We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Charming”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although my brother and I only stayed in Maelgwyn House for one night, I can honestly say it was one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed in. The room was clean and had lovely china to enjoy a cup of tea while looking out to the Irish Sea, the full Welsh breakfast was delicious, and Bridget and Derek were lovely welcoming people who were just plain old fun to chat with. If I find myself up in north Wales again I will definitely knock on their door for a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OonaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
247
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself and my friend Linda stayed for three nights last month in order to do the Julia Bradbury walk around Barmouth. Bridget found the times of the bus we needed to catch to the toll bridge and where to park. The place was spotless and beautifully presented, and the breakfast, well...Fresh fruit, smoked salmon scrambled eggs etc. etc etc. 5 star all round. We will have no hesitation to book again.

Room Tip: We had the twin room which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

even from the outside Maelgwyn House looks impressive, enter and the warm welcome from Bridget and Derek coupled by the decor and the fantastic view from the enormous bedroom window confirms the good choice made by our friends for our short stay in Harlech.The room we stayed, was very clean and spotless, the kingside bed is large and confortable, lots of space for all your belongings and the en-suite is equipped with all the necessities.The breakfast is special, lots of different choices, well cooked and professionally presented and enough to satisfy any wishes and what is very clear is that our hosts pay great attention to the smallest details in order to have a pleasant stay. Without any doubts we can recommmend M.H. and we are certain to return in the near future.

Room Tip: any rooms in the front of the house are large and sunny with spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galeazzo_Agrisanti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked to stay for two nights with some friends and stayed in rooms 1 & 2. Rooms were very comfortable and had everything necessary for a lovely stay. The views from the rooms are wonderful. Derek and Bridget made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were faultless and plentiful. We would recommend this B&B to anyone and will definitely be returning ourselves. Certainly the best B & B in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have wonderful views of the bay, are spacious and have very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked an overnight stay for a family celebration taking place in Harlech, what a choice. The room was fantastic, equiped to the highest standard, the bed was so comfortable it was a dream, not that you wanted to sleep with the view from the bedroom window which was breathtaking even in winter. The house is packed with art work produced by Derek and wow there wasn't a piece that I didn't like. What a talent! The choice of breakfasts were excellent and set you up for a good day out in the "Natural Fitness Centre".
Derek & Bridget were the perfect hosts, warm, friendly and vey helpful.

Room Tip: Any room with a view over the bay to the National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived April 1st for a one night stay in room No 1 what a room with a view. Arrived a little early but no problem with hosts Bridget and Derek who welcomed us and showed us to our lovely warm room just to our taste. 2 Chairs to sit and relax and enjoy the view of the Castle, Beach, and Snowdon. Everything was excellant about this B/B, nice lounge, lovely breakfast and Bridget and Derek are lovely hosts. Harlech has many things to offer, tearooms, castle, restuarants, shops, and a wonderful home made ice cream shop and of course the golf course and a fabulous beach. We will be returning again later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A fantastic two nights stay in a lovely clean bright room overlooking the Sea and Harlech Castle. Derek and Bridget were excellent hosts and very friendly. The hearty breakfast provided was very welcoming with a wide range of choice. The B & B is also very close to some fabulous walks and our car didn't move for the duration of our short stay. We look forward to returning when we can. Rich and Caroline

Room Tip: Take a look at Derek and Bridget's video
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
3.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
123 reviews
6.6 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Lodge
Crown Lodge
#6 of 14 in Harlech
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ffordd Isaf, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2PR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast Harlech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing