We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place,great owners, amazing value.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corwen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powys Country House
Ranked #2 of 14 Corwen B&B and Inns
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place,great owners, amazing value.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for a 40th party with family and friends ( inc 10 children). The house has it all, great location, loads for both children and adults yo do. Enough space to find a quiet nook or be in the middle if the action. Loved sitting round the table (all 18 adults) then relaxing in the hot tub after a fa. Meal cooked in the well equipped kitchen. Can't wait for the next celebration. Great memories facilitated by the the very helpful yet unobstrusive owners. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suttonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Terri and Toni have provided an excellent venue for a family gathering which has something for everyone no matter what age or generation.
We were extremely impressed with their beautifully appointed house, its rooms and furnishings.
The 14 members of our family were comfortably accommodated, with three sitting rooms individually heated by log burners, a formal dining room with a large round dining table able to accommodate all of us in one sitting- to be able to eat together created a great family atmosphere. The breakfast room, was able to accommodate the whole family in one sitting so we could enjoy our breakfast together also, this adjoined the fabulous luxury fitted kitchen which had every modern catering convenience.
We had plenty of space to break off into small groups to chat, watch Sky TV or just catch up with each other. The bedrooms (8 in total) were comfortable and individual in character. On suites were provided for most of the rooms and of top quality fittings and furniture. Our room was warm, and had a very comfortable king-size bed with excellent views of the surrounding countryside.

The external amenities were equally impressive, from the hot tub to the dedicated games room with full size snooker and pool tables and the beautifully landscaped gardens which also boasted a large lawn chess area and a full size tennis court.

Ideally located to venture into Llangollen or Betsy-Coed, We would certainly recommend Powys Country House to anyone wanting a truly relaxing weekend away.
Cathy W

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long week end at Powys, it was relaxing, enjoyable and very clean with everything you could need. Terri and Toni made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
We would recommend a stay at the country house, and will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

14 of us stayed here for a long weekend recently. It was sheer heaven from beginning to end .The bedrooms are extremely comfortable, the three lounges (!) enable people to enjoy relaxing, watching TV or simply chatting. The kitchen has everything that could possibly be needed ( as has the house in general) and the separate games room was a welcome surprise. Of course those brave enough used the hot-tub outside to much merriment all round ! We went on the History Trail around LLangollen on a crisp, sunny day which was really enjoyable. Powys House is THE place for any group to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent though two are smaller but not restrictive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesDauphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our family have just returned from our second week end break at Powys Country House,it was every bit as good as the first. We cant praise it enough. Brilliant !!!!!!!! You really should go and see for yourself, seeing is believing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for 60th birthday. What a lovely house. There were 12 of us and it was great to find somewhere where all the rooms were so comfy and well appoinstay. Loads of seating and the dining room was super. Loved the round table as it meant that we could all chat together. Much more sociable than long tables.

The hot tub was fantastic especially after a long day of sightseeing. The gardens were good, lots of different areas. Even a tennis court. Very friendly owners who only ask that you treat their property with respect. Yes there are a few house rules but that is because of some of the thoughtless behaviour of some previous renters. Loved our stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank beverleyminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we were a party of 27 and took over the House and Cottages for the weekend. All properties are beautifully maintained and of an excellent standard. The kitchens in all properties are excellently equipped from cling film, tupperware boxes and every pot and pan you could need. Almost all rooms have full en suite facilities and the standard of décor is excellent. Gardens lovely and the tennis court, games room and hot tub are all great added extras. We had outside caterers in for one evening and the 3 course meal was lovely as were the staff. You couldn't wish for better accommodation in a beautiful location. We would certainly like to think we would return either as a group or a couple in one of the cottages in the near future. Thanks must go to the very friendly owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saphiemojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
6.4 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
112 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#11 of 14 in Corwen
5 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron-y-Graig
Bron-y-Graig
#4 of 14 in Corwen
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Country House

Property: Powys Country House
Address: Powys House Holyhead Road | Bonwm, Corwen LL21 9EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Hotel Class:5 star — Powys Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Country House offers superb accommodation, in a beautiful setting of 3 acres. We are well situated on the A5 for all the main attractions in North Wales, Llangollen, Betwys-y- coed, Bala Lake. We are 5 star rated by the AA and Welsh Tourist Board for our Country House, and 4 star for our cottages. Powys country house can accommodate max 20 people, cottages up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powys Country House Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing