We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money and gastro food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money and gastro food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay in The West Arms following a deal we got through TravelZoo. On arrival we were told "sorry but your not in the main hotel but our bungalow". I though oh no, here we go, but I couldn't have been more wrong. The bungalow was attached to the hotel and had 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, kitchen, 2 lounge rooms and a laundry room. The bungalow was very well equipped and was very well cleaned. The hotel might be in the middle of nowhere but was an excellent base for walking and fantastic sight seeing. The deal we got included a 3 course evening meal which we were told was a fixed menu with a choice of about 4/5 items but that if we didn't like anything then no problem they would make us something else. No need though, the food was superb as was the breakfast the following day. The staff and the atmosphere of the hotel was very good and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: If your going with friends ask for the bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review - we are "chuffed" that you loved the cottage, the area and the whole experience. This is what we always genuinely set out to achieve, with a daily wish to please our clients - and you were indeed a pleasure to look after and lovely customers.

On that sincere note for all those who log in, we wish to make this our final response to Trip Advisor reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    123
    37
    20
    10
See reviews for
52
339
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is difficult to see how either the hotel's status for accommodation or food could be justified by our recent experience. The public rooms are OK but our twin room, No.2, was nowhere nearly good enough. Nobody expects modern luxury in a hotel dating to 1570 but there were a number of failings - it was, for example, impractical to use the drawers at the bedside because access was denied by the bedside table, the toilet flush was temperamental to say the least, the shower's temperature so difficult to balance that my wife ended up washing her hair in the sink, the sink's chain was detached and, although it would clearly be difficult given the uneven floor surfaces to resurface the bathroom, I do not believe carpeting in a bathroom is acceptable in this day. As regards the restaurant, our evening meal was disappointing - the food was almost entirely bland and tasteless. With two AA rosettes, and with a price of £30+, we had expected so much more than we got. One final criticism was that there there were 3 choices for each course, except for starters and dessert where an additional choice was offered but with a £3 supplement. My own meal consisted of chicken liver pate, braising steak and cheesecake and I would, frankly, be surprised if the ingredients cost much more than £3 themselves. To demand a supplement on such a restricted menu is surely unreasonable. My posts are customarily positive and complimentary but, with the best will in the world, there is nothing which would encourage me to recommend either hotel or restaurant. A great disappointment - in view of some of the positive posts, I am uncertain whether we were just unlucky and arrived on a bad day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for posting a review. As you claim anonymity by your Trip Advisor ID, it is impossible to know which of our recent guests you were. It always puzzles us as Hoteliers, when guests display their criticisms, sometimes quite vociferously, on Trip Advisor when they return home, yet never mention any complaints during their stay. The quote "after the horse has bolted" comes to mind. Oh how we wish everyone could be perfect guests too!

In our defence and to clarify a couple of criticisms you make - we do not charge supplements on the Full priced Restaurant menu. Certain choices such as Escargots and Fillet Steak are optional and charged extra ONLY for those people on the Travel Zoo deals. A second point to clarify is that Room 2 is a basic standard twin room, charged normally at £45 per person including a full breakfast - so the price is reflective and competitive. We have Character rooms to reflect greater comfort but these require more payment, which you perhaps preferred not to make? We have refurbishment plans constantly ongoing, (necessary for a 16th century building) and the bathroom floor in Room 2 is on this list.

As you did not find anything to compliment whatsoever during your stay , not even the staff or historic ambience - it is very apparent The West Arms is definitely is not the right place for you to appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel seems to be in the middle of nowhere but is busy which must mean that it's reputation has spread. We stayed for a birthday treat between a visit to Chirk Castle and the Pistyll Rhaedr Waterfall
We were in the Howard room which was lovely with a wide four poster bed in which we had a great nights sleep. It was quiet despite overlooking the road, the room was warm, and clean with more than the average toiletries supplied, and ironing board, iron, hairdrier etc.
Dinner that evening was lovely as was breakfast the next day. The menu was nice, the food was exvellent, the presentation great and the service faultless. The staff were friendly and helpful and it is a good 'hub' to visit many different places in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We loved your review - thank you so much for posting it! We are really pleased you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Comfortable,warm, cosy and quiet.Staff friendly and efficient.Bedroom better than expected,we had room 16 - a double and single bed with bath and separate shower - could have done with a shower cap as it was an overhead shower.Lots of little nooks and crannies in which to sit,very atmospheric,especially with the fires.Were really looking forward to dinner after reading reviews but were a little disappointed.Nothing to complain about but found it a bit ordinary,perhaps our expectations were too high.We were on the Travel Zoo offer and would certainly take advantage of this offer again.Good walking straight from the Inn which we liked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsYnysmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for posting the good review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the experience of The West Arms. We hope you will return and enjoy your dining experience a little more next time....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went for an overnight stay to celebrate our anniversary. I am so glad that we did as the staff are excellent - you just fit in immediately. The 'deal' was booked through the hotel and we had the Middleton room which is at the front of the hotel. There was little traffic so no noise problem. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a good night's sleep which is not always the case in a new place. Food in the restaurant was most appetising and this morning's breakfast was a great start to the day. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will return but next time for longer to fit in some walking and more opportunity to quaff the Station Bitter. Well done to ALL of the staff and thank you for the pyrotechnics on our desserts to let everyone know we had a special occasion!!!

Room Tip: Our room was good but I do know some have views up the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kby121148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We do thank you very much for posting the fabulous review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your time with us and gone to the trouble of describing the experience in such a positive way. We look forward to welcoming such lovely guests back again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel hidden in the mountains after a spectacular journey over the mountains with snow banked up either side. Wouldn't advise Sat nav again. We were greeted by such friendly staff. Our room was in the annex and would have had lovely views in better weather. The room was good but could have been warmer. Bath and separate shower. A shower cap would have been welcome as it was a very small cubicle with an overhead shower.
Excellent food at dinner and breakfast and such lovely service. Log fire in the lounge. We would love to come again.

Room Tip: We were disturbed by the people over us. They seemed to be walking a marathon until the early hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed everything at The West Arms and our reputation continues - thanks for taking the time and trouble in giving us a wonderful review and we look forward to a repeat visit hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stay here overnight with friends and took advantage of a Travel Zoo offer of £89 per couple for dinner bed and breakfast which was excellent value. We stayed in the cottage which is right next door to the pub so no distance to walk. It's quite comfortable with electric blankets available which we needed as there was thick snow covering all the surrounding fields. It did feel a little unused and was quite chilly with typical mishmash of furniture which you often find in self catering accommodation of this type. However as we only paid £89 I felt it was excellent value and could not complain about the food at the pub which was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful and they have a gorgeous inglenook fireplace in the bar where we ate our breakfast. If you like long country walks and good food and beer it would be hard to beat for this money.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in main rooms so can't comment on them but did overhear someone complaining at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review - once again we are very happy guests enjoy their stay - it makes us feel very happy that our sincere efforts to please are appreciated. We welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
405 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
128 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
760 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing