We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best B and B in Harlech!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen Y Garth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harlech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Y Garth
Ranked #3 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B and B in Harlech!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Pen y Garth twice now and is fantastic. Great views, clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms, fab breakfasts and friendly owners. Also really great value formoney. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loolibuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
51
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pen y Garth I found was a very comfortable, homely and cosy B&B to stay, with high standards of cleanliness throughout.
If your travelling by train it is a short walk to the B&B and has Fabulous views of Harlech Castle from the window. Cheryl and Peter are surberb hosts, and the breakfast was lovely, with freshly baked bread every morning and presented beautifully as was my room! They also have a lot of information for walks and local areas to visit.
I highly recommend Pen y Garth as a lovely retreat within Harlech. I throughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saxonshazz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed overnight in the Harlech room. This is on the top floor - with sloping ceilings - which might be a problem if you're very tall. We had a seperate sitting area - which was great - and a lovely view of the castle & coastline.Excellent facitilies & nicely decorated.
Breakfast was superb & hosts were really friendly & helpful
Wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Pen y Garth is a very comfortable and homely B and B a short walk up the hill from the town and with lovely views of the castle and across to the sea from the bedroom windows. It is very well run by Peter and Cheryl whose hospitality and attention to detail is amazing. They seem to have thought of everything to make you feel at home.

We loved the extra touches like the electric blanket, the dressing gown and slippers, fresh milk and access to a fridge and a delicious home baked treat every afternoon. Breakfast was really something to look forward to as well, freshly made to your order given the night before and accompanied by lovely freshly baked bread. We would also recommend the very substantial and delicious packed lunches!

Both Peter and Cheryl are very welcoming and put a lot into looking after their guests and we would certainly choose to stay there again if we went back to Harlech.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

A perfect place to stay. Everything good, without a lot of fussing. Many thanks to Peter and Cheryl ! So book now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here one night with my two daughters. I had my own room and they shared. We all agreed it was a very pleasant stay. Lovely premises in a good location. It has a homely feel and is nicely decorated and well equipped. The shower in my room was absolutely superb and my daughters said theirs was too. Without any prompting my eldest daughter (22yrs) said the bed was one of the most comfortable she had ever slept on and I had to agree mine was also. Breakfast is by order the night before (to ensure freshly cooked), however, we forgot to place our orders but this caused no problems whatsoever. A very good experience and I/we will definately stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

With magnificent views over the Castle to Snowdonia and out to sea over Cardigan Bay and the Lleyn peninsula, Pen Y Garth has got location on its side, raised above the small town centre, just 5 minutes away. It is easily accessed and has its own parking.
Warm and welcoming B and B with good sized rooms, comfortable beds, magnificent power showers and instant hot water. Breakfast and packed lunches are ordered the night before with you nominating your breakfast time slot. Beautifully freshly cooked, home made bread, etc. with an emphasis on local (Welsh) ingredients, FairTrade, followed through to the great packed lunches and filled flasks.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: CastleView and SeaView recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
0.2 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Frondirion
Frondirion
#1 of 2 in Llanfair
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Garth

Property: Pen Y Garth
Address: Pen y Garth Old Llanfair Road, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2SW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen Y Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Pen Y Garth B&B is a classic Victorian town house with views of Harlech Castle,the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia. Just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. Wherever possible we use fairtrade products for our home cooked breakfasts. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. No very young children and pets by arrangement only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen Y Garth Harlech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing