We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ffrith Hotel
Ranked #57 of 84 Restaurants in Prestatyn
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A fantastic pub for all the family. Open from 12 noon for a full sizzling menu and kids menu that we serve until 9pm every day. There's a great range of beers, wines, spirits and soft drinks. We have 'burger and a drink offer which runs all week and a '2 meals for £8' which runs all day Monday to Friday. We have BT sports and Sky sports so there's no excuse to miss your favourite match. We are a 'Green Card' site, so download the app and play the results predictor and get all the offers. We also have plenty of outside seating for those sunny days and free car parking.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been going to The Ffrith on a weekly basis and tonight was the worst night ever - my steak was cremated - awful. My husband had trouble even cutting his and his jacket potato was so cold the butter just sat on the top. Has there been a change of management? Then a very young lad came out of the kitchen a couple of times and went somewhere behind the bar and then reappeared and went back into the kitchen - his 'chefs whites' were grey - horrible and not a good advertisement. Supposed to be going there again with girls from work on Friday but now having second thoughts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
45  Thank amelie472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 4, 2016

Dear Guest

It has been some time since you left this review, I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that our Festive Menus are now available should you be looking for somewhere for a family or work function over the Christmas Period

We also have a brand new menu arriving on Wednesday 12 October with plenty of new dishes available

We would love to see you again soon

kind regards

Guest Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 375 of 394 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

As the title suggest it does need modernising. But the food is fantastic. I suggest going for the sizzling surf and turf. I have seen other reviews that complain about the managers attitude but inhave never come across this. Maybe he does not work there anymore. The staff there today (07/03/2013) where very pleasent. Will visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
38  Thank ian_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 4, 2016

Dear Guest

It has been some time since you left this review, I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that our Festive Menus are now available should you be looking for somewhere for a family or work function over the Christmas Period

We also have a brand new menu arriving on Wednesday 12 October with plenty of new dishes available

We would love to see you again soon

kind regards

Guest Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I visited the Ffrith Pub Feb 2012 for a meal and drinks with family and friends.The food was of good value and tasty although served with no etiquette or manners from the girl that served us.The atmosphere in the pub was awful mainly bought on by the load voice of the manager his voice could be heard in every corner of the pub, he was loud sarcastic and abrupt with paying customers. It was very apparent that he thought himself to be funny. On top of that the manageress was serving and collecting crockery from tables stony faced and didn't smile once in the two hours we were there.She too was very abrupt and brash.I had intended never to set foot in the Ffrith again. On saying that I did have to return again on 19th feb2013 with family and friends, what a difference obviously new management!!! The food again was of good value and tasty, only this time served by 2 lads with a smile. The manager that was serving behind the bar (Gary) was friendly and very obliging.I will definately now return to this pub again. Well done Sizzler...what a difference!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
54  Thank rosie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 4, 2016

Dear Guest

It has been some time since you left this review, I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that our Festive Menus are now available should you be looking for somewhere for a family or work function over the Christmas Period

We also have a brand new menu arriving on Wednesday 12 October with plenty of new dishes available

We would love to see you again soon

kind regards

Guest Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Well the food is cheap and tasty, although the menu has now been reduced (the food not the menu itself). Less dishes on offer, but still at a very good price and supplied on a spitting hot skillet.

The food is fairly tasty although the chips are oven type chips as can only be expected, don't expect hand cooked chips or a sparkiling personal service and spotless tables etc. The clientel can be mostly described as 'down to earth' and are mainly from the nearby caravan parks and chalets during the summer Months.

It can be noisy and very busy in peak season bustling with holiday makers from Liverpool and Manchester mostly, so make of that what you will.

All in all, cheap hot food served in the usual pub chain type building. Very good value especially if you are on a budget. Not a place to take the new girlfriend if you wish to impress, though some interesting tatoos to admire whilst you wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
41  Thank USVISITORPrestwichuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 4, 2016

Dear Guest

It has been some time since you left this review, I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that our Festive Menus are now available should you be looking for somewhere for a family or work function over the Christmas Period

We also have a brand new menu arriving on Wednesday 12 October with plenty of new dishes available

We would love to see you again soon

kind regards

Guest Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We live in prestatyn ,the other night was out for a walk called in for our tea for the 1st time ,we were very happy and what a bargain lovely meal for £2.99 ,pleasant service . Guess where we are going for our tea tonight ? yes we are going back again .:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank debbiePrestatyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 4, 2016

Dear Guest

It has been some time since you left this review, I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that our Festive Menus are now available should you be looking for somewhere for a family or work function over the Christmas Period

We also have a brand new menu arriving on Wednesday 12 October with plenty of new dishes available

We would love to see you again soon

kind regards

Guest Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ffrith Hotel also viewed

Prestatyn, Denbighshire
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 

Been to The Ffrith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing