We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old charecter pub - best in North Wales?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful old charecter pub - best in North Wales?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Impulse stop on wet Monday lunchtime. Could not believe how interesting a walk around inside this building. Hotel or Pub ? - brilliant.
Very friendly staff, and our party of 4 had an excellent pub lunch, which should indicate a good evening meal.
Will also stay here next year from Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank insearchofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you! Great review and super compliments! We welcome our guests warmly and it is really gratifying to receive lovely feedback.....thank you. We await your return.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    110
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
51
310
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just spent the week-end in a country retreat which was just sooooo relaxing.
The West Arms must be one of the best kept secrets of hotel breaks in mid-Wales. The reason must surely be that the second rate roadways which lead to this little haven. At times it seemed that they lead to nowhere and ideas of turning back begin to loom large in the mind.
We approached over the Berwyn mountains absolutely stunning views across the mountain range as far as the eyes would allow. The road over this way is for two way traffic but there is only room for one vehicle at a time! Not many passing places either, fortunately we met not one vehicle for miles on end - so we were lucky. Approaching from the Chirk area is much easier and is beautiful but not as spectacular as the Berwyn mountain approach. Once the car was parked in the hotel car park we checked in without any fuss at all. Our room was on ground level and had a lovely view of the garden. Furniture wise the room was nothing special, could even say its a bit tired, but it was comfortable enough. Besides, we were not in the room for long because the rest of the hotel was so accommodating with its small quiet reading rooms, fireside places too, conservatory as well. All a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of modern life - even the mobile phone signal was out of range so it was absolutely peaceful (the village is surrounded by a circle of hills). The surrounding area is outstanding, quite walking paths following the river abound and take you up the hills.The churchyard showed that the McAlpine familiy has an interest here.
Foodwise the hotel was fantastic, full English breakasts perfectly cooked without being over the top and served by charming young ladies who smiled sweetly even at 7.30am!! The evening meal was equally perfect, we chose lamb cutlets, and boy were they good! Its a place to relax and to enjoy a really quiet week-end. It takes quite a lot to find fault but it must be said the real ale was not up to the mark for my taste - there are a lot better ales to be found. The other criticsm is the lighting to the rear of the hotel - there is a large 'field' garden at the back and should the visitor, unfamiliar with this quaint roaving building (there are steps where you dont expect to find them, doors where you dont expect to find them, and low headroom as well in places), so if the visitor should become lost and stumble into the rear field garden at night its easy to fall into the shrubery! I was not alone in this predicament - one or two others said they also found themselves in complete darkness.There was a marquie erected on the week-end we were there, and some wedding guests seemed to be stumbling around getting lost in the darkness. Some extra sensor lighting will stop this happening and at the same time could make a spectacular show too. There are some toilets outside and I am afraid they need some extra strong cleaning products. But this is all part of being out in the country I suppose!

Room Tip: Choose to travel from the east rather than the north approach. Take good walking shoes and some read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. All the points have been taken on board and we are looking into the security lighting for the garden for night time exploring. We hope you will visit us again when the "interesting" adventure of reaching us will not seem quite so long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Firstly i would like to thank the Manorhaus in Llangollen, because of their inflexible 2 night stay policy on a weekend, even on a last minute booking, it led me to search for somewhere else. I was looking for somewhere special to celebrate my partners birthday. I came across the West Arms on tripadvisor, it had a lot of good reviews on tripadvisor, so i thought i would give it a go. Upon arrival, we were met at reception by a very friendly and helpful lady. I had booked the Bunny suite and it was fabulous, a downstairs lounge it was equipped with a good sized samsung flatscreen tv and 2 comfortable sofa. The bathroom is up half a flight of stairs, only a bath with hand held shower, up another half flight of stairs was the bedroom, with exposed beams all in keeping with the period nature of property. Once we had settled in we went to the bar and was happy to see 3 local beers on draught and very nice they were too. At this point i was more than pleased, but the best was yet to come. I had booked a table in the restaurant for that evening and the food was absolutely fabulous. OK, the menu only has a choice of 3 items per course, but that suited me and my partner. I started with Lamb koftas and my partner had Scallops, both were expertly cooked. Then i went onto pan fried brill and king prawns for my mains and my partner had gressingham duck. We finished off with bakewell tart. Everything was made to the highest order and was thoroughly enjoyed. The next morning breakfast was also very tasty and thoroughly enjoyed

The only downside to the whole evening was a confrontation in the bar at about 1am, as the bunny room was next to the bar we could here it all. It sounded like stools being thrown and just one very loud gentleman shouting his mouth off. We did go and check out what was going on as we were concerned we were going to find someone injured. But you can't hold the West Arms responsible for a man who can't hold his drink.

I can't wait to go back again

Room Tip: It is remote, not even a corner shop, which i liked. Book a table in the restaurant as it is not tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for the review - for taking the time and trouble to give us lovely compliments! We are very pleased you enjoyed staying with us and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a last minute anniversary treat, my wife and I decided to venture into North Wales to this 17th century inn. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast menu which we felt was very good value at £160 bearing in mind we had read lots of positive reviews. When we arrived, the (very small) car park was packed as there was a function on, but the staff found us somewhere to leave the car. The place is extremely friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was typically 17th century (ie uneven floors walls, etc) but really very nice and even had wifi! Dinner was mixed however - with an average starter and desert, but with a stunning main course. Breakfast the following morning was lovely. All in all though, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ockendons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are really pleased you found us and enjoyed your stay! We hope you will return again and thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestatyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just back from another stay at the West Arms. This is our third stay this year and once again it was brilliant. We had raved about to our friends who came along with us this time and they were not disappointed. We had booked the superior rooms which are lovely and full of character with fantastic views to the Berwyn Hills. The food at this hotel is excellent, freshly cooked and beautiful presentation. We went to the hotel for relaxation, good food and excellent service and once again the West Arms delivered. We just cannot wait to return for our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
A huge thank you for the great review and we are really pleased that you continually love the ambience and food which we take great pride in offering here at The West Arms. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon and we are chuffed your friends loved it too....a very happy story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you're looking to escape from the rat race this is just the place !! Best of all you can't get a mobile reception, so no hassle from anyone! This hotel was so clean and charming. The staff were lovely, the gardens well maintained and the staff very helpful. We took our dog, they were more than happy with this and even chucked him the odd sausage. We ate in the hotel every night, and the food was amazing..really amazing - also it's one of the best full English breakfast I've ever had. This hotel is miles away from anywhere, which is just what we wanted - they are some lovely walks and gorgeous scenery but not much else - perfect. I actually didn't want to leave and tried to get my husband to stay another night ! I will go going back here for sure - so when things get on top of you and you need to escape from reality, it doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Howard suite..beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you Louise for the wonderful compliments - all the team at The West are very happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us and the dog too. We look forward to looking after you again, when you return for another relaxing time, enjoying our food, which we are indeed very proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Let's get one thing clear. This is not a modern city centre large hotel. It's a small, very old pub with a restaurant and bedrooms in a delightful quiet village near Llangollen.
So, if you go with that in mind, the previous reviews make sense because old buildings, by their nature, give rise to a bit of noisy plumbing and the occasional squeaky floorboard.
We stayed for two nights on a TravelZoo voucher and struggled to find fault. The food is good (surely better to have 3 choices on the menu and for it to be freshly cooked than the usual choice of 20 microwaved options) and breakfast is excellent. Young enthusiastic staff really try hard to please.
I can only offer one word of advice to the owners. A Certificate awarded in 2006 in Reception and others of similar ages on the walls don't give much comfort to new visitors - remove them and only leave current deserved awards such as the Good Food Guide 2012 in their place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely old Inn with its sloping floors and low ceilings....and also that you enjoyed the food. We are chuffed that we have been selected to be included in Good Food Guide 2012.....an accolade which our Head Chef Grant rates higher than any other award we have received over the last 13 years. We hope you will enjoy visiting again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
15.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing