We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent end to a wonderful wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An excellent end to a wonderful wedding”
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We first visited The West Arms at Christmas time 2006. We immediately fell in love with the place with its quaint little rooms, superb food and roaring fires in the winter. We decided that this would be the perfect venue for our small wedding reception.

Sian and Lee Finch were excellent in helping us to organise the reception and we were also able to meet and discuss menus with the head chef Grant Williams. We were delighted to find that most of the produce used for the menu was sourced locally.

The day was absolutely perfect. We were greeted by Sian when we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. We were served canapes and drinks on arrival. The food was exceptional and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The majority of the wedding party chose to stay at the hotel and all were completely satisfied with their rooms, particularly the character
rooms. Our room (The Willow Suite) was beautiful having only recently been refurbished.

Since this day we have been back to the West Arms on a number of occasions and it never disappoints. The bar meals are the best we have
ever encountered.

The West Arms hotel is everything that a country hotel should be. It is set in a beautiful location, has a relaxed atmosphere, excellent food and friendly, welcoming staff. Everyone should visit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swampy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    118
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
52
333
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

We spent a night at the West Arms in December 2007, staying in the Middleton room. The building itself is charming, though needs some refurbishment in places. Our bathroom would have benefitted from a refit, but the worst issue was the room temperature - absolutely icy! And still freezing next morning, even though the radiator had been on max. all night! This room needs a radiator twice the size of the existing one, plus double glazing and some decent quality curtains wouldn't go amiss. The website states "king-size double bed" - well, sorry, but two single beds (with two single mattresses!) pushed together just doesn't cut it! The food was excellent; everything prepared and cooked to perfection, in particlular the breakfast. Many establishments offer a superb dinner, then disappoint with a lack-lustre breakfast - not so at the West Arms. The chef is a true gem. Lastly, a warning to the unwary - there is a 10% service charge on the entire bill! Not just the meals (which would have been perfectly acceptable) but the total account! What an iniquitous practice - I've never come across this before in over thirty years of travelling!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — 10% service charge on everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Apologies for the late response - however we would just like to inform you that there has been a change in operation of the hotel since you stayed - and a lot of energy has been expended into improving the hotel in all aspects. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontneddfechan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We recently spent a night at The West Arms. When first checking into the Hotel we were left hanging around for a while before anyone noticed we were there. We were taken to our room which was the Middleton suite. The room was average and there were a few items that were in need of an upgrade.
We had our evening meal at the hotel, we had a choice of 2 menus, bar and restaurant. Bar menu could be served anywhere apart from the restaurant, which is elegantly furnished, all other rooms in hotel were poorly furnished and quite uncomfortable for dining.
The food we had was fairly expensive but very nice. The hotel has won awards for its seafood menu, the Monkfish was delicious. The breakfast was also very nice and served in the restaurant.
The most disappointing part of our stay was when we were checking out. When i booked the hotel over the phone, they confirmed the price at £76.50, the person did not say that it was £76.50 per person per night. We had a suprise when the bill came to over £200 for a 1 night stay and evening meal. However because of the confusion the hotel reduced our final bill by £50.

  • Liked — Food and Location
  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

My girlfriend and I had booked a night at the West Arms, staying in the superior room (15), for the August bank holiday. We were celebrating my girlfriends 30th birthday. The hotel is in superb location offering great walks and opportunities for hours of uninterrupted fishing!

Upon my arrival I had requested if it would be possible for the hotel to provide a cake for my girlfriend and the staff provided a wonderful birthday cake which was presented shortly after check in. The staff are all extremely polite, professional and welcoming. We had booked tickets for the annual hog-roast buffet which at £10 per ticket represented great value for money. The room was spacious and luxurious, with a contemporary furnished feel. The view from the room was also amazing!! This hotel is just fantastic, you will have a great time!!!

Chris and Louise
(Midlands)

  • Liked — Views and Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My girlfriend and I have just come back from 2 nights at the West Arms Hotel in north Wales. The hotel website and hotel itself for that matter is covered in awards for food and good management so we were expecting something pretty special, especially for £150 per night for B and B. We're now feeling a bit disappointed by the whole experience. Its in a beautiful setting and the rooms are cozy, indeed its a very nice old style country hotel but really overpriced. For dinner in the restaurant they charge top london prices (£27 for 2 courses) but you don't get top london food. Also upon checking out we had to pay 10% service on everything, even our room which was over £300 by itself including breakfast, so £30 service charge on that...i've travelled a lot and never seen that before!! (The price of the room is misleading as I wasn't expecting that!) No newspapers, even on a sunday unless you request them and as we were never asked if we wanted a paper we presumed they would have some. I like to read the sunday papers with my breakfast! Anyway for the money, i've stayed in an an awful lot better small country house hotels, (ie the East Haugh in Perthshire...different league). The lady owner was a bit cool as well and not overly friendly. Its OK but I wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Location is beautiful, room was cozy
  • Disliked — Expensive and whats this 10% service on everything?!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank greenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Apologies for the late response - however we would just like to inform you that there has been a change in operation of the hotel since you stayed - and a lot of energy has been expended into improving the hotel in all aspects. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We have just spent a wonderful couple of days at this charming, little, country hotel. Marvellous location (in a "hidden" part of Wales which we had never visited before) a spacious and extremely comfortable suite, friendly, helpful proprietors and absolutely superb cuisine!
Looking for somewhere to celebrate St Valentine's Day and also relax and "wind down" for a few days, we found the West Arms through the "Welsh Rarebits" website and decided it was just the place.
When we arrived, after a glass (or two) of champagne in the privacy of our suite, we enjoyed canapes and cocktails with other guests by the roaring log fire in the hotel lounge. This was followed by the most delicious, imaginatively "themed" dinner second to none - or so we thought until the following evening when dinner seemed even more delicious! All the food is chosen, prepared and presented by someone who really enjoys his art and we, as lovers of such art, thoroughly appreciated this and enjoyed ourselves immensely!

We will certainly be visiting the West Arms again and suggest you should also!

Rob & Jools, Cheshire.

  • Liked — Cuisine
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RobJools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at this hotel after seeing the hotel advertised in the Welsh Rarebit Book.
We were not disappointed, the hotel is absolutely lovely, a little gem. The food in the resteraunt is superb and breakfast so filling that you don't want to eat anything until the evening.
Location is excellent for visiting Chester, Llangollen, Betws-Y-Coed, Bala etc.
We didn't do any walking due to bad weather, but the area is ideal for those who do and the hotel can help you plan your walks.
Staff are very friendly and homely. Not at all stuffy and very helpful regarding places to visit.
After your evening meal, relax next to a lovely open fire with a glass of wine and what more can you ask for.....bliss!! I just want to go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Llanmadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
395 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
248 reviews
7.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
117 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing