We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful escape”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a last minute anniversary treat, my wife and I decided to venture into North Wales to this 17th century inn. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast menu which we felt was very good value at £160 bearing in mind we had read lots of positive reviews. When we arrived, the (very small) car park was packed as there was a function on, but the staff found us somewhere to leave the car. The place is extremely friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was typically 17th century (ie uneven floors walls, etc) but really very nice and even had wifi! Dinner was mixed however - with an average starter and desert, but with a stunning main course. Breakfast the following morning was lovely. All in all though, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ockendons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are really pleased you found us and enjoyed your stay! We hope you will return again and thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    124
    38
    20
    10
See reviews for
52
345
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
prestatyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just back from another stay at the West Arms. This is our third stay this year and once again it was brilliant. We had raved about to our friends who came along with us this time and they were not disappointed. We had booked the superior rooms which are lovely and full of character with fantastic views to the Berwyn Hills. The food at this hotel is excellent, freshly cooked and beautiful presentation. We went to the hotel for relaxation, good food and excellent service and once again the West Arms delivered. We just cannot wait to return for our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
A huge thank you for the great review and we are really pleased that you continually love the ambience and food which we take great pride in offering here at The West Arms. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon and we are chuffed your friends loved it too....a very happy story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you're looking to escape from the rat race this is just the place !! Best of all you can't get a mobile reception, so no hassle from anyone! This hotel was so clean and charming. The staff were lovely, the gardens well maintained and the staff very helpful. We took our dog, they were more than happy with this and even chucked him the odd sausage. We ate in the hotel every night, and the food was amazing..really amazing - also it's one of the best full English breakfast I've ever had. This hotel is miles away from anywhere, which is just what we wanted - they are some lovely walks and gorgeous scenery but not much else - perfect. I actually didn't want to leave and tried to get my husband to stay another night ! I will go going back here for sure - so when things get on top of you and you need to escape from reality, it doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Howard suite..beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you Louise for the wonderful compliments - all the team at The West are very happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us and the dog too. We look forward to looking after you again, when you return for another relaxing time, enjoying our food, which we are indeed very proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Let's get one thing clear. This is not a modern city centre large hotel. It's a small, very old pub with a restaurant and bedrooms in a delightful quiet village near Llangollen.
So, if you go with that in mind, the previous reviews make sense because old buildings, by their nature, give rise to a bit of noisy plumbing and the occasional squeaky floorboard.
We stayed for two nights on a TravelZoo voucher and struggled to find fault. The food is good (surely better to have 3 choices on the menu and for it to be freshly cooked than the usual choice of 20 microwaved options) and breakfast is excellent. Young enthusiastic staff really try hard to please.
I can only offer one word of advice to the owners. A Certificate awarded in 2006 in Reception and others of similar ages on the walls don't give much comfort to new visitors - remove them and only leave current deserved awards such as the Good Food Guide 2012 in their place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely old Inn with its sloping floors and low ceilings....and also that you enjoyed the food. We are chuffed that we have been selected to be included in Good Food Guide 2012.....an accolade which our Head Chef Grant rates higher than any other award we have received over the last 13 years. We hope you will enjoy visiting again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-tyne
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

That's the line used on some of the inn's advertising, and I'd agree with it!

This was my last stay of a week-long solo motorcycle tour of Wales, and by far the nicest. It helped that the weather was so lovely; the 12-mile gently twisting road from Chirk helped set the scene, and it was lovely to collapse outside in the peaceful garden with a book and a cream tea. And then some G&Ts... and a dinner that was fully worthy of the AA rosettes.

The hotel was very quiet while I was there (mid-week) which made it all the more relaxing. It also meant that my room was upgraded; I could hardly believe that the beautiful, comfortable, well-appointed room overlooking the garden cost me the same as an anonymous shoebox in Cardiff (and much less than a shoebox in London). Work by local artists on the walls rather than cheap prints; and so restful. Excellent, friendly, staff (and indeed fellow guests); my only regret was that I had had such an early start I couldn't keep awake for a dessert, and will have to return to finish off my meal sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you - a lovely review and we feel very proud when reading your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to our Hidden Gem......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We shared ore special birthdays with 30 family and friends at this delightful hotel, Geoff, Jill and their brillient staff looked after us with a smile, nothing was too much trouble. Grant and his team in the kitchen cooked our special meal that was to die for, all our guests were filled with praise, so much so they wanted to thank Grant and team with a standing ovation. We all had an excellent Welsh breakfast the next morning to send us on our way.
We have been planning this celebration for some time and it certainly exceeded all expectations.
This is a very friendly Hotel with lots of character in a beautiful part of Wales, we shall be returning very soon.
Thank You

Room Tip: The Willow suite is very luxiours and the Bunnie Warren suite is unique on three levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us - it was an absolute pleasure to look after you all - and we are really chuffed the birthday celebration was such a success in every way.....which makes happy memories for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A beautiful location and characterful hotel.
The weather was great too. We booked a package which included 3 course set menu, one night stay and Welsh breakfast.
The room was fine but a bit tired, but we were disappointed to see just a standard size double bed in this 4star hotel.
Having seen the dinner 'sample menu', we were drooling over the thought of it. So we booked a table for 7.30pm. When we showed up on time we were told to sit in the reception area until our table was ready. The menu was seriously disappointing and bore no resemblance to the sample menu (for main course there was a haddock dish, a chicken dish and beef bourguignon), it was very ordinary. After about 5 mins. our order was taken along with a bottle of wine. We said that we did not want a drink before going to the table. For the next 20 mins. we sat outside the dining room looking in on our table which already had the bottle of wine on it. So, 8pm and we were called in. The bottle of wine was already unscrewed and we were not offered to taste it. Neither were we offered water although the glasses were there. The starters were small and very ordinary. We had to ask for extra bread. Main courses ordinary. Sweets were unexciting so we asked if we could have cheese, they obliged although it was not on the menu. A plate of what looked like offcuts arrived and I needed to ask for plates and then knives!
The result was a very disappointing evening.
The staff were friendly enough and the hotel has good potential. But they let themselves down seriously with the dinner.
Breakfast was excellent.
The grounds/gardens were not tidy and the lawns needed a good cut.
We would not stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qurum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are sorry that your experience at The West Arms was not as good as you hoped. It is rare for us to receive criticism about the food as our head chef is renowned for producing excellent quality. We must point out that we are a 4 Star Inn and not a 4 Star Hotel. We are not sure which room you were staying in - but due to the age of the building, in some of the character rooms it is physically impossible to get a king or super king size bed. As far as the gardens are concerned, my husband has been out this week cutting the lawns but due to the constant rain over the previous 3 weeks, it has been very difficult to attend to the lawns. We returned to personally operate the hotel one year ago and the programme of improvements is ongoing - which includes attention to the garden, but Rome was not built in a day! The attention to detail on service has been noted, if it was red wine then we always let it breathe on the table unless the client specifies they want to drink from it immediately but the staff will be made aware of the constructive criticism which you give in this review. We would have preferred to discuss the issues with you at the time of your stay which would have given us the chance to rectify them - but thank you for drawing attention to them anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
414 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,503 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
538 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing