We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Music weekend booking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Music weekend booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We took all 16 rooms in the main inn for a tutored weekend of amateur viola da gamba playing organised on behalf of North West Early Music Forum. Everyone enjoyed the weekend and was very happy with the venue and the service provided. We had excellent food, and attentive staff. For our playing, we needed five or so rooms for small groups, and we were able to find sufficient space, even if we sometimes had to use the bar area. As we were playing 17th-century music, we wanted the right period charm, and the West Arms certainly provided this. At the same time, everything was comfortable and of a high modern standard. Event organisation is a time-consuming business, and one important factor is how well the chosen venue meets your needs and deals with matters efficiently. Geoff and Gill have been impressively business-like from the beginning and we have got through all the matters that arise without hassle, while they have also offered a welcoming and friendly service. So I commend the West Arms not only from the accommodation point of view, but also from a business management perspective. We shall, all being well, return next year.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you so much for such a quick and positive review. It was great to be able to accommodate you all, and a pleasure to listen to such professional and accomplished musicians. The West Arms resounded with wonderful harmonies. We look forward to next year and are both flattered and honoured you have re-booked already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    110
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
51
310
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

A marvellous welcome from the minute we arrived. All the staff were attentive and friendly with tremendous food and accommodation; as important was the dog-friendly welcome for our chocolate lab.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive review - we appreciate the time and effort it takes and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.....and all the team are really pleased with your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked the West Arms following a Travelzoo weekend offer which advertised a package including a 3 course meal by chef Grant Williams. Due to this, the rooms were fully booked so we were offered the cottage next door, which we took. The cottage was lovely, recently modernised but retaining the charm of an older building. The food though, was exceptional. It was a small menu, but my wife and I found dishes to our taste and they were cooked and presented to perfection. We ate in the restaurant the first night and in the bar the second night and the food was of the same standard - superb. The other element was the staff - universally creating a 'family' atmosphere - rankings, ratings and how you felt about things were paramount. - and they were charming with it.

The area itself was stunning, we went for a couple of long walks and, admittedly did get lost on one of them, so were out for around 5 hours, so if you want a tip - take a good map and don't rely on local instructions!

Overall, a fabulous weekend matched by the surroundings and weather - thanks everyone at West Arms and Travelzoo!

Room Tip: If you go for the cottage, the King size room is really comfortable and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We do appreciate your kind comments and all of us here at The West Arms are very chuffed that you had such a wonderful time and welcome the opportunity to look after you again here in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wanted to eat at The Hand over the road, but unfortunately, they were fully booked. We were seated at a small table in The Lounge Bar, which is tatty and in desperate need of a new carpet. As the place was virtually empty, I'm surprised we weren't offered a choice of tables. My instinct was to leave and wish we had. The Lounge Bar seems to be the area dogs are allowed, unless of course they're allowed in all areas of the pub. I wondered whether this is why it had been allowed to get so tatty and I thought a bit smelly. However, dog owners still like nice clean surroundings. We have a dog, but do not take him with us when we eat, so I don't really want to sit in a tatty area with other people's dogs whilst I eat. When the food arrived the portions were small. I thought the new potatoes had been missed off my plate, but then realised 2 or 3 had been chopped up and mixed in with a small portion of vegetables. Our child's chicken in batter looked like factory produced chicken nuggets with about half a dozen chips, no peas or beans included. £5.95 for less that you would have got with a McDonald's happy meal!
Could benefit from a visit from The Hotel Inspector, or just checkout what's on offer over the road at The Hand and match that.
I would not return or recommend, certainly not an enjoyable experience or value for money. A disappointing end to an otherwise great stay in this lovely area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1LizT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
What a shame you did not have the courage to complain to our friendly team at the time of your visit! (Much easier to write a review!) We offer food all day on a Sunday and the time you requested to eat was 3 pm. When you first came in at 1 pm to ask if you could return later - you may remember that we were buzzing with business at 1 pm. The choice of tables at 3 pm was limited as we had a large party of over 20 booked in the lounge bar for 3.30pm - who again you may remember as they were waiting to use your table when you vacated...? The Lounge Bar has been recently renovated in keeping with the character of the whole building which is very very old but most definitely clean. There was only the one small dog in the lounge bar when you arrived who was clean and white and sat quietly with its owners. Unlike other pubs locally, we do not have a House Dog but we do welcome other people's.....and their children and any visitors generally as we are a country Inn where the clientele enjoy walking, cycling and other country pursuits which the feline is part of. One of the food choices for children is breast of chicken deep fried in batter and what most children seem to like - we would not know what McDonalds serve. Beans are always available if required. With regard to Hotel Inspectors - coincidentally only last week we had an anonymous visit from the AA Inspector who gave us a glowing report - as did the Health Inspector last month and we are very pleased to have been selected to be included in The Good Food Guide for 2012 which is one of the greatest accolades recognised by today's Top Chefs. Judging from all the excellent reviews we have recently received, we are all justifiably proud of what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife's 50th birthday is in March, so as all our weekends were booked between the end of February and the actual date, we decided to stay at The West Arms on the weekend of 18th/19th February, to "kick-start" a few weeks of celebrations. We had actually stayed there for her 40th birthday in 2002 and enjoyed an excellent time then. Our welcome from Geoff, Gill (the owners) and their cheerful and helpful staff was delightful. We were given the "Willow" suite, which consisted of a large lounge, a bedroom with a king-sized bed and adjoining bathroom with a "king-sized" bath. The rooms were warm and very comfortable, with nice extra touches such as a decanter of sherry, plus two glasses and a massage chair in the lounge, as well as the usual tea and coffee-making facilities. As we had our 11 year old son with us the staff had erected an extra bed in the lounge, but there was still plenty of room.
We had lunch in the bar, which provides a first class range of drinks and bar snacks and booked our evening meal in the restaurant for 8pm. The food and service were truly excellent with an extensive selection of wines to accompany the 5 star dinner we had on the Saturday evening. There was no problem ordering a child-friendly dinner for our son, even in the main dining room, and no adverse remarks when he requested tomato ketchup instead of the chef's special sauce, which can happen in some of the so called top restaurants!
The location of the West Arms is ideal for exploring the many delights of the local area and after waking up to snow and having a really good "Chef's Breakfast" we went to see the Pistyll Rhaeadr waterfall, which is about 30 minutes drive away. As we had enjoyed our stay at The West Arms so much, even though we had booked out of the hotel, we decided to return there for Sunday lunch on our way home.
We loved our weekend stay at what can now be described as one of our favorite "get away" locations in the UK and certainly won't be waiting another 10 years before we return to this idyllic old hotel.

Room Tip: The "Willow" suite is very spacious, has nice views and extras such as a massage chair and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review with your kind comments and we are very happy you had a great stay at The West Arms. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Fantastic location, perfect to get away....the hotel room was excellent, the dinner and breakfast was magnificent and the staff very good..........very very recommended.
The only down side no sky in the rooms but apart from that I really could not fault it!

Room Tip: Room 15.....great views from first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review about your stay with us! It makes our job very rewarding to read such compliments. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your time at The West Arms and we welcome the opportunity to look after you again soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked a night at the hotel which included breakfast and 3 course dinner. We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the building; it was full of history and character. The log fire in the lobby is a great welcome to the hotel. Our room wasn't the most spacious but it was good value for what we paid. It was warm and equipped with a variety of teas & coffees (including teapot and cups/saucers). The TV was small but, I suppose, proportional to the room. The bathroom was clean with fluffy towels but it was on the chilly side. We would have preferred a stand alone shower instead of a handheld shower head. And there was no curtain to the bath. Dinner was very enjoyable and the staff were very helpful in ensuring we had a vegetarian alcohol free meal. We had a bottle of water with our meal which cost about £3.70 I think. If you are OK with tap water (which is crisp and fresh in that region anyway) I would ask that a jug of tap water be served rather than bottled. Breakfast was nice (I personally loved that the toast was warm when it reached the table!), but I would've appreciated some fresh fruit and a variety of juices. We relaxed indoors on the day we arrived; the weather wasn't the best and the drive was a long one along pretty scary country roads! But the day we checked out, Geoff told us about the Rhaedr waterfall about half an hour's drive away where we had a lovely time.

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay made all the more so for the staff and their great service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you Mrs Miah for all your constructive comments which we have taken on board and we appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to post the review . We are so pleased your stay at The West Arms was a positive one and you enjoyed the break. The West Arms is a "hidden gem" so it does take a bit of effort to get to us and hopefully you may visit us again when we will ensure your next stay is just as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
15.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing