We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The very best!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
“The very best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B & B early October. After looking at their web site and video showing the rooms and location we decided this was the perfect place to take my father, who is now 92, and not too far from his home in Cheshire, for a break during our stay with him. We live in Victoria, BC and it is always a challenge finding juHst the right accommodation and location from another Country. We ended up taking all but one of rooms as more of my family joined us. We felt truly spoled by Derek and Bridget,a delightful couple, so freindly and hospitible. Our breakfast each day included everything we could possibly want. Our rooms were spotless and comfortable. A real treat for my father and my family. We stay in B & B's in difference areas of the UK each year and Maelgwyn House is by far our favourite.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
238
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haughton Green
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just spent a few days in Wales with my wife and we stayed at this excellent Bed & Breakfast for three nights.
We received a very warm welcome and our room was first class with views overlooking the sea and nearby castle.
The house is very interesting with a lovely tiled hallway and lots of interesting artwork.
The breakfast selection was extremely good and very well presented.
The owners, Bridget and Derek, make your stay an enjoyable experience.
Will certainly look forward to returning for another stay.

Room Tip: Choose one of the front facing rooms. Also take the video tour on the guest house website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaughtonGreenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

we stayed in the month of september , very pleasant folk, welcoming and very hospitable, and also flexable for our choice of breakfast which we did appreciate, fantastic sunset across the sea as we sat in our room. found it to be very clean and we enjoyed a good chat in the morning at breakfast, nice display of art work too! glad we found you !! kay and zafi iqbal

Room Tip: you pay for what you get cheaper rooms no sea view or right at the top of the house, pay more for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wonderful, friendly, comfortable. Only a few words that describe the Maelgwynharlech House. The rooms are beautifully appointed and supplied. The breakfast was splendid, the owners, Derrick and Bridget, are gracious,accommodating, and friendly. Cannot imagine a better B&B in the Gwynedd, Wales area. Thank you so much, Derrick and Bridget.

Room Tip: If you do not require loads of space in a room, room 3 is a fantastic bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent. A room with fantastic sea views. Wonderfull breakfast. Derek (a very accomplished artist) and Bridget could not have been better hosts. Ideally situated being a short walk to town and the castle. Parking. What more do you want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fabulous view, fabulous breakfast. Room comfortable and very clean, although linens & decor a little tired for the money and 5 star rating. Not sure what we did for Derek to be so utterly unwelcoming from the moment he set eyes on us, although Bridget was charming and very helpful with local knowledge etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view.....and hope Derek likes you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meddw, Owner at Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear reader, this is curious review which we feel we have to answer. Let us start with the linen; this was replaced only a few months ago so we're not too sure what the problem was...if any.
By September, and being a very busy B&B, the decor does get a little marked in places, however that is taken care of over the winter redecorating programme.
From time to time we have guests to stay who don't seem to wish to chat or be conversational and sometimes to the point of appearing unfriendly.
When this is the case we don't wish to 'pester' or be overbearing, so we just try and keep it on a polite basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our 2nd visit (first was 8 years ago) to the Maelgwyn and we were not disappointed. Bridget & Derek were very welcoming. The view from our bedroom was glorious. The full Welsh breakfast is a must & sets you up for the rest of the day! We will definitely be returning- hopefully in less than 8 years time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
3.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.6 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frondirion
Frondirion
#1 of 2 in Llanfair
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dol Aur Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ffordd Isaf, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2PR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast Harlech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing