We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, friendly and relaxin'”
Review of Byrdir House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Byrdir House
Ranked #8 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, friendly and relaxin'”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We arrived a bit late in the evening to a warm anf friendly welcome. We were shown the room without asking, no need to pay at that point and was allowed to settle in.

The drinks brought at the bar were added to our bill so no need to pay at that point, just chill and relax.

The night sleep was undisturbed and we slept well. The breakfast was superb, my partner said he had never seen such a well laid out breakfast.

Overall, we will return again soon.

Keep up the great work Andy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dora02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byrdir, Owner at Byrdir House, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you for your review, Im pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We arrived in Harleck with no reservation. We were wellcomed right away. Room was very clean and spacious, and a view on the sun setting and sea view (front facing). Off street parking, walking distance to the castle, greenspace and restraunts.

the owner Andrew obviously enjoys what he does, he prepares a wonderful and elegant breakfast, that was the best we had on our trip. Breakfast was serviced with fruit, cereal, juice, yogurt, and the full english with fresh herbs.

Also has common area with bar.

Woulnd recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone in Harlech and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byrdir, Owner at Byrdir House, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
Thank you for your review of Byrdir House and your very kind comments regarding breakfast. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

this is the third time we've stayed at Byrdir House, and we'll definitely come again. It is the perfect combination of a friendly, happy host, excellent, quality breakfast, comfortable bed with good linen and pillows, ample space in the rooms, a clean bathroom and a brilliant location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AotearoaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byrdir, Owner at Byrdir House, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
Thank you for your review of Byrdir House. It is always a pleasure to receive guest such as your good selves. I look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We arrived mid afternoon after phoning the day before. As soon as we walked in we could tell this was going to be a nice place. Everywhere was so warm and inviting and most importantly clean.
Andy our host welcomed us warmly and showed us to a very nice well-decorated room on the first floor. Lots of space and a proper En-suite, not a cupboard with a loo.

Andy explained where to eat and what was going on in Harlech and the surrounding places. We came back after dinner and had a drink in the little bar, very cosy, then off to bed for a good nights sleep. It was so quiet during the night.

Then in the morning Breakfast, firstly the tables looked good, proper linen, none of those little packets of sugar. There was water, fresh rolls and lots of choice. The cooked breakfast was a joy. Hot food, hot plates, excellently presented and it tasted superb.

To be honest we can’t fault the place.

Considering what you get for your money, amazing value to

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank PetejaAldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Simple but comfortable and the breakfast is definitely a notch above the average. The friendly welcome makes this B&B a very good choice.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mowerbyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We arrived in Harlech by chance , and therefore had not pre-booked. However our host welcomed us warmly and showed us to a lovely room with a sea view.
He advised us on local restaurants,.....the Castle Cottage is amazing by the way.
The next morning he cooked us a superb breakfast, all you could want!
Definitely a place to revisit.

  • Liked — The breakfast..we love good food
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CheshireBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
0.2 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
124 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,444 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
6.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byrdir House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byrdir House

Property: Byrdir House
Address: Byrdir High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Byrdir House in the heart of old Harlech. Ideally situated for Harlech Castle, Royal St David's Golf Club and all that North Wales has to offer. Five comfortable rooms with en-suite shower rooms. We have a licensed bar specialising in lesser-known craft beers and ciders, mainly from the local area. Car parking is available. Byrdir is under new ownership and has just completed a comprehensive renovation. We are now open to guests for bed & breakfast bookings. Please enquire for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Byrdir House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byrdir House Harlech, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing