We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange welcome!”
Review of Bron-y-Graig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bron-y-Graig
Ranked #4 of 14 Corwen B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

On arriving at the hotel,after a 3 hour journey, we found a note on the door saying "back at 5. 15." We waited about 10 mins and then the door was opened by our host ( unsmiling and unwelcoming!) His first words were "Sign in". it was not a very nice first impression. Also the reception area is a little dreary and dark. The wall paper is very dark and this gives a very drab effect. We were taken to our rooms which are decorated in William Morris wallpaper. Ours was dark green and very dark and dreary. The bedcover looked faded and worn. However the linen was all crisp and spotlessly clean. Good sized bathroom. Lovely views. Delicious biscuits too! The breakfast was good. However I would not stay here again as I found it too dark and dreary. I did not feel very welcome, although the service was ( after a bad start) efficient. Also I did not like to read that dogs are welcome in the bedrooms! YUK!!!!! I prefer less fussy accomodation. Would prefer even a Premier Inn every time! It's just a matter of personal choice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 2 or 3 as they are the original "family" rooms. Some of the others are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanePWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry you were not welcomed as we would like: sometimes it is necessary to go out to collect supplies, and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not take the time to make you feel at home.

Bron-y-Graig is decorated in William Morris papers and Victorian colours and as such we realise you did not like the style.

We are sorry you did not like to see that we are pet-friendly. Guests may bring dogs by prior arrangement, although they are not permitted in the breakfast room. We do try to make this clear in our room information as we realise that some people do not like dogs. However given our excellent walking location we find many customers like to bring their dogs with them. Rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day, and we thank you for commenting that your room was clean.

We are glad you were pleased with your service and that you enjoyed your breakfasts.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

The moment you arrive the lovely, well-kept gardens and the internal decor serve to relax you. Then the friendly welcome and excellent service make you feel right at home.

We stayed two nights, but were unfortunate in the weather. My wife turned that into an opportunity to go shopping in Cheshire Oaks outlet mall. My daughter then found Monopoly which we all played together in the lounge and I found a copy of Dune among the large selection of books, so it worked out for all of us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idlest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have just stayed for one night at Bron-y-Craig . We were attending a wedding nearby . This is a lovely bed and breakfast !! Room and bathroom both spotless , the bedding crisp and clean .Lovely decor , giving a calm , relaxing atmosphere . Breakfast was wonderful , served to us by a very respectful young lady . She asked us several times if we would like more tea , coffee or toast .It was really cold the night we stayed but when we arrived back, quite late , to our room, the heating was on and it was so lovely to arrive back to a lovely cosy , warm room .My husband and I would certainly consider staying there again if we are ever in the area again .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiiycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at Bron-y-Graig in Corwen. Judith and Mandy were so kind, helpful and welcoming. Their attention to detail is brilliant. The room was extremely comfortable and I was most grateful that they welcomed both of my (well-behaved) dogs. Wi-fi is available from the room. Breakfasts were consistently delicious with very efficient, friendly service. Thank you very much for my great stay.

Room Tip: Room One had a great view and is a very generous size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilesAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I conduct small group tour around the UK and we try to stay here at least once a year as it is one of my favorite places to stay in Wales. I found it a few years back and it is exactly what we look for when choosing accommodation for our small group tours. I feel instantly at home when I walk in the door and always look forward to a wonderful dinner as well. The William Morris decor compliments the house perfectly and Judith and David will meet your every need. This will always be my choice when we are in the north of Wales and I am very much looking forward to another stay in just a few weeks!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night over the weekend - very friendly hosts. We had two rooms, both on the top floor (the stairs are a bit steep, but this is a 130 year old property!). Lovely tiles, vibrant wallpaper and clean bedding, rooms and en-suites...

Hearty breakfast, lovely views....

Good value, wish we were here for longer - definitely worth a return trip!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments - we are very pleased that you liked the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Outstandingly good value and an absolute pleasure to stay here - dog friendly and free wifi, plus an excellent location for great walking.
Faultless

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DizzyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a great pleasure to meet your delightful dog Jack!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
7.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#6 of 14 in Corwen
11 reviews
2.1 mi away
Owain Glyndwr Hotel
Owain Glyndwr Hotel
#14 of 14 in Corwen
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plas Derwen Country House
5.0 mi away
Tyddyn Llan
Tyddyn Llan
#1 of 3 in Llandrillo
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron-y-Graig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron-y-Graig

Address: Bron y Graig London Road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Price Range: $104 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron-y-Graig 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bron-y-Graig is a luxurious 9-bedroom Victorian Town House Hotel in North Wales with tranquil river and mountain views. Set in the beautiful Dee Valley, it is the ideal base for exploring Snowdonia, Chester and North Wales Castles and Coast, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bron-y-Graig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron-y-Graig Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing