We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent comfortable FairTrade B and B”
Review of Pen Y Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Y Garth
Ranked #2 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

With magnificent views over the Castle to Snowdonia and out to sea over Cardigan Bay and the Lleyn peninsula, Pen Y Garth has got location on its side, raised above the small town centre, just 5 minutes away. It is easily accessed and has its own parking.
Warm and welcoming B and B with good sized rooms, comfortable beds, magnificent power showers and instant hot water. Breakfast and packed lunches are ordered the night before with you nominating your breakfast time slot. Beautifully freshly cooked, home made bread, etc. with an emphasis on local (Welsh) ingredients, FairTrade, followed through to the great packed lunches and filled flasks.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: CastleView and SeaView recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Pen Y Garth for the first night of our honeymoon, we had mentioned that was why we were visiting when we booked but didn't expect any special treatment as a result. We were wrong! After a warm welcome by Peter we were shown to our spacious, sunny room (with amazing views across the castle, the bay and Snowdonia). We found 2 beautiful fresh heart shaped victoria sponge cakes decorated with rose petals, just gorgeous. In addition we had a present of a Welsh love spoon, we felt very spoilt and over whelmed that they had made such an effort.
The B&B is lovely, stunning building with beautiful views set in a lovely garden. The enormous sandy beach is a 20 odd minute walk down the hill & through amazing dunes. The house is at the top of the hill but we enjoyed the walk to work off the huge meal we had eaten! (and it means the view is spectacular). The bed was extremely comfortable, & the room/bathroom very clean, we also loved that there was freah milk available with the tea & coffee tray. The shower in the ensuite was really good.
Breakfast was great, good quality sausages etc and home made bread available. Fresh coffee is a good addition. Pack lunches are available.

Overall they could not have been more accomodating and charming and it is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Castle room that we stayed in had an amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here on the first night of our North to South Wales cycle challenge and got a warm welcome from Peter who quickly locked our bikes away and showed us around.

I was in the top floor room with a great view of the sea and Harlech castle. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, with a basic choice of TV channels. This an ideal family room with an adjacent single bedroom and sitting area. Lots of personal touches that you don't get in most B&Bs (such as a Welsh cake and homemade bread). Breakfast was really good and I would recommend this B&B to all wanting to stay in Harlech. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Banksy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

From the welcome, to the fresh welsh cakes and delicious hearty breakfast, this b and b is fantastic. Comfy bed with lovely views and great recommendations for restaurants in town. Whole family had a lovely stay. Would recommend you stay here for a good value relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rikitiki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

So much thought has gone into this delightful Bed & Breakfast. All the small details have been taken care of, from fluffy robes to a hot water bottle. There is even a resident rubber duck. The renovated Victorian house was roomy and spotless.

We had the Castle Room, which had a very comfortable bed, with electric blanket and a really great en-suite shower. The view was fantastic, looking out on the castle and the bay beyond, with glimpses of Snowdon if the weather cooperated. Wi-fi is available, but a bit spotty. Peter is looking into improving that.

Peter, our host, was charming and couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was very good, and we could have had a packed lunch as well. All in all, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegDen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

After a very warm welcome we were shown to a lovely large bright bedroom at the front of the house with a fantastic view of Snowdon. The bathroom was very modern and clean with a fab shower. The quality of the breakfast was one of the best that we have ever had in a B&B - excellent!

The B&B is up on a hill (hence the great view) but you have to negotiate hills pretty much anywhere in Harlech unless you are on the beach!!

Would definately recommend this B&B

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank DottyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a little gem - another 4 star B & B with extras. Huge spacious room, with gowns and slippers, electric blankets, and every afternoon a plate of home-baked cake or biscuits placed in the room. We ate Welsh shortbread, Welsh tea-cakes....a lovely touch, as each day they were labled. The breakfast was ordered the night before, and as you walked into the breakfast room, your food was brought to you - piping hot and freshly made,. A fridge was also at our disposal. Wish we could have stayed longer. And for the price.....unbelievable. The hosts, Peter and Cheryl, were hospitable and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. Loved our stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
6.8 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Garth

Address: Pen y Garth Old Llanfair Road, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range: $86 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen Y Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Pen Y Garth B&B is a classic Victorian town house with views of Harlech Castle,the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia. Just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. Wherever possible we use fairtrade products for our home cooked breakfasts. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. No very young children and pets by arrangement only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pen Y Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Y Garth Harlech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing