We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Duper Tommy Cooper!”

Castle Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We have steadily built up a reputation for good food, both locally and with visitors to the area. We source and use as much local / Welsh produce as possible and strive to create a dining experience that combines top quality local food and service with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We offer a 2 course or 3 course option as well as a 5 course tasting menu. We are the Mid Wales and overall winner for Wales of The True Taste Eating out Award for 2008/09.Visit Wales Gold Award 2011/12/13/14/15/16. National Restaurant Awards 2011 Top 100. Good Hotel Guide editor's choice award 2016. For 25 years we have had a continuous entry in the Good Food Guide. Cheshire Life Highly Commended Award 2016
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Once again Glyn, Jackie and the team delivered two amazing evenings of fabulous food and service.
We were spoilt with local lobster, line caught sea bass and the most fabulous summer pudding, to name just a few.
You work hard at the details and my goodness it shows. It has been lovely to pick up again from where we left off 3 years ago and still find you cooking up the best food in Wales! See you again soon Claire & Mike

Thank 208ClaireP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Hi Claire P
Thank you for a wonderful review of our food and service at Castle Cottage. We are spoilt with quality local produce at this time of year and we are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and wines. It was good to see you both again and thank you again for your comments re all the hard work - how do we do it? Just Like That!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Another lovely meal,thank you Glyn and Jacqueline.we are really lucky to have such a fabulous restaurant over the road.Mind you ,as we are slightly up the hill our stunning views are even better.just wish I could cook as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jackyandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Hi Jackieandbill
Thank you for your lovely review of Castle Cottage, It was a pleasure to serve you and your lovely friends again, and we are both over the moon that you enjoyed your evening with us. Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

A refreshing change to find a chef in this area who not only can devise an excellent menu but can cook it too. The ambiance is delightful, the small touches such as the canapes and the amuse bouche are surprise extras. The Merlot by the glass excellent and everything served by the chef's competent wife. I left feeling replete and very spoiled.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mr E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Hi Mr E P
Thank you for a refreshing review of Castle Cottage, we appreciate your comments re our food, service and wines, its good to serve customers who understand all the hard work that goes into preparing food to order. It was a pleasure to spoil you, hope to see you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been about once a year over the last decade and most recently in July this year. The food rarely disappoints and the quality this year was no exception. The welcome and service is unobtrusive which could be taken for apathetic but is a nice change from the over the top attention that you often find elsewhere. Be prepared to pay higher prices - £39 per head this year for a 3 course meal. It would be good to have a 2 course price option, especially as the generous portions mean that some can be struggling to cope with the dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Hi Mark P
Thank you for your review and your custom for the last 10 years. We are also glad you enjoy the relaxed and 'not in your face' service. Also very happy to hear you love the food!
The price for 2012 is actually £39.50 a head ( 2011 was £38.00) Inflation last year was running at nearly 5% then the taxman raised VAT by another 2 & a half % up to 20% - so we should have been charging £40.85 (In most European countries VAT on restaurant food is only between 5-8% - putting the uk at a distinct disadvantage!!!!)
We only buy top quality, local or welsh produce where possible and we support local suppliers as much as possible and this is reflected in our prices for which I make no excuse.

We have to turn a profit otherwise there is no point doing it. We have been in business as castle cottage for 24 years (the longest running catering business under the same ownership in the Harlech area by a long, long chalk – many restaurants have come and gone)

For the £39.50 per head you get canapés in the bar, chefs appetiser at the table along with unsalted organic welsh butter, our own baked bread, choice of about 7 starters, 7 main courses along with extra veg if you want it ( not really needed as all main courses come complete, choice of 7 puddings or cheese. The table is yours for the night, no rushing you off. Some restaurants in the city would charge you that just for a main course – veg extra. We are not a restaurant where you come to have a nibble or just 1 course – you come to Castle cottage for the night to have a proper dinner!! – hopefully!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this restaurant on the basis of a review in 'Great Little Places' and an impressive website. Upon arrival, we were met by the owners, Jacqueline, who served us, and Glyn,the chef, who was lovely and smiley. Jacqueline seemed a little less enthusiastic, as if she didn't really want to be serving us; it is possible that she was just tired as she was running front of house alone.She was not rude or unhelpful but gave off a vibe of apathy towards the customers.
The food generally tasted good, but there was a lot of it. I like healthy portions, but this was too much for me (and my partner), especially considering the canapés and amuse-bouche before the rest of the meal. You can tell that the food has been prepared with care and attention; some of the dishes were excellent and some so so. For example one of the canapés (indian style) was one of the tastiest bites I've had, (and I am not a fan of indian) whilst others, were just disappointing (fish goujons were too oily and the quail dish was a bit tasteless).
The setting is beautiful, just in front of Harlech Castle and I enjoyed the carefully drafted wine menu.
In summary, I would say this place was good, not excellent and I expected excellent, hence the title 'Disappointed'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank JEyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi JeyC
We are sorry to read you were disappointed with Castle Cottage, Jacqueline was working on her own that night as initially the bookings were slow, then we had a few chance turn up so she was probably concentrating hard. We dont do 'small London style' portions here in north Wales and I make no excuse for that - if a customer has a smaller then normal appetite, all they have to do is say so and we can adjust according to them.

As for the food - you cant please all the people all the time! - we are glad you enjoyed the majority of the dishes. The goujons are deep fried (as described on the menu) so they will be a little oily, that's why we serve lemon and a lime tartare sauce with them. Quail is not overly gamey and they are quite light in taste (that's the nature of the beast!)
Its a shame you said nothing at the time, we could have discussed your views and maybe done something about it, instead of becoming an anonymous on-line critic. Makes me feel a bit disappointed with you too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing