We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable homely cottage in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Just 2 miles to Harlech
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Just 2 miles to Harlech
Cocktails anyone! Wake up to this view everyday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Just 2 miles to Harlech
Cocktails anyone!
Wake up to this view everyday
No shortage of sand dunes here!
Lambs from snug and private balcony
Stroll to Estuary overlooking Snowdon
Barmouth bridge at sunset
Explore Shell Island
Enjoy the log burner after a stroll to Estuary
Large double shower
Spacious king size bedroom with amazing views
Gorgeous 1850's Welsh stone cottage
Explore Harlech Castle and village
Crystal clear waters and amazing sandy beaches
Large private balcony from the snug
Peacocks from private balcony
Short drive to Borth y  Gest
Portmeirion is just other side of the estuary
Snowdon summit at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue_0808
telscombe cliffs
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Previous reviews made us think this would be the perfect get away but unfortunately we didn't get the same feeling as others. It is in a fairly central location for the things we wanted to do, the photos look good, but after booking for 5 nights, we left after 2. The log burner looks great and after a long journey through awful weather conditions we were really looking for ward to settling in for a warm evening. The details do not tell you that there is only one log brick available , upon requesting more, we were told we would need to go out and source our own. Electric heaters are available but take time to heat the rooms. We found the kitchen very well equipped but so cold that we couldn't stand being in there,the same with the bathroom, a heated light fitting which took ages to create warmth. No where to sit to eat meals so it was a case of balancing plates on our laps. Our bed was uncomfortable and made sleeping difficult. We've made numerous trips to holiday cottages in Wales over the years and thankfully have always been happy with accommodation. However, this time round it's been very disappointing and more costly as we had to book elsewhere for the remaining days of our holiday. Unfortunatley a disappointing break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Extremely disappointed with your review and the fact you have completely misquoted what I said when you asked for additional firewood, which we both have in writing! We leave a supply of kindling, logs and fire lighters for each guest, most of which was still next to the fire unused following your early departure due to the cold spell, of which I’m afraid I cannot control. We have heating in every room of our cottage, which we find is not even required when our log burner is used correctly. Heater in the bathroom literally takes seconds to heat whole room and heater in kitchen had not even been taken out of cupboard.
Most of our previous guests have commented on how comfortable our bed is, which we agree with so that is just your personal taste. We are quite sure that had you not been unfortunate with the weather here you would not have written such a bad review, had you have completed your stay you would have enjoyed the lovely warm spring weather, that all the other holiday makers did.
Not all holiday let properties leave any firewood, however we will continue to leave a supply for our guests as part of our welcome pack. We pride ourselves on our Cottage and the service we provide, shame you didn’t mention how much you liked the Cottage and how clean it was, as per your email when asking where further supplies of logs were available.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable homely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Easy access to various walks, castles and other attractions. Cottage is very comfortable, well equipped and clean with nice views of hills.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2018
Thank you for a great review. You are welcome to stay again anytime. Thanks also for leaving our cottage clean and tidy, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manddjone...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How good was Palm Cottage”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We have just stayed at Palm Cottage near Harlech.
What a lovely homely place.
Often rentals are clinical with no atmosphere.
This place is lovely with every possible thing you could need.well equipped kitchen,log burner great tv/dvd/ andgreat comfortable bed and more importantly peaceful.
Parking is ok and access to Harlech is easy
We would recommend this place for people who want peace and quiet.
We will certainly visit again and for a longer break.

.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review of our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Palms Cottage.
Kind regards,
Elen
Palms Cottage....Couples Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantas N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Palms cottage”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Had a great time we spend two days and we are happy . We found everything what we need good location and amazing view through the windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Palms Cottage again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham291
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Palms Cottage”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Had a great stay in this well equiped cottage which is ideally situated for both beach and walking holidays, we found clean, confortable and well decorated. It has views of the welsh mountains to the front and a rear balcony which is a sun trap to the rear. The cottage is within easy reach of both Harlech including the castle and Porthmadog and the railway which runs from Barnmouth to Pwllheli with stations at Tygwyn, Harlech and Porthmadog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for a great review! You are both welcome back anytime. Thanks for leaving our cottage clean and tidy too.
Kind regards,
Elen
Palms Cottage......Couples Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryBarm...
Barmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in a great loacation”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted with our stay at Palms Cottage. It is in a great location for plenty of walks, amazing beaches, towns, harbours, castles and other tourist attractions.
The cottage is spacious, and we loved the snug, which opened out onto the balcony, a real sun trap!
It was spotless clean, great views from every window and the king size bed that was not only the most comfy we have ever slept in but also had an amazing view too.
Cottage was very well equipped and owners were extremely efficient.
We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough and will definitely be back again later in the year. Weather was great too and Harlech beach is one of the best we have seen in the World!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thanks for a great review. You are both welcome back, especially as you left our cottage very clean and tidy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartslf20...
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Comfortable”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Had a last minute short break at this delightful cottage, owners were very accommodating and efficient. Cottage is amazingly spacious and characterful, lovely views front and back and loads to see and do right on the doorstep. Slept so well while we were here, wanted to take the bed with us! Highly recommended, we will be booking again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thanks for a great review. We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay here at Palms Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing