We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Morwendon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morwendon House
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Small but very clean and well presented. Very friendly staff ie the Hosts Geoff and Teresa Challenor. We couldn't fault the quality of food and service. Nice touches in the bedrooms ie bowl of fruit and my husband loved the fact that loose tea was provided and not the dreaded teabag. There was plenty to do in and around the area. We used our car but public transport was available
We'd certainly go back and have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel.
We picked the Hotel from a list on Booking .com and and had a most enjoyable long weekend

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pacificfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

I went to Barmouth for 1 night in order to attend a wedding. I stayed at Morwendon House and quite simply have to give it top marks. Why? My room wasn't particularly large. The building/decor wasn't particularly flash. But frankly, who cares when Theresa and Geoff (who run the place) absolutely go out of their way for you. Who says you can't get great service in the UK?

- Theresa drove me into town for the wedding.
- I left my camera in my room (argh!). They mailed it back to me in London.
- The breakfast was fantastic.
- The views are beautiful.
- Oh and they recommended a fantastic place for me to stay in Shrewsbury as part of my trip.

I couldn't have been more pleased, and if you're looking for a lovely place to stay on the West coast of Wales, you simply can't go wrong with Morwendon House. :)

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank westbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We have just returned from a two night stay at Morwendon House. From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed and at home. The service was excellent, attentive, but not over done. The views from our room were wonderful, even in the rain!! Breakfasts were lovely. Would not hesitate to recommend and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank holidayaddict68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

we couldn't have been more happy with our stay at morwendon house . the setting is wonderful .. quiet and just outside the hustle and bustle of touristy barmouth , featuring spectacular views and a marvelous beach just across the railroad tracks . there is no noise disturbance from the occasional train or historic steamtrain passing by and the only noise we mostly heard through the open windows is that of the waves. when the window is closed , the double glazing keeps out all sound.
there is ample off-road parking available.
the house itself is meticulously clean with a pleasant lounge and dining room . the room (#2) was large and comfortable and full of nice , personal touches and extra conveniences.
we were more than pleased to find wireless internet available in the room at no extra charge.
breakfast is very good and more than generous .. dinners at morwendon house were some of the best we have enjoyed during our stay in the U.K. there is also a well-stocked bar and drinks are served on request.
nothing is too much for the gracious hosts who go out of their way to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one - our thanks to Teresa and Geoff!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This was my first trip to the Barmouth area, although my partner had been to neighbouring areas. Normally, we stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel rather than a guest house, but late booking offered little choice. So, we approached Morwendon House with some uncertainty.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival, shown into the guest lounge and offered cake and refreshments by by Teresa and enjoyed a friendly chat. Not something I can recall on arriving at a hotel. Morwendon House was empty for 4 years before Geoff and Theresa acquired it in 2006. Although, a great deal of work has clearly been done, Theresa told us they have only completed 25% of the work they intend to do. Our room no. 3 had a delighful bay sitting area overlooking the bay. The toiletries and a refreshment tray one would expect in a UK 4/5 star hotel were on hand. We were pleasantly surprised to find fresh fruit and a decanter of sherry. Our bed was beautifully dressed and comfortable and the room contained homely furniture. However, some of the furniture could be in better condition. The en-suite was clean and adequate, albeit dated. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and well deserve the accreditation Geoff and Theresa have received. They are mindful of their charges and both are striving hard to give guests a comfortable, value stay.
However, the 2.5% credit card surcharge was not appreciated.
Overall, we can endorse the favourable comments of others.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maguire_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Excellent accommodation, food, comfort and hospitality from Teresa and Geoff in peaceful setting of uninterrupted sea views. Those booking Evening Meal will be satisfied with the standard of Geoff's homemade culinary expertise and fresh produce used not to mention Teresa's breakfast portions.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank norrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We have recently returned from a two night stay at Morwendon House and would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

The house itself is in a perfect location - just outside Barmouth in the village of Llanaber. The views over the bay are stunning. We used the coastal train that stops literally outside the house and travelled up the coast (highly recommended).

However, the best part of our stay was definately Morwendon House. The house is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The whole house is spotlessly clean. The owners are the perfect hosts. We ate in one evening and the food was fantastic. They also have a very good wine list.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon House

Address: Morwendon House, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales (Formerly Morwendon Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range: $90 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay. Morwendon has stunning sea views and is a great place for a special get away. Barmouth is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy Snowdonia and the many activities this beautiful part of Wales has to offer. Kate and Rob are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Morwendon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing