We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The West Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
$121
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
$108
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cain Valley Hotel(Llanfyllin)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveler rating
404
148
44
26
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
404
148
44
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelzoo offerwillow suitelounge barlog firehoward roomevening mealsingle tracklovely locationshower headberwyn mountainsperfect weekendfour poster bedcountry hotelone night staysuperb foodbeautiful countrysidelovely break
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 633 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed last night with friends and really enjoyed the warm reception from the delightful staff. The food didn't disappoint, even though it was chef's night off; Clare, the second chef, produced a lovely, original melange of flavours to tickle the palate. The only disappointment was that we had to decamp from our beautifully-laid dinner table back to the log fire in the bar to eat because of the cold dining room, which had no heating on at all.
The West Arms is a fine old hostelry with a delightful atmosphere of tranquility and the special offer was exceptionally good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are genuinely pleased you had a lovely time. We are chuffed (but not surprised) that our Second Chef Clare produced a wonderful meal for you. Apologies for the cold temperature in the restaurant - we can only think it was because there had been a power cut during the day and therefore the timer controls were out of sync - this has not been a problem since we realised this.....
We hope you visit again - you were delightful guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have just returned after a night at the West Arms, Llanarmon. The hotel is situated in the lovely rural village of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog. The food at the hotel is fantastic and the service equally so. My wife was celebrating her birthday and I had just mentioned this in passing when booking. She was delighted when her dessert was brought to the table with a candle attached! A lovely thought and much appreciated. The only down side was the cold bathroom and we were there on quite a cold night! Otherwise a fantastic stay. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Choose a warm room - especially in winter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you Rob for taking the time to write a review. Great news that you both enjoyed your wife's birthday treat - we are honoured you chose to spend it at The West Arms and that it will provide a lovely memory for you both.

We are sorry you suffered a cold bathroom - we are proposing to improve this at the earliest opportunity.

However we are relieved it did not affect the enjoyment of your stay. Please visit us again soon - as you were lovely people to look after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night (3/2/2013) for my wife's birthday treat via Travelzoo offer..
Plus points.
Great place to relax
Clean rooms
Lovely soft towels
Nice decor
Lovely warm lounge areas, great open fires to warm up to.
Friendly staff, couldn't do enough to please
Food delicious and fantastic
Pretty scenery
Negative points, but would not stop me going again!
Our room number 1 was cold on arrival and heating went off in the evening for a time
Bed was firm but OK
No shower, only bath tap attachment
Dirty water gurgled up through the bath plug hole when the sink was emptied
Lighting was not too good in the room
Windows only single glazed and draughty
Decor a bit tired in the bathroom, bath seal not good.
Toilet was one of those saniflow type and hard to flush at times.
Drinks are very expensive. House wine is £15.95p a bottle and other drink very dear too.
Our cheesecake sweet was very small (the only neg about the food).

All in all it was a very nice stay, we would go back again and recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but if you upgrade this will cost an extra £40 per night.They charge £7 a night if you take your dog.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks for writing in - we appreciate the review and are glad most of your comments were very positive. A couple of your points are being immediately rectified - the sink being one of them and the bath seal too. The saniflow toilet is unfortunately one aspect which due to the age of the building and the location of it, has to stay. This also applies to the hand shower attachment as the bathroom is not able to accommodate a stand-up shower, nor offer the pressure required - as Room 1 is situated in the 16th century part of the building.
We hope that you will re-visit The West Arms - perhaps in a different season - to enjoy the spectacular beauty both of the garden and the Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked a night here with Travelzoo which included breakfast and a three course dinner for two. An outstanding offer at 89 pounds. The only detraction was the room being cold when we arrived at 4 pm, as the heating had only just been turned on. The location, atmosphere and all the meals and service were faultless.
Footnote. - If travelling from Llangollen area using a Tom Tom, ignore instructions to head west unless on horseback or trail bike. Great scenery, but very narrow winding roads. My wife is slowly recovering from the drive! Take the B4500 from Chirk instead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boaters_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and also for taking the time and trouble to visit us....hope your wife has recovered from the scenic route your Tom Tom directed you on to reach us! It is pretty straightforward as you discovered on your way home! We are happy you appreciated and enjoyed The West Arms and hope you will re-visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we have returned after one night booked through travelzoo. Lovely atmosphere, open fires throughout, great food. room small but cosy. Partner found room a bit chilly,I thought it was fine. nothing worse than hot corporate hotels where you wake up with dry mouth and headache from too much heat!!!!

all in all excellent value

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also chuffed that you appreciate our respect for the environment and appreciate the non-corporate aspect of our old inn ....we do not keep the heating on 24/7 ....we are a 16th century hostelry which does have up to date facilities but not always in accordance with the sometimes "soul less" corporate establishments. However we like to think we make up for any lack of these with our personal friendly approach, our wanting to go that "extra mile" to make sure our guests are happy and of course Grant's wonderful food. We hope to welcome you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews