We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at this popular hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in October 2011. Wanted somewhere dog friendly and this was a real find. The staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for them. The dogs aren't allowed in the main restaurant but the staff set meals out in the reception next to a roaring log fire which was nicer than the restaurant. Food is lovely and as local as they can source it. The rooms are well equiped and very clean. This is a very old building so there are lots of creaks and groans of the wooden floors but this all adds to the ambience. Lots of lovely walks inthe area and made all the lovelier by knowing that we are coming back to the West Arms . Thanks to the helpful and knowledgeable staff for making our stay so lovely. dogs thought it was fab too.

Room Tip: room 2 has no view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesfevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 590 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Please find our unsolicited review of our stay and thoughts of the
West Arms Hotel.

A magical short break in a superb country hotel with a wonderful
"away from it all" location.

The ten mile cross country drive from Oswestry to the West Arms Hotel
at Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog into the foothills of the Berwyn Mountains
was breathtaking. The narrow steep lanes providing an ever changing vista
of mountains and valleys with extensive woodlands and rocky outcrops.

The views were intoxicating to someone who had not passed that way in
thirty years. We just hoped the hotel that we had selected on line would live up
to the high expections generated by our drive through the mystic Welsh border
country.

Arriving in Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog we quickly appreciated that we had made
a real "find". Situated in the heart of the Ceiriog Valley in the centre of the village
The West Arms oozes charm and anticipation. The gable ended frontage is what
every country inn should look like - welcoming but with a sense of history.

The entrance into the reception area excites and tantalises - to the right an enormous
inglenook fireplace with a real log fire welcoming the weary traveller. Beyond that,
a small private, cosy snug to loose yourself in. To the left is small dining room
immaculately prepared and laid out for lunch/dinner.

We had selected a large room overlooking the village square beneath the surrounding
hills and forests. The room was traditionally furnished with a large and very comfortable
kingsize bed, there was a quirky ensuite with plenty of storage/shelf space. There were
tea/coffee/drinking chocolate making facilities, refreshed daily. But the main feature of the
room were the exposed structural timber beams incorporated into the bedroom decor.

Our four days and three nights at the West Arms were made even more rewarding by the high standards set by the resident Welsh Chef and his well trained staff. This was fine dining,
as good as it gets, in a secluded country hotel. Each course of our evening meal was prepared with imagination, subtlety and superb cullinary skills, be it the local salmon, the local fillet of beef or the local fillet of lamb en-croute. Alternatively we could have dined from the equally interesting lounge bar menu which was not only tempting but also competitively priced.

Service and assistance from the hotel staff was first class throughout our stay.

This is a special place, one that has been placed on our very short list of places that we must return to.

Eddie and June
Lecomarc'h, Plufur (22310), Cotes D'Armor, Brittany.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the village square, even so in this remote part of Wales there was no traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

my wife & i plus my sister & partner stopped over for one night only, & on arriving the welcome was very friendly from Jill & Nikki who both seemed genuinely pleased to see us,which i always think is a good start & makes you feel you have picked the right hotel.
all the rooms looked very cosy & clean,our bedroom on the 1st floor was superb & my sisters next door was the same.
the food was very nice & the bar menu was o.k. but we thought the restaurant prices where a little high(only our opinion)the service be-hind the bar from Rhiannon,was o.k. but a little slow!!!!!(only joking---mucker-never did get your phone number)
break-fast was very nice & again the waitress (keeley) was very friendly & had a good sense of humour(hope your dad is o.k.----& the water!!)
the only sad bit,when we left in the morning Jill the owner was no-where to be seen & i think you should be there to say good-bye to your guests(even if you do not like them) the four of us all mentioned this the next day,so it does make a difference!!

Room Tip: rooms 15 & 16 have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Mr and Mrs Harvey

Thank you for your review, and for taking the time and effort to post it and for your kind words. We all enjoyed looking after you and were honoured you chose The West Arms to celebrate your birthday occasion.
I am very sorry that I was not there to say goodbye on your checking out after breakfast (this was not personal I assure you, as you were super clients!) but as the hotel business demands 18 hours a day management, we unfortunately are not always able to be present for everyone at checking in, checking out and during service. However we are addressing this and in the meantime are happy that Keeley did such a good job of looking after you at breakfast time and hope that our well trained staff,like Nikki and Rhiannon always do a great job in the absence of the owners and management (myself, Geoff and Ben). We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Gill, Geoff, Ben and The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Very disappointing stay with dropped standards in service and food. Just returned from West Arms where we have have enjoyed numerous stays in the past with its first class service and food. However there were noteable changes during this stay which were sadly not for the bettter. We opted for a room on the ground floor as a change for this visit however the stale and and musky odour in the corridor and room itself undermined any relaxation in the room Also what ever happened to the chef this weekend my sticky toffee pudding was dry and unimaginative with no offer of cream or ice cream and my husbands cheese board lacked selection and chutney option. With regards to service poor staffing levels in the morning meant we turned up for breakfast with a room full of tables requiring clearing from earlier guests and dropped cutlery on the floor. Additionally we had to seek out and wait for a member of staff to top up empty fruit juice and milk jugs. All in all a very disappointing trip as this Hotel used to be our prized haven which we have strongly recommended in the past to family, friends and work colleagues. Sadly will not be doing this in the forseable future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Manager at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear DJoshuar,

Thank you very much for your honesty. The West Arms has only recently come back into it's original ownership after 6 Years of being Leased out. We are making continual improvements to try and get things back to how they should be. When I showed you your room I did ask if you were happy with your room and if there was anything else that I could get for you. However I am sorry that you did not get our usual high level of service, I have spoken to the relevant people and can assure you that this is an isolated incident, especially surrounding breakfast. I have since looked at the room you stayed in. Please appreciate that the building dates back to 1670, and requires constant maintenance due to its age, which we now have under control, as we have recently had the outside, trenched, lined and sealed to stop the damp, and this problem has now gone. We really do hope that you accept our most sincere apologies, and welcome the opportunity to look after you in the future so that you can experience the West Arms as you remember and it always has been

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I am amazed to see so many good reviews here - our experience was quite different. We have wanted to stay at the West Arms for ages, as we love Llanarmon and we love good food. What could go wrong? Well...the promise of great food was sadly dashed, particularly for my husband. Stale bread rolls. Goats cheese salad with Balsamic dressing had to go back as neither of us could locate the balsamic. The Welsh lamb had absolutely no taste, and Welsh lamb is generally fantastic so not sure what went wrong there. My main course was OK - the pud was lovely, though a tad underdressed - no cream, ice cream, creme angalias -just a plum tart! Hubby thought he couldn't go wrong with a cheeseboard - and he was pretty hungry having not eaten his first two course. Cheese rockhard, straight from the fridge - you shouldn't really have to carve brie. The dinner waitress was lovely it is fair to say, she was clearly sorry we had not enjoyed the meal but there was little she could do about it, she was very friendly and polite though - a good asset to the hotel. Breakfast was a mediocre experience. One of the waitresses was very welcoming, the other could barely look at us and certainly wasn't going to engage in conversation. We got fried bread though we had asked specifically not to have it and there was no chance she was going to hang round long enough for us to ask for ketchup so we had to forgo that (and had we had agood experience the night beforre that probably wouldn't have bothered us). The crux though came when we checked out. Always wary of anywhere where you hand over your hard-earned cash and they don't even bother to enquire if you've had a good stay. We felt compelled to explain our experience of the previous night. We were rewarded with some nodding and general disinterest. We weren't looking for compensation - merely an assurance that they valued our custom and woud like to put right our experience. We didn't get that and left looking longingly at the Hand over the road (where we have also stayed and had a much better time). "I feel like I've been mugged" said my husband as we drove away. Needless to say, we shan't be returning to the West Arms, or recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank alliedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Alison
We were extremely disappointed to read the review of your experience here at The West Arms recently. We were very dismayed to learn that you had made a complaint at the time but it had never been conveyed back to us - as this would have enabled us to discuss this with you face to face and also afforded us a chance to rectify this unfortunate situation. So sincere apologies on both counts are sent with this reply. Obviously we do try to please all our customers at all times, and on most occasions we succeed but unfortunately on this occasion we let you down. We have fed back all your comments to the staff concerned and specifically Grant Williams, our Head Chef who is also upset to learn that you had a bad experience in the restaurant. We have also instructed all the staff that they must report any such feedback to us immediately. We have only just returned back to operate the Hotel in late July, after a gap of 5 years, so hopefully incidences like this will be few and far between from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Received a very welcoming reception and delighted with accomodation. The Willow suite is huge, very well decorated and the old style bath was a real treat!
We enjoyed top class food, well worth the 2 rosettes.We feel very honoured to have been catered for by Grant Williams who will be appearing in the ITV programme 'Britains Best Dish' next month.

Room Tip: willow suite is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for your review - this is most appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel is very olde worldy in the middle of nowhere, but quite picturesque, we had a very pretty twin room No 2, and it was very quaint and lovely, tv very small but apart from that the room was lovely.

we had to wait 40 minutes for our breakfast to arrive but apparently this was a one off, the bathroom was very nice too.

I would recommend this hotel

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank gibraltar2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Manager at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for your review - most appreciated!

Gill and Geoff and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
443 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
422 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
827 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing