We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This unique hotel excels because of the combination of the age and history of the hotel and the excellent food and service. We chose our evening meal in the bar and a lovely girl named Sam came to collect us when it was ready. She took our napkins and laid them across our laps, much like being on a cruise. That was the standard. We took coffee in the reception area in front of the log fire and were able to read the scrap books and visitors books from previous years. All filled with glowing testimonials. Our room was clean and comfortable. A very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Wow what a great review! We are particularly pleased you mentioned Sam in your detailed praise of The West Arms and happy that you really enjoyed yourselves in every way. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 603 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed last Saturday night on a Travelzoo deal of £89.00 D,B+B and had a lovely stay. We traveled first to Llangolan and had a trip on the heritage train and then made our way to Llanarmon the weather was bright but cold and it was great to see the open fire in the reception hall, we were given a twin room in the old part of the inn - the room was clean and comfortable although the sloping ceiling in the bathroom was a little problematic as we are both tall people. After unpacking we came back down to the reception and had a drink by the log fire, we did feel a little envious of the couple enjoying their afternoon tea by the fire. The meal at night we enjoyed very much indeed, every course was well cooked and presented, full of flavor and just what we like, we paid extra to share an extra cheese course and all was accompanied by a good bottle of wine. We retired to the log fire after dinner for a few more drinks and had a very pleasant evening chatting with other guests. It had snowed a little at teatime and on taking an early morning walk the next day we saw just how beautiful the village was in the sunshine with the snow capped hills all around. Breakfast was a little disappointing, a little under cooked I felt, but overall a very pleasant stay and very good value for money - I would certainly come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for the review. It is very reassuring that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the cosy atmosphere and good food which The West Arms offers. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at The West Arms on a travelzoo offer of £89 for DB&B upgrading to the 'Middleton' character room for an additional £40. We approached the Hotel from Oswestry and the 10 miles was along a single tract with few passing places. I mentioned this to another couple in the car park and they said it had been a hair-raising journey from Llangollen. However, the Hotel is perfectly situated with lovely views and is well worth the journey. The Hotel was built in the 17th century and that was obvious as we climbed the narrow stairs to our bedroom. The room has 2 x 3 ft single beds zipped together to make a large double bed and the en-suite is, as we expected, compact. Was the extra £40 for the character room a good investment, I cannot comment but my wife thought it was and that is what counts. Our table for the evening meal was against the wall and under a rather large open cabinet displaying 13 AA Rosette plates. The bottom shelf had 4 Silver pheasants and was, unfortunately, only 3 inches away from my head. However, because I was having trouble with toothache, I chose cod for my main course and I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer74Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate all the details and have passed on your comments about the cod dish to the Head Chef - who will act upon it, I am sure (when he has come down from Cloud 9 due to Wales winning the Rugby last night).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here in March on Travelzoo's excellent £89 DB&B offer, but you can book this direct with them which is better all round.
The West Arms is very warm & friendly. Reception had a great fire, and we rarely strayed from there, but there's also a couple of "pub" rooms (with fires) and bars.
3 real ales on, including the all-conquering Station Bitter.
Room was nice (beams & that) although the toilet did stop flushing after a bit (not due to over-use), and the door wouldn't lock, but we were hardly in there.

Food was good, although not sure it was worth £32 for 3 courses. But then, lots of people drive a long way for the food so perhaps it is (there were people from Widnes who had driven down there that night.)
Starters were excellent - mixed meat with salad and a fig/goat-cheese salad.
Mains a little more split. My config duck leg portion was surprisingly filling, and very rich-tasty. Served with mash, spinach, game crisps and beetroot.
Lady's beef bourg was good but perhaps a little boring. Other choice was cod, or rack of lamb (for £7 supplement)
Dessert of apple strudle with ice cream fine, cheesecake a bit of a disaster..

Wines from Tanners, and their bottle of claret was a proper hit. The sauv blanc perhaps less so (needs to be cold!).
The Station Bitter was well-received, and two other casks ales on, although Lake Vyrny's was somehow fruitier.

Breakfast excellent - my porridge, full-brek & toast was strictly three breks & plenty of strong coffee. Only the black pudding was under-powered.
Marian's smoked haddock & poached eggs was "nice".

I wonder if we thought the food didn't quite hit the heights, but for £89 DB&B it's very good value. We did run up a £35 bar bill over evening and afternoon but some of us did drink quite a lot.
I did note that both our bill & the previous people's needed adjusting so check.

We would DEFINITELY go back. All the staff are very friendly and it has a lovely atmosphere.

Book in!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant_jone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your really constructive review. It would be great to discuss some of them in more detail with you - especially the food ones if you are happy to email us directly? Our own deal is slightly different from Travel Zoo offer - just to clarify in case of any misunderstandings...
We are pleased that you really appreciated the atmosphere of The West Arms and that you are more than happy to return - which we hope will be very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent welcome to this fascinating Inn complete with exotic confessional stall. Enjoyed our food especially the salmon and fennel starter. Well kept beer. Beautiful setting for the village convenient for access to Pistyll Rhaeadr. Happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is great to receive such positive comments - we hope that you will visit us again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I, my sister and several cousins met at The West Arms for a reunion at the end of February.
We were made extremely welcome and everybody was very helpful.
We ate in the restaurant every night, and I have to say that the food was quite delicious! Whatever you do, hang on to that chef!
This lovely old inn is warm and cosy and in a very beautiful part of Wales.
I and my dog will certainly return, he loved it too! I look forward to a nice peaceful weekend, walking and then reading by that lovely fire.
Thank you. Jeanette Kell

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank JAKSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for posting a review and such a positive one too! Your party were a pleasure to welcome here and also to look after - we are all very pleased the whole weekend was a complete success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night break booked through travel zoo. The hotel staff are friendly and the hotel is cosy. We ate in the restaurant as part of the deal and were very happy with the quality of the food. My only negative comment would be that we booked our table for 8pm and weren't taken to our table until 9pm by which time we were ravenous. Also the prices in the bar were expensive 5.20 for a pint of ale is a bit steep. Also we had a room in the main hotel but our friends were in the annexe which wasn't as nice. All in all a lovely place, warm, cosy and inviting with excellent food

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We wish we could charge £5.20 for a pint of ale - as then we would be able to retire very soon! Our current price for a pint of local Stone house real ale is £3.30. We are sorry you had to wait for a while before going into the restaurant - but as our team of Chefs cook everything to order and we are quite a busy hotel, this does happen sometimes but we always hope that due to the location no one is actually in a rush - and that the food is worth waiting for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
451 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,611 reviews
11 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
580 reviews
24.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range: $80 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing