We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless service from a real welsh gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #6 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a golfing trip in North Wales which included a night stopover in Harlech. Stayed in a fantastic hotel and restaurant only five minutes from Royal St Davids GC. Magnificent room particularly liked the underfloor heating in the en suite shower room. Dinner was as good as any meal I have had, try the scallops if they are on. Owners very welcoming. The whole experience was surpassed the following morning at breakfast with a fillet of smoked haddock.
Would highly recommend the restaurant and hotel if you are looking for that personal touch.

Room Tip: Room six in the annex gets my vote
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hi David S
Thank you for your cracking review. Really glad you enjoyed our rooms, food and relaxed service. It was a pleasure to serve customers that appreciate all the hard work that goes into running a restaurant with rooms. looking forward to seeing you again on your next golf trip to Harlech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our second visit to Castle Cottage and it was again a great success (even in the pouring rain). We were shown to our room by Glyn who pointed out the heating system and showed us how to turn it up if we would like the room warmer. I would much prefer this to entering an air-less, and too hot room. The room (number 3) was spacious and extremely comfortable, well worth climbing the two flights of stairs. (Our previous visit was in a room in the adjoining annex which was also lovely.) Jacqueline runs the front of house with just the right balance of friendliness and efficiency. Nothing was too much trouble for them - from offering to make adjustments to the menu for a fussy eater and remaining good natured after I accidentally set off the fire alarm (it was only the steam from the kettle boiling too close to the detector!). Dinners and breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. I had delicious cod with a Japanese twist on the first night and rib-eye steak on the second night. Portions are generous and I couldn't finish my main course either night (although my husband happily helped me out), but I still couldn't resist having a pudding both nights. On the second night in addition to the puddings on the menu, a rice pudding was offered which had just been made and was fantastic. I didn't know rice pudding could be so good! After dinner the bar area had a relaxed atmosphere with a mix of locals and residents. Breakfast is a real treat as well. I was particularly impressed by a bowl of fresh figs on the buffet table. I ordered the porridge both days as it brought back wonderful memories of the porridge my grandmother used to make me as a child.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eljin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hi Ellieig,
Thank for such a lovely review! It is great to read your thoughts on our business and we are very happy that you so enjoyed your second visit to Harlech. Sorry about the large portions (a few walks up and down our hills should sort that out next time!), but glad you could manage the rice pudd! (my wife’s favourite). Looking forward to serving you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We decided to stay at The Castle Cottage for my wife’s birthday as we had stayed there before and had a fantastic time. Often when we revisit a hotel or restaurant we are disappointed, maybe because of high expectations but second time round it was even better than the first.
The Castle Cottage is much more than a hotel with an exceptional restaurant – it’s an experience. It’s a coming together of immaculate accommodation, stunning food and a welcome and standard of service that puts you immediately at your ease and allows you to relax totally. The evening meal could not be bettered and starts in the bar with a relaxing aperitif while you try to decide which of the tempting dishes to have. Enjoy the delicious Canapés while you take in the stunning scenery from the bar. The wine is very reasonably priced and offers something for everyone. The restaurant is spacious and allows you to have a romantic meal while one stunning dish after another arrives from Glyn’s Kitchen and you can take your time to savour the food without feeling rushed – perfect.
The rooms are pristine and when you wake up after a fantastic night’s sleeps you couldn’t have a better start to the day than the enormous breakfast waiting for you. It just doesn’t get better than Castle Cottage and we’re very lucky to have such a fantastic place in the area. This is the hotel and restaurant by which all others will be judged. Try it, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hi The cumbertons
WOW what a fantastic review ( one of our best to date"!)
What can i say except a big thank you for your glowing review - its really good to get feedback and recognition for all our hard work . We are very pleased that you came back for your birthday and that you had a fantastic time- hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our 6th stay at Castle Cottage and seriously what's not to like!

We always arrive to a very warm welcome and instantly relax as we literally "move in" to our Room (the last 4 visits have been in Room 3 The Caernarfon) we pop the kettle on and unpack our "all weather" wardrobe, Room 3 is our little penthouse with it's separate lounge and beautiful views of the sea and mountains. We do also like Room 7, The Harlech, all in one open space it is so lovely to chill out on the sofa with a glass of Bubbles!

After our brisk walk to the breathtaking beach we head "home" and take a long relaxing dip in the luxurious corner bath before sprucing ourselves up ready for our Kir Royals and yummy canapes which we can never get enough of (usually fighting for the last one).
And then we are invited into the warm and homely (well our home anyway) dining room, Jacqueline doesn't have to ask us twice as the warm homemade bread is so tempting and the amuse bouche a lovely extra touch. Dinner is always full of tough decisions for us, as we like the sound of it all, but as we stay at least 3 nights we can effectively try 6 of each course, well that's if I'm in a sharing mood :)

We have not ever been disappointed and even managed to make it to desserts this year. Peppermint tea and a brisk walk around the village is our way of rounding off our perfect evenings.

Breakfast is another triumph and Glyn's scrambled eggs are the best I have ever tasted, we very rarely need to have lunch as we are so content and keen to have an appetite for that nights feast.

We really love it here and as 5 of the 6 stays have been our Anniversary and therefore without the children it is such a special romantic stay for us and we feel Jacqueline and Megan always appreciate our privacy and are the perfect hostesses.
Equally when we did stay with the girls Glyn's offer of preparing their early tea in the bar was inspired and they loved it and were treated like princesses.

Until next time (can't wait)....

Room Tip: We have stayed in The Rhuddlan (Room 2) once, Harlech (Room 7) once and the Caernaron (Room 3) four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamThomas_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi TeamThomas_2000
Wow!! What a fantastic review!
Thank you for your endorsement of castle cottage and its fantastic to see you both year on year for your anniversary. We really love your comments re our rooms and food and we are touched that you consider our home as yours. Looking forward to seeing you same time next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Castle Cottage exceeded my expectations, despite having already seen many good reviews here before visiting. Indeed, I only noticed one poor review, where someone suggested it is expensive, so I felt compelled to provide an alternative view. Yes, it costs rather more than standard B&B, but then it provides so much more. I reckon the same quality in any UK city would cost at least twice as much. We had room 3, which has a separate sitting room area, with large, modern tv and leather furniture and a bathroom bigger than most bedrooms, with really top quality fittings, especially the shower (usually such a let-down, but not this time... double-size, with huge shower-head and good water pressure) - and all spotlessly new looking.

The food was also wonderful. It was great, having stayed there the night before our Snowdon climb, to know that we had a lovely dinner awaiting us after the climb.

This is a special place to stay - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 was excellent - split into two halves, whereas our friends in room 7 had a very large room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hi Jacky P
Wow what an excellent review! Its really great to hear that you think we are good value for what we provide, the bedroom refurbishment cost us a lot of money 8 years ago - glad you thought it all looked brand new. We put a lot of thought into the room designs, so we are very happy that you appreciate our hard work. Glad the food was up to standard and was a good reward for climbing Snowdon. Hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow, this is not just a room. It was luxury all the way. The finish is very high and with wonderful quality furniture, a comfy huge bed, crisp linen, fluffy towels and immaculate all through. You are provided with a basket of toiletries should you have forgotten anything.
It is so up to date you even have an apple(iPod) docker alarm to use, and wifi provided in the bar area. The TV is a flat screen too. Important for the sport.
The hosts are absolutely fab and make you feel very welcome and relaxed, Glynn makes the perfect Gin & Tonic,
A must to visit!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208ClaireP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi Claire P
Thank you for your lovely review of castle cottage, we are very happy that you enjoyed the luxury of our rooms and appreciate the facilities that we offer. Looking forward to mixing you a G&T again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A visit to this unique little restaurant with rooms is always spot on, the food is always very tasty and you reconise exactly what you are eating. The rooms are always fresh and clean and service is always friendly. Good choice of wines at resonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoppingforshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi shoppingforshoes
Thank you for your lovely review of Castle Cottage, we are really happy that you enjoyed our food & wines. We put a lot of hard work into what we do so its good to read your comments. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
22.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
20.6 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
18.6 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Cottage Restaurant with Rooms Y Llech, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range: $171 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room 7 'Harlech' large executive room can be used as a family room - leather sofa-bed. En-suite has large bathtub and a separate large deluge shower. Free WiFi broadband throughout the building. We have won the True Taste award for eating out in Wales 2008/09 - Mid wales and overall winners. Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere using local and Welsh produce. Visit Wales Gold Award 20/12/13/14 National Restaurant Awards Top 100 in UK 2011.We now no longer allow children under the age of 12 years old in the restaurant, we can do a child's dinner in the lounge at 5.30/6Pm for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Cottage Restaurant With Rooms Harlech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing