We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Y Llwyn Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Pale Hall Hotel(Llandderfel)
$326
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
$156
$125
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$130
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
47
21
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
21
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 70 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A very warm welcome from a very friendly host. Our room was superb, very comfortable, with all the little extra touches to make it a very enjoyable stay. It's a very peaceful location, and the view from our window was lovely. Breakfast was also superb. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you so much for using your precious time to write this wonderful review!
It's good to know that you enjoyed yourselves. The white water raffting on the River Tryweryn should be good as well with all that rain that we've had! I hope to see again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very friendly owner, I was made to feel at home straight away with tea and welsh cakes. The room was really nice, comfortable and clean, just what was needed after a long day. The house is in a great location with excellent views.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm glad that you enjoyed the Welsh cakes, or 'cacen gri' in Welsh.
We do have a wonderful scenery, this week you'd be able to count sheep to go to sleep as well! There you see, you'll have to come back to see that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked at the last minute with no time to look at reviews, and were really delighted with our choice.
Eirlys is a very welcoming and attentive host and the house is charming, in a really peaceful location.
We slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the conservatory the next morning - the welsh rarebit was absolutely delicious.
Even our mountain bikes had a comfortable night in the garage!
We would happily return, if we needed B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cellomtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

i am so glad that you were delighted, your family are actually really easy to please, I am sure of that! We do live in a peaceful part of the world, with it's natural, unspoilt beauty. Just the place for cycling and white watersports. See you next time, and thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a lovely time and were made very welcome at this extremely pleasant B & B. The room was very comfortable, well equipped and spacious. The village is beautiful and the view from the room was wonderful. There were lots of excellent walks around the village and it is a great base for lots of places to visit in the local area. We would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

thank you so much for your kind words, it was so thoughful of you to write this review.
I'm always glad to make my guests comfortable.
It was nice to meet you and your family, it would be even nicer to see you again sometime.
I hope you got back home safely? Let's hope this nice weather persists for the school holidays at least!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

When we arrived at Y Llwyn Guest House our hostess Eirlys gave us tea and a lovely home-made Welsh cake which made us feel really welcome. We stayed in the comfortable Berwyn room (en suite) with a splendid view of the Berwyn hills. The days began with an excellent breakfast prepared by Eirlys and with the support of her favourite tenor. The breafast menu was very varied and also included typical Welsh breakfasts.
Y Llwyn is set in Llandrillo, a beautiful village full of friendly people who sang the Welsh national anthem to us in the local pub and who are keen to play bowls – a game Eirlys and some locals taught us to play. It was real fun.
If you want to learn Welsh, Y Llwyn is the perfect place to do so and Eirlys the perfect teacher. That is why I know now how to pronounce Llandrillo.
Y Llwyn is also a good springboard for a tour of north Wales to see places like Llandudno, Conwy, Llanfair…gogogoch, of course, or Snowdonia National Park.
We really enjoyed our stay at Y Llwyn and would like to recommend it to anyone who wants to meet Eirlys and explore the north of Wales.

Elke and Peter Klaar from Berlin

Room Tip: The rooms are all good and quiet but the Berwyn room is the best - en suite and a fantastic view of the hills.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you both for writing such a wonderful review. I enjoyed having you here as well, helping you learn the Welsh language was fun. I'm glad that you enjoyed visiting different places while here in Wales and that you found the breakfasts here pleasing. I aim to please my guests at all times.
I look forward to your next visit. All the best you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews