We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb venue for a country house party !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corwen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powys Country House
Ranked #2 of 14 Corwen B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Superb venue for a country house party !”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

14 of us stayed here for a long weekend recently. It was sheer heaven from beginning to end .The bedrooms are extremely comfortable, the three lounges (!) enable people to enjoy relaxing, watching TV or simply chatting. The kitchen has everything that could possibly be needed ( as has the house in general) and the separate games room was a welcome surprise. Of course those brave enough used the hot-tub outside to much merriment all round ! We went on the History Trail around LLangollen on a crisp, sunny day which was really enjoyable. Powys House is THE place for any group to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent though two are smaller but not restrictive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesDauphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our family have just returned from our second week end break at Powys Country House,it was every bit as good as the first. We cant praise it enough. Brilliant !!!!!!!! You really should go and see for yourself, seeing is believing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for 60th birthday. What a lovely house. There were 12 of us and it was great to find somewhere where all the rooms were so comfy and well appoinstay. Loads of seating and the dining room was super. Loved the round table as it meant that we could all chat together. Much more sociable than long tables.

The hot tub was fantastic especially after a long day of sightseeing. The gardens were good, lots of different areas. Even a tennis court. Very friendly owners who only ask that you treat their property with respect. Yes there are a few house rules but that is because of some of the thoughtless behaviour of some previous renters. Loved our stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank beverleyminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we were a party of 27 and took over the House and Cottages for the weekend. All properties are beautifully maintained and of an excellent standard. The kitchens in all properties are excellently equipped from cling film, tupperware boxes and every pot and pan you could need. Almost all rooms have full en suite facilities and the standard of décor is excellent. Gardens lovely and the tennis court, games room and hot tub are all great added extras. We had outside caterers in for one evening and the 3 course meal was lovely as were the staff. You couldn't wish for better accommodation in a beautiful location. We would certainly like to think we would return either as a group or a couple in one of the cottages in the near future. Thanks must go to the very friendly owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saphiemojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Stable Cottage, everything was just perfect. The cottage was so very comfortable, clean and we appreciated the attention to detail.The arrangements were conducted in a speedy and efficient way and Toni and Terry were very friendly and welcoming. This was our first visit to Wales and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Powys Country House. We rented the large house to celebrate our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. We were delighted with the house. Beautifully restored and decorated in keeping with the age of the property but with a modern twist. The Bedrooms were all large, extremely clean with beautiful views. There are 3 lounge areas so we had plenty of room to spread out and there was a TV in every room too. The dining room was fantastic with a beautiful large oak table that seated us all comfortably. Everything that we required was catered for. The gardens were also lovely and the hot tub very clean!! The children enjoyed playing tennis and using the games room. They said it was the best holiday they have ever had, even better than going abroad!!

I did not meet Toni and Terry, however my family did and they were very helpful.

We will definately be booking for next year, if there are any dates available!!! Would highly recommend this property if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay in the wonderful welsh countryside!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyfacetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked the main house for 7 days and shared the eight bedroomed accommodation with friends and family. The run up to our booking was dealt with in an extremely professional but friendly manner and all our questions and requests were answered promptly.

During our stay we were made to feel extremely welcome and both Toni and Terry did everything possible to make our stay just perfect from the minute we arrived to when we left. We really felt taken care of and very welcome. They went that extra mile for us to make group gatherings at the house run smoothly and kept the gardens in perfect condition. They treated the hot tub regularly during our stay and made sure we had everything we needed during the week, but did not intrude at any point.

We have kept in contact via email and will definitely be booking the use of their cottages at some point in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms had en suite, only one room did not have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
8.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#11 of 14 in Corwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron-y-Graig
Bron-y-Graig
#4 of 14 in Corwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Country House

Property: Powys Country House
Address: Powys House Holyhead Road | Bonwm, Corwen LL21 9EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Hotel Class:5 star — Powys Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Country House offers superb accommodation, in a beautiful setting of 3 acres. We are well situated on the A5 for all the main attractions in North Wales, Llangollen, Betwys-y- coed, Bala Lake. We are 5 star rated by the AA and Welsh Tourist Board for our Country House, and 4 star for our cottages. Powys country house can accommodate max 20 people, cottages up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powys Country House Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing