We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be closed down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs to be closed down”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is by far the worst "Hotel" I have ever been in!!
Filthy, smelly, damp and stinking of cigarette smoke. Could not even open the window as a sign saying do not open window. Walls and floors falling apart. Wallpaper hanging off.
Envirnomental health surely needs to do a visit!
TV in first room stuck on Babe Station....... reported to barman who replied well its always like that and it wasnt me that was watching it!!!
Moved to another room and spent an hour trying to get the tv to work.
No food available apart from Breakfast.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    21
    14
    32
See reviews for
15
46
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Old and run down, cracks in walls, damp patches, not sure ant of the electrical appliances had ever had a pat test. One old double socket with adapters in under the window, there was a notice not to open the window, which I ignored, the room was stale. We had a standard ensuite double, the bed was ..well I'm sure the floor would have been more comfortable, but was too dirty to walk on let alone sleep on.Breakfast..well we went down too earlier and was told we would have to wait as it wasn't our allocated time to have our breakfast cooked....there were two other guest's staying, who hadn't even put in an appearance, but still they couldn't cook our breakfast and I had the cheek to ask for cereal! It clearly states on the web site that breakfast includes cereal. Tom L you obviously didn't in the bed we had, it was anything but comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaxandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

Vorkuta, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Well well well. What an experience. We arrived at the hotel and were immediately asked to cough up the cash, and what we wanted for breakfast, on a form which warned us to be on time for the meal due to "health and safety".

In the room, which must be the same one that WelshRover99 stayed in in Spetember 2012, they still haven't repaired the window which he noted in his review was broken.

The room absolutely STANK, a vile mixture of harsh disinfectant topped with the unmistakable stink of cigarette smoke. I have attached to this review a photograph of the entire sum of toiletries in the manky old "bathroom". There are cracks all along the wall, sockets are hanging out and the furniture looks it was thrown out from a junk shop for not being good enough to sell.

In the bar, I was very pleased to see some unfamilar Welsh real ale on. But the barmaid told me I was not allowed to have a little sample of them. "His attitude is, 'well you can sample them by buying a half'."

Whoever is running this hotel is in the wrong trade and would be much better be suited to a biscuit factory, or somewhere else that doesn't involve dealing with the public. I'm in north Wales from time to time for family reasons and the one single thing I can salvage from my experience is knowing never to stay this nostril-curdling dirty old place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1falesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at the hotel and did not last the night. Room is very dated, poor condition and frankly dirty. People at the bar very nice but I'm sure would not stay in the room or put a dog up in in.... Window rotten and hanging out, toilet leaking onto floor and bedding dirty with wallpaper hanging off, ripped and badly marked. A very poor hotel....

Room Tip: Avoid and stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noodledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you want a value for money, comfy break then this is the place. The people are very friendly, the breakfasts are good and the real ales are wonderful!
OK, the rooms aren't up to 2012 standards of decor and finish but they have everything you need for a good night's sleep. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The rooms at HQ are amongst the worst I have ever stayed in. The room that I stayed needs complete refurbishment and was full of items that most people would have thrown out 20 years ago. The shower door was filthy, the wall had a hole in it, a socket that the tv and kettle were plugged into was half hanging off the walk. The room smelt of smoke and the window had an old sign on it saying please don't open one of the two windows - a replacement being ordered! There wasn't even any soap in the room. I knew things would be bad when the entrance door to the accommodation block had little paint on it and as I walked up the stairs there was a big patch of damp staining on the ceiling. You couldn't give this place any stars. It is a complete let down for Prestatyn. I had a drink in the pub part and the glass wasn't clean and had a deposit embedded on the side which looked very much like it had come from someone's nose.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WelshRover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

HQ was recommended to us as a 'good B&B', a place to crash for the night after an evening out with friends. You have to wonder when looking at their website why there is no gallery! The photo of the actual building must be from when the place was built because when we pulled up outside it was old, dated and paint peeling off all external walls....in hindsight we should have drove away at that point!

This is a pub with rooms upstairs. You are required to pay for the rooms and submit breakfast requirements up front before getting keys to rooms! We had a standard double room, although the bed wasn't a double and had no headboard. The decor was very dated. Room had a funny smell, carpets were dirty, furniture had seen better days, cobwebs everywhere, mould in bathroom, curtains and blinds were filthy, don't think light shade has ever seen a duster! Shower was small and had mould in corners. TV is a small old thing, with the remote controls for TV and freeview box being held together with tape. Rusty 3-tier shelf thing on floor in bathroom which has an old plastic blue cup on (assuming to rinse mouth out with??).

Breakfast was ok, wasn't hot, tea / coffe wasn't fresh, orange juice was already in a glass on table, no cereal to choose from.

We are surprised this 'hotel' is still open for business, it is in serious need of modernisation.

£50 for a B&B would suggest cheap and cheerful which we fully understand but you do expect it to be spotlessly clean and have no odd smells!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CLW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.8 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
619 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
361 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
447 reviews
5.4 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Prestatyn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Quest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Quest Hotel

Property: Halcyon Quest Hotel
Address: 17 Gronant Road, Prestatyn LL19 9DT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Halcyon Quest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Halcyon Quest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Quest Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing