We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value stay in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hand at Llanarmon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here. The drive to the pub is scenic and very enjoyable. A log fire was burning in the main bar and the owners were present and chatting to customers. The bed was comfy with good pillows which always helps. Food was good and breakfast was one of the best presented we've had. The only minor fly in the ointment was mouldy toast which we sent back and could have had replaced if we'd needed it.

Room Tip: Remember you are staying in a pub. We could hear everything in the room above us and out in the cou...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for The Hand at Llanarmon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 427 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have just returned from the Hand, which was a trip organised for my birthday. We are local to the area and love the scenery anyway and have always said that we should try a stay here. Very friendly welcome upon arrival and efficient booking in process. Bar area was cosy with a real fire burning, good local beer on tap and a good selection of wine. Staff again very efficient in taking our order for the meal and gave us the choice of staying in the bar or going to the dining room to await our meal. Food was delivered to our table in a timely manner and was good quality gastro pub fayre. The only point we would like to make is regarding the accomodation, we stayed in Room 2 and although the bed was large and comfortable the decor could do with some attention, paintwork and paper looking very tired, also mould in the bathroom grouting, although the suite and tiles were modern and in excellent condition. Other than that we would recommend for a night away in a quiet, scenic area without any mobile phone interuptions due to the lack of signal!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

For the price paid the room was unbelievable. comfiest bed ever and the biggest bath, note take someone with me next time.
Available in the bar were several local beers and main brand lagers backed up by a reasonable wine list.
The food is fantastic.
I would recommend The Hand to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnhllwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you decide to stay at this little hotel, make sure you book the correct 'Hand'. There are three of the same name in the area and our coach driver went to two others first. Our stay was brief--just two nights--and though it was somewhat out of the way, it was located in a picturesque, peaceful valley. We were welcomed by the hosts--as though they were genuinely happy to have us come. The food was excellent and the small lounge with an open fire was a cosy place to check email and generally relax before dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIJknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a superb spot, the drive is beautiful and The Hand is a lovely destination. The atmosphere is great, the staff are very friendly and the food is of a very high standard and freshly prepared. Really couldn't be better

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel82a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Me and my wife stayed for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Hand is a real ale pub with a great food menu and we extremely surprised at the quality of the food which is prepared by chefs with great skills. The rooms are lovely and clean and all the staff are attentive and extremely pleasant. The breakfast was very good and was to the same quality as the meal the evening before. Set in a beautiful countryside with walks that help shed a few of the calories. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I do not know why this hotel gets rave reviews. Bearing in mind it is rated by the AA as 4 stars, our bedroom had mismatched cheap furniture, only 1 bedside table for a double bed, only 1 chair to sit on and that was hard, divan bases which were tatty, no pillow protectors on the stained pillows , the windows would not shut properly, the shower over the bath was a trickle with hardly any pressure, the television would not switch off by the controller, odd colour scheme and a tired carpet. The lights on the wall over the bed were not in line with where the bed was situated and there was a valve cover missing on the radiator in the bathroom. Dust on switch covers and no bottled water as stated in the guest accommodation booklet.
The evening meal was spoiled by the long black hair in the salmon starter. Uninspired vegetable selection: savoy cabbage shredded sprouts and big chunks of carrots. Breakfast had minimal choice of cereals, half jug of milk for 8 persons , no fresh fruit, concentrated orange juice and not enough bowls. The dining room itself is dismal, very dark stone walls and drab in colour , and there's a pervading smell of smoke from the bar fireplace whilst eating your meal.
On checking out we told the receptionist about the hair in the starter and the shower problem. Although a little shocked, she noted the shower problem on her list of jobs to be done. The hair in the starter was not as important. The 1 night stay with the meal had cost £149. The hotel is tired. Perhaps we just got the wrong room, the wrong meal , the wrong hotel.
If this is assessed to be 4 star by the AA , it calls into question the integrity of the AA rating system . Our stay was definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catandc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
567 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,534 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand at Llanarmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand at Llanarmon

Address: Upper Ceiriog Valley, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range: $118 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand at Llanarmon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hand is an ancient hostelry with all the attributes you'd expect - bags of character, a cosy, relaxing ambience and a warm welcome from your hosts, Jonathan and Jackie Greatorex. As soon as you arrive you feel the weight of the world dissolving as the surroundings work their magic. All the classic ingredients are here - old beams, roaring fireplaces, a casual mix-and-match of pine and oak furniture, real ale and good food. The latter is seriously good. Thanks to the talents of Head Chef Grant Mulholland and his team, The Hand is renowned for award-winning food, an inventive marriage of country fare and sophisticated metropolitan cuisine. The bedrooms, in a variety of sizes, reflect similar influences, with rustic decor and sparkling modern bathrooms. Country lovers just love the location. You can walk in the Berwyns for hours with only the sheep for company and the ever-helpful Hand can arrange many country pursuits, including horse riding, fishing and shooting. You may be away from it all, but you'll also be in the swing of things; this gem of a country inn is so much a part of village life that locals and visitors mix in unaffected harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hand at Llanarmon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand At Llanarmon Hotel Llanarmon Dc
Hand At Llanarmon Dc
The Hand At Llanarmon Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing