We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week in north Wales”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corwen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powys Country House
Ranked #2 of 15 Corwen B&B and Inns
Hathersage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Week in north Wales”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Powys Country House is an ideal location for visiting north Wales. It is easily accessible and central. The accommodation is fantastic - nothing overlooked, and very comfortable; a home from home. We stayed in the Stable Cottage, which was ideal for a couple.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fabulous weekend, lots of space everything we needed, very clean spacious rooms. Good for families. We stayed with friend all with children of various ages, kids were occupied all weekend. Lots of seating, plenty space indoors if not good weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a mixed group with adults and children and everyone loved it. The gardens were lovely, the tennis court much appreciated and the facilities were all that we could possibly want. A very relaxing weekend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mancunions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in April 2013 with our entire family and it was the most beautiful house. Toni was there to greet us and the place was immaculate!
Toni had thought of everything and the house was to the highest standard in everything. We would definitely recommend it to any one as a great location and a fabulous house.

Room Tip: All the rooms were of the highest standard from the largest to the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently spent a week at powys country house with our entire family. When we arrived and looked around the house we were absolutely thrilled, this house is outstanding! From the smallest of the rooms to the largest, they were clean, spacious, and well equipped. The gardens were fantastic, perfect for us all to spend time in, not to mention the hot tub!! We would love to go again, and would recommend this amazing place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked Powys House to prepare for our daughters Wedding last Saturday, we transported 15 members of our family and our dog Maddie from Liverpool on Friday. What a weekend we had, Toni met us at the door with a lovely smile and a great big hug, a card and a nice bottle of Bubbly was waiting in the hall for the Bride and groom and the kettle had just boiled so we all enjoyed a nice cup of tea while Toni showed us around her beautiful home. Toni and Terri have thought of everything, local attractions are listed along with taxi firms, Doctors, Dentists etc and Toni even emailed us before we arrived telling us that we can order from Tescoe and they will deliver when we arrive ! talk about service. The house was immaculate, it has a seperate games room with full size snooker table, great to keep the lads quiet while we relaxed in the six person hot tub ! The bedrooms were beautifully decorated and the beds, pillows, and linens were 5*. The log fires were easy to light and well stocked log baskets were available for each one. The kitchen was well equiped and huge, as usual most of us congregated here, maybe because the american style freezer had been stocked up by us on arrival ! You have to get your priorities right don't you? The grounds of this beautiful house are endless and cater for all , with a childrens play area, chess and draughts boards plenty of seating areas and of course 'The Hot Tub'. I could go on and write pages about this lovely House, but I won't as I recommend you try it for yourselves. It is in a great location, there are so many lovely places to visit near by, the White Water Rafting is really good as we have been there before and LLangollen is only 10 minutes away. The most outstanding feature of this lovely house is the welcome you get from Toni and Terry, they can't do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived as guests and left as friends. Thanks Toni and Terri , we had a wonderful time, Michelle and David had the perfect Wedding Day and we all want to come back very soon! There was only one bad thing about the whole weekend and that was having to leave, we are all so deflated as our stay went so quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just had a family weekend in Powys Country House. It was to celebrate our Mother's birthday and Oh did we do that. We have this trip every year have to say this is the best property we have ever rented. The standard of accommodation was excellent, the owners extremely friendly and helpful, and location perfect for exploring the North Wales countryside. Fantastic break and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
8.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
88 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
768 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron-y-Graig
Bron-y-Graig
#4 of 15 in Corwen
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#12 of 15 in Corwen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Country House

Property: Powys Country House
Address: Powys House Holyhead Road | Bonwm, Corwen LL21 9EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Hotel Class:5 star — Powys Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Country House offers superb accommodation, in a beautiful setting of 3 acres. We are well situated on the A5 for all the main attractions in North Wales, Llangollen, Betwys-y- coed, Bala Lake. We are 5 star rated by the AA and Welsh Tourist Board for our Country House, and 4 star for our cottages. Powys country house can accommodate max 20 people, cottages up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powys Country House Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing