We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning house that feels like a home.”
Review of Morwendon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morwendon House
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Family from Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning house that feels like a home.”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Beautiful, elegant and luxurious. The views are spectacular and we felt in awe of the land and great sea before us.

Food was delicious and wholesome. Dining room and service comparable to excellent restaurant as was the food.

Geoff and Teresa friendly but also professional in manner-felt taken care of. Definetly would return and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    38
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
320
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Great location, stopped in room 2, bed was huge, view was stunning and wild. Service was excellent and food was perfect, quality ingredients, cooked the way you like it. The rooms were clean and fresh, decorated with taste. The house is beautiful.
Friendly and helpful owners, excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

After reading the reviews I was very disappointed in this hotel - it is in a great location and the views are stunning unless you are in the family room which is under the house. The family room had a damp feel to it and very small windows with no window in the tiny bathroom which has a shower unit that is not fixed to the wall and has no control for the temperature of the water.

The breakfast menu is not large and some of the items were not available.

We liked the area but will not be returning to this hotel which is overpriced for the standard of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two-Hoots-Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Geoff & Teresa were the perfect hosts and had an expanse knowledge of the area. We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary and combined it with a cycling weekend. We pre-booked for the evening meals and after the first night we couldn't wait for the next two meals. Evening meals were home cooked by Geoff with a flare of a great chef and Teresa cooked breakfasts from local produce. Our room was very comfortable with a great view and the fruit and sherry were very welcoming. We can't wait to go back but it gets booked quickly so don't miss out! (I was hoping to stay for my birthday but I'll have to pre-book early for next year).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This Guest House is situated in a beautiful location minutes from the beach. It is clean and newly decorated. Unfortunately we found the evening meal to be average at best and the owners a little imposing; it felt a bit like you had to fit in with their regime rather than relax at your own leisure. Overall we felt it to be overpriced and would not return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdinand48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We have just returned from a 5 night break at Morwendon Guest house. We selected this guest house on the strength of reviews and to coin an overused phrase we were definitely not disappointed. Our room, room 3, was fresh, clean and elegant with lovely attention to detail. The view from the room is stunning as the sea is so near. With the window open you can be lulled to sleep by the sound of rolling waves. The sunset over the LLyn Penisular is spectacular. Geoff and Teresa genuinely care about making your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. The breakfasts are generous and beautifully cooked. We like our food and found that this was more than enough to see us through to the evening. We opted for half board and were treated to five nights of wonderful fresh, carefully sourced and superbly cooked evening meals. We had the best steak ever on our final evening, absolutely scrumptious. The desserts are smashing with different ones on offer each night.

To balance all this eating we did lots of walking. Its only a two mile walk into Barmouth. then over the bridge to discover the wonders of the estuary walks. (Julia Bradbury has a lot to answer for.) You can leave your car at Morwendon house and jump on the train which runs nearby and go all along the coast which is interesting in itself. There is loads to do.

As you probably gather we had a smashing time, in a lovely guest house with friendly hosts. We highly recommend Morwendon house as a splendid base for a North Wales holiday. Thanks vey much

Chris and Terry Armstrong.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthNorfolklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Morwendon is a lovely house opposite the beach, providing sweeping views of the coastline and pretty sunsets. I had the room with the turret, which housed a comfy couch, complimentary decanter of sherry and bowl of fruit, all of which invited you to sit relax and enjoy the views. Teresa and Geoff obviously have high standards of service, from carrying my bags too and from the car, and quality of food and presentation. An added advantage, particularly for lone travellers, is evening meals are available at Morwendon. When you have a busy day sightseeing it is great to know that there is excellent food for dinner conveniently available where you are staying. Taking the gambling out of where to go eat. There is also a bar available for pre and post dinner drinks, as well as those with dinner. All of this adds up to a very stress free end to any day. You do need to book for dinner, but I hightly recommend it. There really nothing more you could ask for really.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShineyFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Talybont
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon House

Property: Morwendon House
Address: Morwendon House, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales (Formerly Morwendon Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay. Morwendon has stunning sea views and is a great place for a special get away. Barmouth is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy Snowdonia and the many activities this beautiful part of Wales has to offer. Kate and Rob are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Morwendon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing