We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant short break”
Review of Morwendon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morwendon House
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant short break”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed two nights at Morwendon. The food and accomodation were second to none.The breakfast menu extensive and cooked to perfection.Stunning views from the bedroom,sitting room and dining room.The stay made a birthday treat very special.We will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon, Best wishes - Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    39
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
325
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Another most enjoyable stay at this charming peaceful guest house. Geoff and Teresa are the perfect hosts in every way. The very high standard of quality is maintained throughout the house and their attention to detail is evident in all rooms. The breakfast's are the best we have ever had in any hotel or B&B. The 3 evening meals we had were all delicious. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful with my dietary requirements. Recently diagnosed as Ceoliac Teresa kindly checked ingredients for me and adapted the menu as necessary. They even tracked some gluten free sausages for me in Barmouth + an additional pudding to their menu White chocolate and raspberry roulade which was heavenly.
The area is very beautiful with plenty to see and do.
I highly recommend this Guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyEllenGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you Andy & Ellen for taking the time to write a review on Morwendon. It was especially nice to see you again after your stay 2 years ago - it's great when guests return, it means we are doing something right! We were happy to be able to help with your diet Ellen and indeed not just Ceoliac's; anyone who has specific dietary needs is treated the same, we will do everything we can to accommodate all persons. Lovely to see you again and we hope you don't leave it 2 years to visit us again! Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband booked 3 nights at Morwendon Guest House as a birthday surprise for me after finding that our usual B&B in Barmouth was not open, and was in fact recommended by them.

Situated a couple of miles north of the town of Barmouth in Llanaber it is on the main road ( not that you would notice as its so quiet) and just yards from the sea. The railway line runs past the house ( again, not really noticeable) and is in fact a bonus if you want to leave the car and go somewhere by train as there is a request halt a couple of hundred yards away.

We had room 2, which has fabulous panoramic views ( and a glorious sunset). The room was very spacious with a comfortable queen sized bed ( two singles joined together), a sofa, coffee table, wardrobe and ample space for everything. The coffee table in the bay window contained a bowl of chocolates and a decanter of sherry with two glasses which we thought was a lovely luxurious touch while watching the sunset.

The hospitality tray had all you would need, including a flask of fresh milk replaced daily ( much better than those little cartons) and my only comment here would be that the kettle cable was not long enough to plug in and place the kettle back on the tray so we had to put it on the floor to boil. Didn't spoil our enjoyment though - just something we had to think about. There were also bicuits provided, and bottled water.

Wifi is available, and there is freeview in the room, but I beleive there is also Sky availble in the lounge ( which was lovely and airy with a octagonal seating area and views all around the bay) as well as a choice of DVD's available to loan, and a list of these was presented in the back of the information folder in the room.

The bathroom was a bit on the snug side, though nice and clean, with an electric shower and complimentary shower gel, shampoo and conditioner provided. In fact, Geoff mentioned at breakfast about the snug size of the bathroom and how it can be an issue for some guests, but for us it was fine. Its just narrow, but has all you need.

The breakfast menu was very good and the food lovely - best bacon I think I've had, lovely sausages and scrambled eggs were really nice. My husband is a coeliac so avoiding wheat and gluten can sometimes be a problem but he had notified the owners beforehand and they were able to provide him with gluten free toast. We did not get the opportunity to have dinner there.

Overall, we had a lovely stay. Very relaxing. No street noise such as you would encounter staying in Barmouth - instead we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf.

Room Tip: call direct and ask about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantheycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon. Shropshire being so close, Barmouth is ideal for a quick weekend or mid week getaway. We take on board your comments about the kettle lead and will take steps to rectify the problem, Geoff is also looking into making small batches of breakfast sausages, Gluten free and suitable for Celiacs and those who are wheat intolerant, no promises but watch this space as they say! Thank you once again. Best wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the weekend just gone, in room 2, which is there largest room with superking sized bed and superb views of barmouth coastline from a bay window. The hosts Teresa & Geoff have the warmest approach we have experienced by a mile, and they were very friendly, welcoming and helpful for the entire visit. We stayed 2 nights in total, wide range of breakfasts were offered which were excellent quality. Full Welsh breakfast was cooked perfect!!! We were given the option to have evening meals or afternoon tea and snacks, althought we didnt need, due to sightseeing for most of the day. The room itself was excellent, very contemporary, a touch of classy decor mixed with classic furniture (which were maintained to excellent condition). Our room had a nice sofa in bay window in which we enjoyed to relax and soak in the views. The bed was so comfy!!, and we had such a lovely sleep on both nights. Complimentary tray of tea, coffee, sugar, bottled water, biscuits and kettle......fully replaced each day, along with a fresh stock of towels, flannels, toilet rolls, bedding etc.

This guesthouse is presented to a high standard, very clean and excellent value for money, proving very popular with ages young and old. Barmouth itself has a nice friendly local atmosphere with plenty of shops and eating places, and the hotel location is just on the outskirts of Barmouth which meant we were within easy travelling distances (hotel being situated on the main route north and south) to north locations such as Angelsey, Llandudno, Porthmadog, Caernarfon and Snowdondia and south locations such as Aberystwyth.

Thank you to Teresa and Geoff for their wonderful service, we will most definatelly be back again. Would recommend this place.

Craig and Vickie (Alty).....stayed 2 nights starting Friday 28th Sept. 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Alty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Wow, rarely do we get such a detailed informative review - thank you very much for taking the trouble and time to write it, it is most appreciated. We enjoyed having you stay with us for the weekend and hope you will return soon for a longer stay perhaps. Look out for our special offers on our website. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Arrived in rain but owners were at front door to welcome us. We were shown to our rooms with frest milk for tea. Nice, exceptionally clean rooms. Although we had to go outside to access our room, the walkway was very well marked and lit. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the croissants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests from America and we enjoyed having your group stay with us for your visit to North Wales. Hope the rest of your trip went well and that you had an enjoyable flight home to Florida, Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Although we only stayed for one night we absolutely loved it. The welcome was lovely and warm and even though we were informed there had been a mix up with the room we were upgraded to room 3. The rooms were stunning with amazing views. The owners have very good knowledge of the local area and recommended places they thought we would enjoy. The breakfast was very nice and tasted lovely and fresh. We will definately be going back soon :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad you had a good stay and we hope your charity walk went well. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I had a thoroughly pleasant stay at Morwendon House recently. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable, and had a great view of the sea from the side window. The towels, bottles of water and biscuits were replenished every day. The communal lounge was cosy and relaxing with fantastic views. There is on site parking, and it is a two mile walk into Barmouth, although the train station is a five minute walk away and costs less than a pound to get into the centre of Barmouth! The patio area at the front of the house is great for relaxing in the sunshine and looks right over the beach, we shall miss that view!! The breakfast is fantastic, and we would have loved to try the evening meal but unfortunately we didn't realise when we tried to book that this isn't avialable on a Thursday evening, but Geoff was very helpful in recommending alternative restaurants. We shall definitely visit Morwendon again in the future, thanks Geoff & Teresa for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed your time here and hopefully we will see you again soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
209 reviews
6.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
268 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#9 of 24 in Barmouth
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Talybont
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon House

Property: Morwendon House
Address: Morwendon House, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales (Formerly Morwendon Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay. Morwendon has stunning sea views and is a great place for a special get away. Barmouth is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy Snowdonia and the many activities this beautiful part of Wales has to offer. Kate and Rob are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Morwendon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing