We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to scratch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presthaven Holiday Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Presthaven Holiday Park
Llangefni, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

6 of us had a standard caravan and it was very clean, no complaints at all. The activities were booked up very quickly and were expensive considering the length and quality of each one. For example the air riffle shooting - 15 shots over 45 mins. Please be aware its for 10yrs upwards and the instructor told us that the safety trigger was defective on all the riffles!! and laughed when he told us about it. A bit worrying really. Archery we had 11 shots over 45 min period. 4 climbs on the climbing wall per session! Quazar / Nurf wars were 20 mins - but fun. Roller disco was the best thing. Swimming pool was closed due to high numbers, also when we did manage to get to the pool they closed the slide as there were too many people in the pool.

Food was average.
Entertainment average.
Activities poor and costly and no enthusiasm
Showroom stank!!!! and the kids hated the smell and didnt want to spend any time in there even though they really wanted to take part it the kids shows and activities
Over all - a bit run down everything could to with an upgrade

Would we go back - no. But we would like to try other haven holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    506
    326
    177
    202
See reviews for
1,169
109
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We own a caravan on this site and have 4 kids and we all love it. We are not chavs and can't believe what people are saying about it. We both get the school holidays and spend most of them on here the site staff and facilities are really good . I don't usually write reviews but I just can't believe how much people moan if you want luxury pay for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sallysahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Reviewed 23 October 2012 NEW
Like most people when I booked to go Haven I came on here to check out the reviews of the site. To say I was down hearten and dreading this weekend after I had finished was an understatement.
We had arranged to go for 3 nights to a deluxe plus caravan which would sleep 8 of us. (4 adults, 4 children over 6) We did pay full price not the Sun vouches!!!

I must say I was PLEASANTLY SURPRISED and would now recommend it to anyone!!!

Going through the reviews the phrases FULL OF CHAVS, BAD STAFF and DIRTY kept coming up. I must say I didn’t see it!

The staff were helpful on the desk at check in. We dealt with Grant who on a previous review was slated. We found him to be pleasant, funny and welcoming. The door staff are door staff! What do some people want? a big parade when they walk past?? The children’s entertainers are good and bring the atmosphere which you want in the clubs. Granted the burger king staff could learn to smile but when you’re dealing with moaning snobs day after day what do we expect?

The price of the food was little expensive but we didn’t mind paying it. If we had, we would have just gone to a supermarket to keep cost down. You don’t have to buy the food!

The club houses were okay, I will agree the main family one did smell of sick but we got past it and made the night what we wanted. The families with young children started to disappear around 10.00 then the staff came out and cleaned up the food left by some lazy people.
The other room was fine just a normal club room with entertainers. Really enjoyed both and we had a good laugh.

Fun time Robbie made the night on both nights, He involves everyone and keeps the laughs going.

Our caravan was ace! As mentioned it was a Deluxe plus Caravan and had more than enough room for our bunch. It was clean, the bedding was clean. Just what you want. The bed in the lounge is a thin mattress but ITS A SOFA BED!!!!! It wasn’t un-comfy we just put one of the spare duvets on top to give it alittle exta. We had taken our own bedding so it was no problem!

On some reviews people have complained about noise and people making some when they walking past etc. All I have to say about that is YOU ARE IN A CARAVAN! YOU CAN HEAR A MOUSE FART the walls are that thin but isn’t that what caravans are?? If you don’t like it go to a hotel, you can’t expect people to walk about in silence!

When we were there we got talking to a number of people who had come on the £9.50 Sun Holiday deal!! All I can say is good for them! We will do it next year as they got a bargain.

Some of the people there are from "chavvy" families who are on the deal but who cares. You always get these people whether you go to a camp site or off abroad. To be honest they are the ones who enjoy themselves the most. If you don’t like it then don’t look or don’t let them wind you up! Simples!

The beach is a short walk and if it would have been warm we would have gone on.
The activities were reasonably prices and the go carts were lots of fun! Again the staff were fine, no rudeness. The swimming pool was great; it is fully lifeguarded and clean. Lots of fun!

One negative I will say is the arcade! We spent a lot of money and the children spent more winning bloody tokens!! When we went to cash them in at the end the prizes were awful!!! Nothing decent for the amount you spend.

Overall we were prepared for a terrible weekend but it turned out to be a lovely one. We went to Conway for a day out on the Sunday after spending the Saturday on the site. We would recommend to people and we will go again. Maybe not in high season as I can see why it would be busy but definitely again.

If you have read the reviews be prepared this is a family caravan site not Sandals so snobs need to rethink!!

Room Tip: try and get a caravan delux plus on the edge of a carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank heather t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me an my freind stayed here with my 2 daughters aged 2 + 3, an her daughter aged 2 (very nearly), from 15-19th oct, we payed for a 2 bed standard caravan, when we arrived (by train) we queued up to check in, the queue was very long but only took about 10 mins to get to the front :) and the bear character was there entertaining the kids while we waited.

We got to the caravan only to find we had been given a 3 bed caravan, which we were very happy about :) it was lovely spcious enough for the 5 of us, clean, flat screen tv, microwave, toster ect. The bedrooms were cold at night as there was no heating in them, but I found the covers were thick enough to to the job. And when the gas fire in lliving area was on, it was fine.

We were a stones throw from the train line, and about 5 mins walk to the complex, admittedly the train is pretty loud when it goes past, but it didn't seem to bother my kids, nor me once I was asleep. And you probably wouldn't hear it if you were the other side of the site.

Showbar was great, the arcades smelt of sick, but easyly ignoreable. My kids loved the arcades, and us aswell. Lots of little rides for the toddlers. And we also ate in the mash and barrel resteraun twice during our stay, it was as reasonably priced as any other resteraunt you would eat in, kids meals were great, average, £4 per kids meal. And food servive was brilliant, we waited tin mins an our food had arrived, an it was lovely too :)

Mini bus was handy, 50 per adult, and saves the near enough mile walk from the site to the entrance, the driver was lovely an told us all the best places to eat/visit outside of the site.

Spar was overpriced on some items a 2pint milk is £1.07!!, the gift shop was nice, an fairly priced, and all clothes were by one get one free which was great with my 2 girls.

We went on 2 rides from the little fairground on site, the wheel, and the merry go round, we would have liked to take our kids on another 2 of the 3 remaining rides, but at £2 per person (under 2's free) it was very expensive.

Overall I think a holiday is what you make of it, and as we had a brilliant time, we will definatly be returning next year :) I read the reviews on here before we stayed, an was put off....a lot, and wanted to let people know that 90% of what's written in bad reviews is extremely eggadurated, an I didn't seem to experience the majority of the thing written on there. Wouldn't know how it was as an adults only visit, for example, getting bags searched b4 entry to entertainment, but havin come on a kiddie holiday we only went to the early shows an there was no bag searching then.

Anyway great park, defo visit!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxkimmikatxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

me and my son went on the 15th oct 2012 and came home the 16th oct, it was terrible we had 5 caravans between us from 4pm to 8pm as each caravan had faults eg no heating ripped seats moulded seating eventually gave up and came up home as my wife is disabled, if yr in to trains then this the place for you as all through the nite there were trains running beeping there horns next to the site it was just a nightmare. its the worst haven holiday camp ive ever visited. NEVER EVER AGAIN

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthonyhuntBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Better start by saying we have had quite a few haven holidays and so have plenty to compare to, however we have just returned from a short break from Sun Holidays but we paid the extra for the "luxury". Luxury is certainly not the word this was more like the bog standard accommodation down the bottom end of the accommodation scale (think Deluxe looking at what time we checked in)
Stayed at Gyndir, area 2, Caravan 4

Upon arrival it was apparent that this is a huge site - although security was good at the entrance!
We checked in and were first given the wrong key for our caravan, which was then swapped but as soon as we got to our accommodation we were met by mud, mud and more mud. Expected a bit for the time of year but water obviously collecting and not draining plus inadequate hard surfacing near caravan from main walkway. Also had to park in a car park not very near the caravan. Part of our supposed "luxury" was heating throughout. Technically yes there was heating throughout but the electric excuses for heaters in bathroom and bedrroms was as useful as a chocolate fireguard. The gas fire in the lounge was very tempremental. We had the baby monitor as we have an 11 month old baby and throughout the holiday the temperature ranged from 13-17 degrees that was after having all the heating on etc.

The lounge and bedroom carpets had clearly been hoovered, but were filthy either needed replacing or a good shampooing, they were so bad we couldn't let the baby crawl around.

We went swimming once in our 4 day trip but were met by muddy and dirty changing rooms, a hosepipe left out between changing room and the access to the pool, such an easy trip hazard for children. Also a part of one of the pools had a sign saying out of use but was inadequately cordoned off a small child could easily have fallen into this half full pool - not very good really.

We also decided to brave the kids show at 6.30 one night but it was too loud the clubroom was not even a third full and the customers were all families yet the music was very very loud - as a health professional I find this disturbing considering the amount of children who are suffering unnecessary hearing loss at a young age.

The site also had stray tv aerials at several parts of the site, empty plots with rubble on them, random vans dumped on the main car park to Spar shop.

The site image was not helped by the patrons of the site some people obviously do not respect property which is not their own or the experience of other holiday makers. We ended up listening to a large dog bark for long periods of time in the van next to us because the owners had cooped the poor thing up, meanwhile my baby was trying to sleep and I dont think this was unreasonable considering it was after 10pm and teh dog was still barking after a few hours.

Anyway all in all a poor excuse for a Haven site, definitely will try Haven again after such a good track record, but wouldn't use this site again.....ever, its Chav Central, poorly maintained and dirty

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shunurse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently visited this resort with my boyfriend and 2 friends for a weekend. We had a very enjoyable weekend, after collecting the Sun holiday vouchers. The caravan wasn't the best accommodation but you get what you pay for, it was clean and comfotable. The beach there is great, a lovely sandy beach and was very enjoyable, we played ball games and drank on the beach, was ideal for a chilled out day. We went to the club on one of the nights, which was great for cheesey dancing and a bit of rock and roll bingo. We played crazy golf and went to the roller disco during the day, was plenty to keep us entertained. We had a pizza take away on one night which was lovely and the pub food was average. We were a 5 minute walk from the beach, very convenient! I would definitely re-visit for a long weekend, but think a week there would be too much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
1.4 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
5.3 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presthaven Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presthaven Holiday Park

Property: Presthaven Holiday Park
Address: Presthaven Sands Holiday Park Shore Road | Gronant, Prestatyn LL19 9TT, Wales (Formerly Presthaven Sands Haven)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Presthaven Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Presthaven Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presthaven Sands Haven Hotel Prestatyn
Presthaven Holiday Park Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing