We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect consistantly high standards of food at Castle Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harlech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #5 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expect consistantly high standards of food at Castle Cottage”
Reviewed September 21, 2006

We have just spent our 2nd Wedding Anniversary at Castle Cottage with 10 of our Wedding guests. I suspect that they did not come to see us...but joined us because they wanted to sample the delights that this wonderful restuarant with rooms provides.

We return again and again because we are never disappointed. All rooms are cleaned to a high standard (and I am fussy), the new bar area/lounge is very "London chic" but has the added attraction of a warm professional welcome and the food that is served is of a consistant high to excellent standard (again count that as very fussy customer being impressed). My husband and I have eaten in many places eg: Langhams, The Wolsey, The River Cafe but our favourite for the last 3 years has got to be this excellent restaurant.

This gem is a mixture of modern meets old rustic charm, which enables it to provide character coupled with a sharp chic edge. Comfortable leather sofa's sit comfortably with beautifully made delicate wood drinks tables, whilst the old beams that adorn the ceiling are a reminder of the history of this wonderful building. My favourites, the warm goats cheese with pear and walnut salad to start, the duck as a main is excellent in whatever form (served pink) and the banana and walnut sponge is as light as you will find and is just a dream. Enjoy.

  • Liked — Cleaned to a high standard
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Pick something from the menu that you would not normally choose as you won't get it served better anywhere else!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank YellowCollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
We love returning customers, especially those that rate us with establishments in London. We strived to create a modern feel in an old historic building and its good to know so many people enjoy our relaxed atmosphere, food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    19
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
102
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

This August we treated ourselves to a long weekend in the beautiful village of Harlech. We have friends who live locally and they recommend Castle Cottage Restaurant for a great meal out. Having looked at their comprehensive website and sample menus my husband and I decided we'd stay at their B& B and get even better value with their dinner, bed and breakfast package.
Beautiful room and bathroom. Big bowl of fresh fruit was a nice surprise too. Fantastic food. We had to ask for them to leave us for an extra 10 minutes so we'd be able to manage our desserts!
By the time we had to leave, I was already planning a return visit in October!

Helpful?
4 Thank ERussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Sometimes the best recommendation are from friends and that how a lot of our new customers find us, so please spread the word if you like us!! Glad the Russells enjoyed their stay so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancs
Level Contributor
168 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

This is one of the nicest places you could find in Wales. The rooms are superb, bathrooms to die for. The quality oozes out of every room. Best of all is the food. I wish I could describe each dish we tried, not enough room to type the selection. Absolutely gorgeous cooking to savour. Next was the wine selection, not your usual bland list, again, quality to choose from. Glyn and Jackie are the perfect hosts without being too intrusive, they have worked hard to attain this standard and it clearly shows. This is one place I would gladly return to again and again, any excuse to taste the culinary delights that they serve. First class in every way.

  • Liked — Everything, but the bathroom was impressive
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Don,t arrive late, parking is aweful in Harlech
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
Thank you for your lovely report, its gratifying to know we have 'got it right' with our rooms, food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
3.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crown Lodge
Crown Lodge
#6 of 14 in Harlech
19 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dol Aur Bed And Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Byrdir House
Byrdir House
#8 of 14 in Harlech
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms

Property: Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Address: Cottage Restaurant with Rooms Y Llech, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room 7 'Harlech' large executive room can be used as a family room - leather sofa-bed. En-suite has large bathtub and a separate large deluge shower. Free WiFi broadband throughout the building. We have won the True Taste award for eating out in Wales 2008/09 - Mid wales and overall winners. Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere using local and Welsh produce. Visit Wales Gold Award 20/12/13/14 National Restaurant Awards Top 100 in UK 2011.We now no longer allow children under the age of 12 years old in the restaurant, we can do a child's dinner in the lounge at 5.30/6Pm for residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Cottage Restaurant With Rooms Harlech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing