We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swings and roundabouts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Four of us stayed for a two night deal with TravelZoo for a walking holiday, for which the hotel is ideally placed. Our rooms were rather different, one being spacious, well-appointed and modernised, the other being Room 1 with 'character', but space for only one bedside table, bedside lamp and chair, and the carpeted bathroom having the temperamental flushing toilet (mentioned by 'loseapoint', who had Room 2). We mentioned the toilet and were shown how to operate it - this was apparently the first time the hotel had been made aware of it. Importantly, we all slept well because the beds were comfortable and the area quiet.
The three course set dinner menu got a mixed reception (e.g. the hot smoked salmon starter was bland but the red snapper and boeuf bourgignon were good) so we ate in the bar the second night where we could mix and match the set menu with bar meals. Again, this was mixed. The lamb cutlets were delicious, the chips properly cooked but the smoked duck salad was all smoked chicken. We had been asked if we'd mind a mixture of chicken and duck because the duck was running low, but we couldn't find any duck. The English breakfast was faultless with locally sourced ingredients perfectly cooked, but the smoked haddock had been cooked too quickly in the microwave and therefore was on the dry side.
The public rooms were varied and numerous and the staff helpful and pleasant. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay, and we'd probably visit again - given a favourable deal.

Room Tip: Not Room 1 if there are two of you.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkylarkWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for The West Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 564 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay in The West Arms following a deal we got through TravelZoo. On arrival we were told "sorry but your not in the main hotel but our bungalow". I though oh no, here we go, but I couldn't have been more wrong. The bungalow was attached to the hotel and had 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, kitchen, 2 lounge rooms and a laundry room. The bungalow was very well equipped and was very well cleaned. The hotel might be in the middle of nowhere but was an excellent base for walking and fantastic sight seeing. The deal we got included a 3 course evening meal which we were told was a fixed menu with a choice of about 4/5 items but that if we didn't like anything then no problem they would make us something else. No need though, the food was superb as was the breakfast the following day. The staff and the atmosphere of the hotel was very good and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: If your going with friends ask for the bungalow.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your great review - we are "chuffed" that you loved the cottage, the area and the whole experience. This is what we always genuinely set out to achieve, with a daily wish to please our clients - and you were indeed a pleasure to look after and lovely customers.

On that sincere note for all those who log in, we wish to make this our final response to Trip Advisor reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is difficult to see how either the hotel's status for accommodation or food could be justified by our recent experience. The public rooms are OK but our twin room, No.2, was nowhere nearly good enough. Nobody expects modern luxury in a hotel dating to 1570 but there were a number of failings - it was, for example, impractical to use the drawers at the bedside because access was denied by the bedside table, the toilet flush was temperamental to say the least, the shower's temperature so difficult to balance that my wife ended up washing her hair in the sink, the sink's chain was detached and, although it would clearly be difficult given the uneven floor surfaces to resurface the bathroom, I do not believe carpeting in a bathroom is acceptable in this day. As regards the restaurant, our evening meal was disappointing - the food was almost entirely bland and tasteless. With two AA rosettes, and with a price of £30+, we had expected so much more than we got. One final criticism was that there there were 3 choices for each course, except for starters and dessert where an additional choice was offered but with a £3 supplement. My own meal consisted of chicken liver pate, braising steak and cheesecake and I would, frankly, be surprised if the ingredients cost much more than £3 themselves. To demand a supplement on such a restricted menu is surely unreasonable. My posts are customarily positive and complimentary but, with the best will in the world, there is nothing which would encourage me to recommend either hotel or restaurant. A great disappointment - in view of some of the positive posts, I am uncertain whether we were just unlucky and arrived on a bad day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thanks for posting a review. As you claim anonymity by your Trip Advisor ID, it is impossible to know which of our recent guests you were. It always puzzles us as Hoteliers, when guests display their criticisms, sometimes quite vociferously, on Trip Advisor when they return home, yet never mention any complaints during their stay. The quote "after the horse has bolted" comes to mind. Oh how we wish everyone could be perfect guests too!

In our defence and to clarify a couple of criticisms you make - we do not charge supplements on the Full priced Restaurant menu. Certain choices such as Escargots and Fillet Steak are optional and charged extra ONLY for those people on the Travel Zoo deals. A second point to clarify is that Room 2 is a basic standard twin room, charged normally at £45 per person including a full breakfast - so the price is reflective and competitive. We have Character rooms to reflect greater comfort but these require more payment, which you perhaps preferred not to make? We have refurbishment plans constantly ongoing, (necessary for a 16th century building) and the bathroom floor in Room 2 is on this list.

As you did not find anything to compliment whatsoever during your stay , not even the staff or historic ambience - it is very apparent The West Arms is definitely is not the right place for you to appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel seems to be in the middle of nowhere but is busy which must mean that it's reputation has spread. We stayed for a birthday treat between a visit to Chirk Castle and the Pistyll Rhaedr Waterfall
We were in the Howard room which was lovely with a wide four poster bed in which we had a great nights sleep. It was quiet despite overlooking the road, the room was warm, and clean with more than the average toiletries supplied, and ironing board, iron, hairdrier etc.
Dinner that evening was lovely as was breakfast the next day. The menu was nice, the food was exvellent, the presentation great and the service faultless. The staff were friendly and helpful and it is a good 'hub' to visit many different places in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We loved your review - thank you so much for posting it! We are really pleased you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Comfortable,warm, cosy and quiet.Staff friendly and efficient.Bedroom better than expected,we had room 16 - a double and single bed with bath and separate shower - could have done with a shower cap as it was an overhead shower.Lots of little nooks and crannies in which to sit,very atmospheric,especially with the fires.Were really looking forward to dinner after reading reviews but were a little disappointed.Nothing to complain about but found it a bit ordinary,perhaps our expectations were too high.We were on the Travel Zoo offer and would certainly take advantage of this offer again.Good walking straight from the Inn which we liked.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsYnysmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for posting the good review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the experience of The West Arms. We hope you will return and enjoy your dining experience a little more next time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went for an overnight stay to celebrate our anniversary. I am so glad that we did as the staff are excellent - you just fit in immediately. The 'deal' was booked through the hotel and we had the Middleton room which is at the front of the hotel. There was little traffic so no noise problem. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a good night's sleep which is not always the case in a new place. Food in the restaurant was most appetising and this morning's breakfast was a great start to the day. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will return but next time for longer to fit in some walking and more opportunity to quaff the Station Bitter. Well done to ALL of the staff and thank you for the pyrotechnics on our desserts to let everyone know we had a special occasion!!!

Room Tip: Our room was good but I do know some have views up the valley.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kby121148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

We do thank you very much for posting the fabulous review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your time with us and gone to the trouble of describing the experience in such a positive way. We look forward to welcoming such lovely guests back again soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel hidden in the mountains after a spectacular journey over the mountains with snow banked up either side. Wouldn't advise Sat nav again. We were greeted by such friendly staff. Our room was in the annex and would have had lovely views in better weather. The room was good but could have been warmer. Bath and separate shower. A shower cap would have been welcome as it was a very small cubicle with an overhead shower.
Excellent food at dinner and breakfast and such lovely service. Log fire in the lounge. We would love to come again.

Room Tip: We were disturbed by the people over us. They seemed to be walking a marathon until the early hours...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed everything at The West Arms and our reputation continues - thanks for taking the time and trouble in giving us a wonderful review and we look forward to a repeat visit hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
427 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
165 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range: $80 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing