We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Curry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harlech Tandoori

Harlech Tandoori
Ranked #11 of 21 Restaurants in Harlech
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Curry!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

After 5pm in March, Harlech appears to close down, thus limiting the choice of places to eat. We found this Tandoori restaurant near to Harlech Castle and strolled in at 7pm expecting to find a table. However, although it doesn't have a huge number of tables, the place was packed. We were asked to wait around for 15 minutes so we went over the road to the Lion pub. After 20 minutes, we returned to find a table laid for us. Service was excellent and not overbearing. We ordered some poppadums & chutney, pakora and onion bargee starter followed by sagwalla & rice plus Madras and Naan. All of the dishes were excellent and were washed down with draught Cobra. I would recommend this restaurant if you are a curry lover.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drjataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    51
    17
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like curries”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Excellent meal. Have been there twice on different visits to Harlech. Very attentive waiter and generous portions, especially of rice. Well cooked flavoursome curries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews which were mixed however I think some visitors must have gone to a different eating house
Great friendly service great food and they provided me with off the menu naga pickle... Thank you
Authentic freshly prepared tasty food washed down with a cobra
Good value for money well done

Helpful?
Thank Woodall42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews, this place is best curry house for miles”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Unfortunately Barmouth (where we stayed) lacks a decent curry house, but this place knows how to make curries of old. No grease, slop and lots of flavour.

Best to go when it's quiet...but service is still top-notch even when busy.

Chicken Dhansak is very nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baddy2shoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“chicken tikka masala”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

this food is brill,amazing and very tasty.even when u get in to the pritty looking resturant,u can see how nice the people are.one of thd people in the place give me a indian cd that i still have on this day....trust me its worth it!!but just reamember take the chocken tikka massala....tasty stuff.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Harlech Tandoori also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Harlech Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing