We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent welcome to this fascinating Inn complete with exotic confessional stall. Enjoyed our food especially the salmon and fennel starter. Well kept beer. Beautiful setting for the village convenient for access to Pistyll Rhaeadr. Happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is great to receive such positive comments - we hope that you will visit us again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 586 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I, my sister and several cousins met at The West Arms for a reunion at the end of February.
We were made extremely welcome and everybody was very helpful.
We ate in the restaurant every night, and I have to say that the food was quite delicious! Whatever you do, hang on to that chef!
This lovely old inn is warm and cosy and in a very beautiful part of Wales.
I and my dog will certainly return, he loved it too! I look forward to a nice peaceful weekend, walking and then reading by that lovely fire.
Thank you. Jeanette Kell

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank JAKSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for posting a review and such a positive one too! Your party were a pleasure to welcome here and also to look after - we are all very pleased the whole weekend was a complete success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night break booked through travel zoo. The hotel staff are friendly and the hotel is cosy. We ate in the restaurant as part of the deal and were very happy with the quality of the food. My only negative comment would be that we booked our table for 8pm and weren't taken to our table until 9pm by which time we were ravenous. Also the prices in the bar were expensive 5.20 for a pint of ale is a bit steep. Also we had a room in the main hotel but our friends were in the annexe which wasn't as nice. All in all a lovely place, warm, cosy and inviting with excellent food

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We wish we could charge £5.20 for a pint of ale - as then we would be able to retire very soon! Our current price for a pint of local Stone house real ale is £3.30. We are sorry you had to wait for a while before going into the restaurant - but as our team of Chefs cook everything to order and we are quite a busy hotel, this does happen sometimes but we always hope that due to the location no one is actually in a rush - and that the food is worth waiting for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just 10 miles from civilisation but the rush and hustle of our working lives could have been a million miles away.
A great hotel to escape to with quirky, comfortable bedrooms complete with oak beams and outlooks to the surrounding hills. A roaring fire welcomes you as you enter the reception area which extend into the cosy lounge with another comfortable snug beyond. The a la carte restaurant has a very good reputation and our experience fully supports that status. For less formal dining the lounge bar with its open fire provides an excellent venue with the same high quality food. Next door the bar is a great place to meet locals for drinks and share the warmth from yet another open fire.
The location of the West Arms at Llanharmon Dyffryn Ceiriog is ideal for most country based pursuits and the water falls (Pistyl Rhaeadr) near Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnan are well wirth a visit.

Room Tip: There are character rooms and suites which are well worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you Mr and Mrs Watkins for the lovely comments - you were exceptional guests - and indeed a pleasure to welcome and look after once again at The West Arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just be aware that this inn is a good distance from Llagollen itself as that came as a suprise to us. It is however in a lovely, quite remote village almost facing The Hand Inn (which we had almost booked at). My husband and I travel on business with our dog and we look for a warm, friendly, comfortable, clean characterful place to stay where we can enjoy a relaxing meal in the bar with our dog, ideally by a log fire. The West Arms fulfilled all of our requirements. We asked to stay in the annex in order to have direct access to outside and I suspect that this may be more basic than the rooms within the inn. It was clean, comfortable and suited our needs but don't expect "up to date chic" The annex has other rooms and did appear as though it could suit a group/ family booking. Staff were all friendly and helpful, thouh there were occasionally waits for service.
The food appears to be highly acclaimed, but we were a little disappointed. The bar meals were not cheap but neither were they anything exceptional and we felt the use of herbs was over heavy. Overall though most people seemed very positive about theier stay and we would happily stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sarah's room in the annex which suited our needs. There is a room next door, Steph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine55h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you Elaine for your review. We are happy you had an overall good experience at The West Arms. The quality of the annexe rooms are reflected in the price and a little more basic than other rooms. We do not claim to offer cheap meals as the quality of the produce we serve is extremely high and everything is freshly sourced, freshly prepared and cooked at the time of ordering. Obviously we aim to please everyone and we are glad to say that most of the time Grant, our Head Chef and his team do achieve this and receive superb compliments - hopefully you will re-visit and be pleasantly surprised next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break with my sister and husband, our rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly,Food was excellent had a bar meal the first night which was super.had a really relaxing time would go back again .thankyou.

Room Tip: all rooms see nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normskidabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for the great review - we are very happy The West Arms lived up to its reputation and you would gladly return. Our constant aim is to please, so reviews such as yours makes the whole team all feel extremely rewarded for our efforts that are ever present. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My other half and I booked a one night stay at the West Arms earlier this week as a treat after a very busy few weeks at work.
Our room was lovely, warm and cosy, with everything we needed for a short break, including a well stocked tea tray, a never-ending supply of hot water and plenty of clean towels. Even BBC Alba on the television was an education!
We enjoyed a fantastic 3 course meal and bottle of wine in the restaurant that night, but both agreed that the cooked breakfast served to our room the following morning, for a small charge, was a highlight.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we would recommend the West Arms to anyone.
During our short stay we visited the nearby waterfall which was beautiful, but the narrow roads took a fair bit of negotiating - especially with the errant herd of cows we came across! We would have liked to visit Chirk Castle too but the heavy snow stopped us from getting there. We took a trip to Shrewsbury instead - a bit further away, but no snow!
Overall, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

How lovely to read such a great review - thank you so much! We are really really pleased you had a wonderful time.....come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
443 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
421 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
551 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range: $74 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing