We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay , cant wait to return!!!! Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morwendon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanaber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morwendon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
worsley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay , cant wait to return!!!! Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 3 , we was greeted by Teresa on our arrival and she was just lovely , very warm welcome and good knowledge of the local area, we was taken to our room and felt the room was grand, excellent deco, great fresh clean bed linen, fresh milk, little chocolates and sherry, a great touch to the room, excellent sea views , the bathroom was very small, and only had a shower, and the towels needed to be upgraded as they was a little ripped at the edges, great little toiletries tho, the shower was not very powerful, we went down for breakfast and was greeted by Geoff , he was just so welcoming and offered a good choice for breakfast, the breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was truly excellent !!! and the added bonus of homemade bread fantastic, we didn't have a evening meal, but did have a supper homemade soup and sandwiches on homemade bread, and couldn't fault it ,it was truly 5***** next time will defo have a meal as the food was amazing !!! Teresa & Geoff are great hosts and couldn't do any more for you , we even got some bread to take home ( a very BIG THANK YOU for that ) the only thing I would suggest is maybe a cheaper rate in the winter months, but overall 10 out of 10 we will defiantly be returning and highly recommend , so a massive thank you for our great stay and hope to see you both again soon !!! .x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.

Room Tip: choose a room with the sea view truly worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting the quality of our food. Shame you didn't manage an evening meal though, perhaps next time. We do offer discounts between October and March as long as it is for more than 1 night, the thinking with that is the service and quality of food we offer remains the same throughout the year, the only difference is the seasons and we cannot control the weather! Hope to see you again and thank you once ore for your excellent review. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    33
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
298
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights but were made very welcome by Teresa and Geoff and their local knowledge was exceptional. They were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was any trouble. The room was lovely and had views over the sea. Breakfasts were delicious and a good choice of what to have. Really set you up for the day ahead. Unfortunately did not have the chance to taste their evening meals but the menu looked very enticing. Would recommend staying here and hope to go back again next year, perhaps for longer.

Room Tip: The one we had was underneath the dining room which was very warm and cosy. Perhaps not suit everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting our AA award winning breakfasts. They are something of which we are proud, you must come back soon and sample the evening meals. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

on arrival hotel owner was very friendly . And the house was immaculate . rooms were nicely set out with amazing view of the sea . The breakfast was perfectly cooked and was a good portion that set us up for the day . Would definately stay here again if was going back to same area .

Room Tip: we stayed in the supierior which was beautiful with full coastline veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you Dawn for your review. We are pleased you chose to outline some of the things that we feel are important in a guest house stay, namely cleanliness and good quality food. Rest assured we will continue to strive to maintain these standards. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Do you want what we had for 4 nights in early September 2013:

1. An excellent base for exploring this part of Wales?
2. Preserved steam railways wihin easy reach?
3. Views for miles along the coast?
4. A warm welcome and a very pleasant room?
5. A beautifully cooked and served breakfast?
6. A choice of excellent dishes for dinner? (providing you book early to avoid disappointment)

Then look no further than Morwendon House.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a superior room with the coastal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and may we say what a concise and to the point one it was - no beating around the bush there!. Seriously we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have recently spent four nights at Morwendon House and what a fantastic time we had! The location was gorgeous, right on a beautiful beach, with out-of-this world sunsets. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a view over the coast. Breakfast was second to none and the evening menu was so delicious. We will definately be returning and have told all our friends about this brilliant guest house. Thank you Teresa and Geoff, you made our stay such a pleasure.
John and Sue Birmingham

Room Tip: So sorry, there is no pool, clicked in error, but with that beach who needs one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suezowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you John and Sue for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed with Teresa and Geoff for three nights. This was my first venture out solo, no adult kids or dogs! I had chosen an attic room, which for me was more than adequate, with a lovely view up the coast towards Talybont. I ended up eating a cooked breakfast each morning, all locally sourced and home made bread. I didn't however have an evening meal, which in hindsight I should have, due to indefinite plans, as the smells were mouth watering. Geoff and Teresa were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. I have been to Barmouth and the area for many years, previously in a touring caravan and I shall certainly be returning to Morwendon House, a real home from home. For anyone wanting a base to travel it is ideal. If you like walking, it is about a half hour walk into Barmouth, though be warned there is a hill coming back out of Barmouth, although not steep it is drawn out, as I don't drive, I know it well! If you are lucky you might even see the dolphins out in Cardigan Bay. Teresa and Geoff have been warned, I will be back!! I would definitely recommend Morwendon House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Really pleased we were part of a much needed break and we look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps with your daughter next time. Best wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed with Geoff and Teresa for four nights and wished it could have been longer. Our lovely room looked straight out to sea where we could watch the beautiful sunsets whilst sipping our complimentary sherry, a really nice touch. The room was immaculately presented and clean and the bed was huge and very comfy. Breakfast had plenty of variety and was generous and well cooked, I particularly enjoyed the scrambled egg and smoked salmon and the crusty home made bread and marmalade. We opted for dinner on the day of our arrival and were so impressed we ate in three nights. We know Barmouth well and the food here was better than many restaurants. Geoff and Teresa are friendly and welcoming and very professional. We will be returning and recommending Morwendon House to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the food and accommodation and that you had a good time here. We look forward to meeting you again soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Property: Morwendon Guest House
Address: Morwendon Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing