We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The West Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
$155
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
$116
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)(Great Value!)
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveler rating
391
148
42
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
391
148
42
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelzoo offerwillow suitelounge barlog firehoward roomevening mealsingle tracklovely locationshower headberwyn mountainsperfect weekendfour poster bedcountry hotelone night staysuperb foodbeautiful countrysidelovely break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 617 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This unique hotel excels because of the combination of the age and history of the hotel and the excellent food and service. We chose our evening meal in the bar and a lovely girl named Sam came to collect us when it was ready. She took our napkins and laid them across our laps, much like being on a cruise. That was the standard. We took coffee in the reception area in front of the log fire and were able to read the scrap books and visitors books from previous years. All filled with glowing testimonials. Our room was clean and comfortable. A very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Enjoy the experience
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Wow what a great review! We are particularly pleased you mentioned Sam in your detailed praise of The West Arms and happy that you really enjoyed yourselves in every way. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed last Saturday night on a Travelzoo deal of £89.00 D,B+B and had a lovely stay. We traveled first to Llangolan and had a trip on the heritage train and then made our way to Llanarmon the weather was bright but cold and it was great to see the open fire in the reception hall, we were given a twin room in the old part of the inn - the room was clean and comfortable although the sloping ceiling in the bathroom was a little problematic as we are both tall people. After unpacking we came back down to the reception and had a drink by the log fire, we did feel a little envious of the couple enjoying their afternoon tea by the fire. The meal at night we enjoyed very much indeed, every course was well cooked and presented, full of flavor and just what we like, we paid extra to share an extra cheese course and all was accompanied by a good bottle of wine. We retired to the log fire after dinner for a few more drinks and had a very pleasant evening chatting with other guests. It had snowed a little at teatime and on taking an early morning walk the next day we saw just how beautiful the village was in the sunshine with the snow capped hills all around. Breakfast was a little disappointing, a little under cooked I felt, but overall a very pleasant stay and very good value for money - I would certainly come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for the review. It is very reassuring that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the cosy atmosphere and good food which The West Arms offers. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at The West Arms on a travelzoo offer of £89 for DB&B upgrading to the 'Middleton' character room for an additional £40. We approached the Hotel from Oswestry and the 10 miles was along a single tract with few passing places. I mentioned this to another couple in the car park and they said it had been a hair-raising journey from Llangollen. However, the Hotel is perfectly situated with lovely views and is well worth the journey. The Hotel was built in the 17th century and that was obvious as we climbed the narrow stairs to our bedroom. The room has 2 x 3 ft single beds zipped together to make a large double bed and the en-suite is, as we expected, compact. Was the extra £40 for the character room a good investment, I cannot comment but my wife thought it was and that is what counts. Our table for the evening meal was against the wall and under a rather large open cabinet displaying 13 AA Rosette plates. The bottom shelf had 4 Silver pheasants and was, unfortunately, only 3 inches away from my head. However, because I was having trouble with toothache, I chose cod for my main course and I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer74Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate all the details and have passed on your comments about the cod dish to the Head Chef - who will act upon it, I am sure (when he has come down from Cloud 9 due to Wales winning the Rugby last night).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here in March on Travelzoo's excellent £89 DB&B offer, but you can book this direct with them which is better all round.
The West Arms is very warm & friendly. Reception had a great fire, and we rarely strayed from there, but there's also a couple of "pub" rooms (with fires) and bars.
3 real ales on, including the all-conquering Station Bitter.
Room was nice (beams & that) although the toilet did stop flushing after a bit (not due to over-use), and the door wouldn't lock, but we were hardly in there.

Food was good, although not sure it was worth £32 for 3 courses. But then, lots of people drive a long way for the food so perhaps it is (there were people from Widnes who had driven down there that night.)
Starters were excellent - mixed meat with salad and a fig/goat-cheese salad.
Mains a little more split. My config duck leg portion was surprisingly filling, and very rich-tasty. Served with mash, spinach, game crisps and beetroot.
Lady's beef bourg was good but perhaps a little boring. Other choice was cod, or rack of lamb (for £7 supplement)
Dessert of apple strudle with ice cream fine, cheesecake a bit of a disaster..

Wines from Tanners, and their bottle of claret was a proper hit. The sauv blanc perhaps less so (needs to be cold!).
The Station Bitter was well-received, and two other casks ales on, although Lake Vyrny's was somehow fruitier.

Breakfast excellent - my porridge, full-brek & toast was strictly three breks & plenty of strong coffee. Only the black pudding was under-powered.
Marian's smoked haddock & poached eggs was "nice".

I wonder if we thought the food didn't quite hit the heights, but for £89 DB&B it's very good value. We did run up a £35 bar bill over evening and afternoon but some of us did drink quite a lot.
I did note that both our bill & the previous people's needed adjusting so check.

We would DEFINITELY go back. All the staff are very friendly and it has a lovely atmosphere.

Book in!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant_jone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your really constructive review. It would be great to discuss some of them in more detail with you - especially the food ones if you are happy to email us directly? Our own deal is slightly different from Travel Zoo offer - just to clarify in case of any misunderstandings...
We are pleased that you really appreciated the atmosphere of The West Arms and that you are more than happy to return - which we hope will be very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent welcome to this fascinating Inn complete with exotic confessional stall. Enjoyed our food especially the salmon and fennel starter. Well kept beer. Beautiful setting for the village convenient for access to Pistyll Rhaeadr. Happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is great to receive such positive comments - we hope that you will visit us again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews