We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your first impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
high peak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“your first impression”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

when i pulled up out side this hotel my thoughts were what have we come to it was very shabby and requires painting
the room on first impressions was it look ok i was sure wrong there was hair in the sink the shower you could not control it was either very hot or cold plus point the sheets and towels were clean
as for room decoration the paper was coming off the wall as for the window frames well they sure require replacing
i made a brew the first morning they did not replace the milk or wash the mug out
breakfast the bacon was cold instant coffee
this hotel requires a hotel inspector that's for sure

mrsstar

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsstarHighPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    19
    13
    32
See reviews for
13
43
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I booked the hotel after looking on Internet. Picked the cheapest in area and hoped for the best as we were only needing somewhere to crash out after along journey, late arrival and away first thing next day. the staff were helpful and courteous, the room was clean and tidy with everything ready and as described online. The breakfast was good and more than enough and the service overall excellent. I think that it was really good value for money and will be using again if I go back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had been booked into the hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival payment is requested along with your breakfast options. The Hotel is a pub with rooms up stairs. The first room we were offered was a double. The bed was tiny and the matress was shot with the wires and springs very evident as soon as you sat on it. The room smelt damp and was very dirty. The lamp shade had about 10mm of dust on it. The damp was probably caused by the broken extractor fan which looked like it had long since functioned. The door frame had been repaired after probably being forced open, with the lock just about keeping it closed
We swapped room in to a twin which although not as damp despite the extractor fan being broken was still far from acceptable. The door had also been repaired the matress was even worse than the last room.
To sum it up this place is a disgrace, dirty and uncomfortable and at £50 a night about £50 over priced. We stayed just the one night and went to a different hotel

Room Tip: Dont book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dctowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Halcyon Quest is very dated and hasn't been updated for a good few years. Wasn't very clean either and it smelt very musty. The bathroom has mould, likewise the windowledge. In your room, you have tea and coffee making facilties but aside from that it's very basic. It was be noisy due to the karoke in the pub below, so not recommended to stay there if you have to get up earl.

The breakfast was good and you had pleasant service, and it is a quick walk to the town centre with a few eateries. The breakfast was the best part of the stay.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My cousin and I had a weekend away and found HQ on the internet. We were more than happy and will most definately be returning. Our room was basic, but it's a B&B, not a 5* boutique hotel (nor does it advertise to be).
The staff and locals couldn't have made us feel more welcome if they'd tried.
I would recommend this to anyone for a great value, welcoming stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

"payment on arrival" - says it all because if we'd seen the room first we would have run a mile. A dirty, smelly, tired place - even had a bloodstain on the bedsheet - ugh. We were doing the offa's dyke walk and wanted comfortable accommodation before starting but ended up in this hell hole of a place. Would never recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Awful - dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Outstanding full english breakfast which we had , and there was also continental if preferred. Decoration dated admittedly but for £25 per person per night, I can put up with that, as it may be old but very clean and towels changed daily. Very welcoming bar with entertainment weekends.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank albion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.8 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
10.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Quest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Quest Hotel

Property: Halcyon Quest Hotel
Address: 17 Gronant Road, Prestatyn LL19 9DT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Halcyon Quest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon Quest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Quest Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing