We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnificent views”
Review of Morwendon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morwendon House
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Divide, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“magnificent views”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

we couldn't have been more happy with our stay at morwendon house . the setting is wonderful .. quiet and just outside the hustle and bustle of touristy barmouth , featuring spectacular views and a marvelous beach just across the railroad tracks . there is no noise disturbance from the occasional train or historic steamtrain passing by and the only noise we mostly heard through the open windows is that of the waves. when the window is closed , the double glazing keeps out all sound.
there is ample off-road parking available.
the house itself is meticulously clean with a pleasant lounge and dining room . the room (#2) was large and comfortable and full of nice , personal touches and extra conveniences.
we were more than pleased to find wireless internet available in the room at no extra charge.
breakfast is very good and more than generous .. dinners at morwendon house were some of the best we have enjoyed during our stay in the U.K. there is also a well-stocked bar and drinks are served on request.
nothing is too much for the gracious hosts who go out of their way to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one - our thanks to Teresa and Geoff!

  • Liked — the setting and hospitality
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    39
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
324
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This was my first trip to the Barmouth area, although my partner had been to neighbouring areas. Normally, we stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel rather than a guest house, but late booking offered little choice. So, we approached Morwendon House with some uncertainty.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival, shown into the guest lounge and offered cake and refreshments by by Teresa and enjoyed a friendly chat. Not something I can recall on arriving at a hotel. Morwendon House was empty for 4 years before Geoff and Theresa acquired it in 2006. Although, a great deal of work has clearly been done, Theresa told us they have only completed 25% of the work they intend to do. Our room no. 3 had a delighful bay sitting area overlooking the bay. The toiletries and a refreshment tray one would expect in a UK 4/5 star hotel were on hand. We were pleasantly surprised to find fresh fruit and a decanter of sherry. Our bed was beautifully dressed and comfortable and the room contained homely furniture. However, some of the furniture could be in better condition. The en-suite was clean and adequate, albeit dated. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and well deserve the accreditation Geoff and Theresa have received. They are mindful of their charges and both are striving hard to give guests a comfortable, value stay.
However, the 2.5% credit card surcharge was not appreciated.
Overall, we can endorse the favourable comments of others.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The credit card surcharge
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maguire_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Excellent accommodation, food, comfort and hospitality from Teresa and Geoff in peaceful setting of uninterrupted sea views. Those booking Evening Meal will be satisfied with the standard of Geoff's homemade culinary expertise and fresh produce used not to mention Teresa's breakfast portions.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank norrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We have recently returned from a two night stay at Morwendon House and would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

The house itself is in a perfect location - just outside Barmouth in the village of Llanaber. The views over the bay are stunning. We used the coastal train that stops literally outside the house and travelled up the coast (highly recommended).

However, the best part of our stay was definately Morwendon House. The house is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The whole house is spotlessly clean. The owners are the perfect hosts. We ate in one evening and the food was fantastic. They also have a very good wine list.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgiek27
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Lovely place room was beautifully decorated but was very quiet and would recommend the guest house to older guests.

  • Liked — For a guest house was very nice
  • Disliked — a little expensive
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Georgiek27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

we only stayed the one night but in that short time we had a really lovely time. food was so tasty and would definatley say to anyone staying there to eat in! wonderful hosts and very good company. stunning views at morwendon and a very clean and well presented place to stay. would love to go back soon x

  • Liked — beautifuuly decorated
  • Disliked — having to leave! thankyou x
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodneyspillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We booked our room at very short notice and quite late in the evening we wanted to stay. Geoff was very helpful on the phone, providing us with clear directions and distance to travel. On arrival we were met by Teresa and made very welcome despite our very late arrival. After registering Teresa offered us a bite to eat but we wanted to go out for a meal as it was a special occasion for us. Teresa recommended a nice placve to eat in Barmouth and we had a fantastic time there. The next day we woke up to see wonderful views of the sea and most of Cardigan Bay. We had breakfasts fit for Kings and Geoff spent sometime with us talking about the history of "The white wave of the sea". A local fabel about a hunting dog and places of interest in Barmouth and surrounding areas. Even though we were there just over twelve hours, our stay was fantastic. The facilities together with Geoff and Teresa were second to none and we have already decided to re-book for a longer stay, later this year. From John and Vicky in Manchester.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guardsman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
6.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
268 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#9 of 24 in Barmouth
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Talybont
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon House

Property: Morwendon House
Address: Morwendon House, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales (Formerly Morwendon Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay. Morwendon has stunning sea views and is a great place for a special get away. Barmouth is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy Snowdonia and the many activities this beautiful part of Wales has to offer. Kate and Rob are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Morwendon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing