painted shut.

Room Tip: Don't book at this hotel you'll be very disappointed!!!
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank rachael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The owner has done nothing to address issues highlighted here months ago, in no particular order:

Cluttered corridors, table partially blocking access along corridor to rooms.
Hand towel but no bath towel
Hand wash from pump dispenser, but no block of soap, no shower gel or shampoo
Room layout awful, nowhere to put a cup down, no bedside table
Some windows painted up, a broken window that had been "repaired" with cardboard
Scruffy bedding
Tiny TV
Overall tired and outdated accommodation.

Breakfast had to be pre-ordered and comprised two rashers of bacon, two sausages, fried egg, half a tomato and toast. No mushrooms and no beans. There was no cereal option. There was tinned grapefruit and a collection of apples, oranges, yoghurt, mini buns and a bread/pastry snack. There was an ample supply of toast, butter, marmalade and jam. Coffee was instant granules. Overall the breakfast was fine.

There are no evening meals served, so you have to eat out. There are several places to eat within walking distance.

Beware that on Saturday nights there might be a karaoke running past midnight.

The owner seems more interested in the bar than the hotel side. There was good real ale at reasonable prices (£2.50 a pint), so as a drinking pub it was fine.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woody807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just come back from a 2 night break in Prestatyn, the hotel is tired, but the room was clean and spacious and breakfast was excellent. Don't be put off - the staff are lovely and welcoming and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. Dave & Janet

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank accountanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

not many place in Prestatyn to stay in before I started my Offas Dyke walk so booked this via booking.com as it was easy and not too expensive.
TV connection broken , didn't pursue this as I was only there one night , not a big deal.
Room a touch shabby but I was in a suite so plenty of room bed comfortable enough.
Cooked breakfast was fine.
They did ask for payment up front which was unusual.
All in all for the money i've had better value but there's not much choice here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfuller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is by far the worst "Hotel" I have ever been in!!
Filthy, smelly, damp and stinking of cigarette smoke. Could not even open the window as a sign saying do not open window. Walls and floors falling apart. Wallpaper hanging off.
Envirnomental health surely needs to do a visit!
TV in first room stuck on Babe Station....... reported to barman who replied well its always like that and it wasnt me that was watching it!!!
Moved to another room and spent an hour trying to get the tv to work.
No food available apart from Breakfast.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.8 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
118 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
592 reviews
10.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
465 reviews
13.6 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Quest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Quest Hotel

Address: 17 Gronant Road, Prestatyn LL19 9DT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range: $70 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Halcyon Quest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon Quest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Quest Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing