We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and sweet...”
Review of Bron-y-Graig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bron-y-Graig
Ranked #4 of 14 Corwen B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Short and sweet...”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night over the weekend - very friendly hosts. We had two rooms, both on the top floor (the stairs are a bit steep, but this is a 130 year old property!). Lovely tiles, vibrant wallpaper and clean bedding, rooms and en-suites...

Hearty breakfast, lovely views....

Good value, wish we were here for longer - definitely worth a return trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments - we are very pleased that you liked the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Outstandingly good value and an absolute pleasure to stay here - dog friendly and free wifi, plus an excellent location for great walking.
Faultless

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DizzyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a great pleasure to meet your delightful dog Jack!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at Bronygraig first of all three years ago when visiting Llangollen Eisteddfod.
We were so pleased with the welcome, we have now made it our home every year.
We've already booked for the 2012 Eisteddfod.
A&M

Room Tip: If you want privacy, try the rooms in the outbuilding, but if you like a view there are rooms lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviesarwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a lovely hotel. It's elegance and grandeur make it something very special. The surrounding area is also absolutely wonderful, so much to see. The room we had was right at the top, and had lots of low beams and was like stepping back in time. It was spotless, and the ensuite was also top class. However, my wife and I encountered something quite strange in both the nights we were there which unfortunately prevented us from sleeping and I'm afraid we wont be returning. Can't explain it, and maybe we were being daft, but we both encountered a feeling that we were not alone in the room and both felt a very uncomfortable feeling of being watched. We did not see anything - but had to sleep with the lights on. It felt even more pronounced the second night and again, we could not sleep. I've not experienced anything like it, and it was a relief to go down for breakfast which was wonderful. We dont drink and I just hope it was us being silly, but we simply can not go back even though it is a gorgeous place.

Room Tip: Erm, dont choose the one right at the top and to the left when facing the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karlosmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our décor and facilities. We are sorry to hear you felt you had to sleep with the light on, and wish you had told us during your stay as we would have made every effort to put your minds at rest. We have lived here for 22 years and never felt or seen anything supernatural. Moreover none of our rooms is overlooked, the walls are 2-3 feet thick, and the doors are solid so it is not possible for any living person to watch you in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here several years ago and enjoyed our stay then so we wanted to show our friends what a great plece it is. Great generous rooms with fantastic views. You don't have to stay in your room as there is a wonderful library in the sitting room to relax and unwind. Great area for an early morning walk or just to wander around Corwen at anytime. Breakfast again was fantastic with a beautifully presented selection available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed here recently as part of a walking holiday and was pleasantly surprised.

The house was spacious and older in style (which isn't a criticism!!)...

This meant that the room that i received was very spacious and light with a good sized flat screen TV and the ensuite was simply huge!!

The ensuite had a bath with shower over, plenty of hot water and good toiletries...

The bed was really comfortable (or maybe all of the fresh air and walking had finally got to me!!)...

I can't comment on the town as i went pretty much straight to bed!!

One thing to note is that there isn't a huge choice of restaurants in town - but there are a couple of decent takeaways in town...

Breakfast was good (I had a full cooked breakfast) and the service was pleasant.

I would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bron-y-Graig for a 2 night weekend getaway, just to get away from the rat-race and chill out, and we couldn't have picked a better spot or a comfier, nicer hotel to stay in.
The hotel is beautifully located in the green countryside of Corwen, stunning views from the bedroom window (we stayed in room 1). The room was beautifully furnished and decorated, immaculately clean, with all the basic essentials one could need, fluffy white towels to use, complimentary natural shower products, hot drink facilities - with biscuits, flat screen TV with DVD (and a complimentary selection of DVDs to borrow, if you wish). A wonderfully comfortable bed. After the first night we stayed, we had bought a bottle of wine to drink the following evening, when we returned to our room later that day after it had been cleaned, 2 wine glasses had been left by the wine - the small details really count :-)
The breakfast was simply delicious, with a great choice.
The owner, Judith, gave us a warm welcome and was kind and helpful. We really recommend this hotel, and it is situated in a fabulous place to see beautiful Snowdonia and surrounding Welsh coastline. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunloves09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
9.4 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
767 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
538 reviews
8.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#7 of 14 in Corwen
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron-y-Graig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron-y-Graig

Property: Bron-y-Graig
Address: Bron y Graig London Road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron-y-Graig 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bron-y-Graig is a luxurious 9-bedroom Victorian Town House Hotel in North Wales with tranquil river and mountain views. Set in the beautiful Dee Valley, it is the ideal base for exploring Snowdonia, Chester and North Wales Castles and Coast, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bron-y-Graig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron-y-Graig Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing