We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it is....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is....”
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My girlfriend and I have just come back from 2 nights at the West Arms Hotel in north Wales. The hotel website and hotel itself for that matter is covered in awards for food and good management so we were expecting something pretty special, especially for £150 per night for B and B. We're now feeling a bit disappointed by the whole experience. Its in a beautiful setting and the rooms are cozy, indeed its a very nice old style country hotel but really overpriced. For dinner in the restaurant they charge top london prices (£27 for 2 courses) but you don't get top london food. Also upon checking out we had to pay 10% service on everything, even our room which was over £300 by itself including breakfast, so £30 service charge on that...i've travelled a lot and never seen that before!! (The price of the room is misleading as I wasn't expecting that!) No newspapers, even on a sunday unless you request them and as we were never asked if we wanted a paper we presumed they would have some. I like to read the sunday papers with my breakfast! Anyway for the money, i've stayed in an an awful lot better small country house hotels, (ie the East Haugh in Perthshire...different league). The lady owner was a bit cool as well and not overly friendly. Its OK but I wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Location is beautiful, room was cozy
  • Disliked — Expensive and whats this 10% service on everything?!
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank greenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Apologies for the late response - however we would just like to inform you that there has been a change in operation of the hotel since you stayed - and a lot of energy has been expended into improving the hotel in all aspects. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    117
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
52
332
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We have just spent a wonderful couple of days at this charming, little, country hotel. Marvellous location (in a "hidden" part of Wales which we had never visited before) a spacious and extremely comfortable suite, friendly, helpful proprietors and absolutely superb cuisine!
Looking for somewhere to celebrate St Valentine's Day and also relax and "wind down" for a few days, we found the West Arms through the "Welsh Rarebits" website and decided it was just the place.
When we arrived, after a glass (or two) of champagne in the privacy of our suite, we enjoyed canapes and cocktails with other guests by the roaring log fire in the hotel lounge. This was followed by the most delicious, imaginatively "themed" dinner second to none - or so we thought until the following evening when dinner seemed even more delicious! All the food is chosen, prepared and presented by someone who really enjoys his art and we, as lovers of such art, thoroughly appreciated this and enjoyed ourselves immensely!

We will certainly be visiting the West Arms again and suggest you should also!

Rob & Jools, Cheshire.

  • Liked — Cuisine
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RobJools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at this hotel after seeing the hotel advertised in the Welsh Rarebit Book.
We were not disappointed, the hotel is absolutely lovely, a little gem. The food in the resteraunt is superb and breakfast so filling that you don't want to eat anything until the evening.
Location is excellent for visiting Chester, Llangollen, Betws-Y-Coed, Bala etc.
We didn't do any walking due to bad weather, but the area is ideal for those who do and the hotel can help you plan your walks.
Staff are very friendly and homely. Not at all stuffy and very helpful regarding places to visit.
After your evening meal, relax next to a lovely open fire with a glass of wine and what more can you ask for.....bliss!! I just want to go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Llanmadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2006

I arrived at the West Arms Hotel and was amazed. The location is stunning and the peace was fantastic. We went for 2 nights mainly for a walking break, the walks on offer are superb. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which is probably one of the best meals I have had, and it truly deserved the 2 rosettes from the AA if not a 3rd. While there we were treated like royalty, our bags carried to our room and no end of help when we asked about walks.
I would go back every weekend if I could. I would say that it was worth every penny and I would reccomend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2004

We arrived on a friday evening and had pre-booked our evening meal. Our party of eight sat in the cosy bar/lounge area and we were pleased to see the variety of freshly cooked meals on offer including the delicious local Welsh black steaks.
The food was excellent and the principal chef and his assistant chefs are to be commended. The staff were friendly and welcoming throughout our weekend stay and my party thouroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the relaxed environment at this splendid hotel.

Helpful?
9 Thank LindseySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
393 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
7.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
113 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing