We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Morwendon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morwendon House
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Trawling through the internet pages looking for somewhere 'nice' to stay I cam across this beautiful guest house.Standing on the edge of a hillside , with spectacular sea views I did not hesitate to book. On arrival the owner was most polite and showed us to our room. The room was spacious with a lovely bay window. There was a large bowl of fresh fruit and a decanter full of a most pleasant tasting Sherry.And as it was a cold, blustery day when we arrived the Sherry was most pleasing! We stayed at this guest house for 3 nights and it was superb! The breakfast menu was most suitable with a huge choice to choose from. As it was Valentines weekend we put our names down for the Valentine Evening Meal. The service was outstanding and the food delicious.I would recommend this Guest House and look forwrd to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    33
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
35
305
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We found this lovely hotel by chance when searching for overnight accommodation for a wedding in nearby Barmouth. Lots of careful thought has been put into the whole package: a helpful exchange of emails beforehand: a warm welcome from hosts who provided just the right level of friendly service; a beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean room with sherry and chocolates and a comfy sofa from which to gaze at the spectacular view of the beach and the Lleyn peninsular; a mouthwatering selection of evening meals and freshly cooked breakfast, all of which were delicious; chairs on the terrace from which to watch the sunset. What a shame we could only stay one night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window! Book dinner several days before your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MabelCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Even before we arrived at the hotel, we were already made feel welcome by helpful emails (and even a phone call!) from the owners. Although we didn't have the opportunity to have dinner at the hotel the first two nights of our stay because it was fully booked every night, Theresa provided us with dinner recommendations. Breakfasts were hearty and we often didn't need lunch during the day. The dinner was delicious when we did get a chance to sample it.
While the room that we stayed in was the smallest one in the hotel, it was cosy and neat and had all the necessary amenities to make our stay pleasant. My partner and I thought that the owners provided a bespoke stay - from brilliant and unintrusive service (having refreshing beers on the patio while watching the sunset) to providing useful maps for walking trips.
The hotel is really well situated for a stay in Snowdon and we definitely plan to return in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avoznaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We constantly try to make our guest's stay a welcoming and rewarding one and it is heartening to receive your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards Geoff & Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Morwendown Guest House exceeded our expectations.

We arrived on Saturday after a lovely day touring Wales on motorbikes to a warm and pristine guest house. We had one room overlooking the sea- the quality street on the dressing table a wonderful touch! and another attic room for Dave's brother.

A refreshing change to have a decent sized mug and fresh milk for a cup of tea in the room.

Dinner was served in a lovely dining room with an amazing choice of starters and mains, cooked superbly. Dave's brother was delighted that his favourite dish of chicken stuffed with cheese was availablem, and even ate some vegetables- this is high praise indeed!

I had Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on home made brioche for breakfast, wonderful!

We took a walk down to the coast after dinner, and I had a lovely 4 mile run into Barmouth and back on the sunday morning following the main road.

We will definately stay here again when in the area. Ideally located for Barmouth and exploring the local area, Geoff and Teresa are lovely friendly hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2uptourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you all again, Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic hotel for three nights and experienced Geoff's great cooking during our stay and Teresa's great breakfasts!! We had fabulous views accross the bay from our gorgeous room and Teresa gave us some advice on local places to visit and train times ect which we found incredibly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for Teresa & Geoff and we shall be staying with them again soon as the welcome we received was terrific and was sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review, it is very much appreciated. We enjoyed having you and Phil stay with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Firstly, the bad points: we only stayed one night. The actual booking was efficient with detailed directions and information e mailed to us by return. On arrival at the property, we were greeted by the proprietors who were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel has a superb sea view from the rooms and is not affected by traffic noise. The place was spotlessy clean and the decor was very good. Our room, number 1, was very comfortable and more than adequate. There was plenty of hot water available and the towels provided were of a good size.
We had booked an evening meal and this was very good, it was well cooked and well presented at a reasonable price. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was very good, the bacon was very tasty and the orange juice was freshly pressed. All in all, it was an extremely enjoyable stay and we wished that we had opted for another night rather than moving on. Can safely say that this is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. Whilst we do take a pride in all that we do it is always nice to be told that our guests have enjoyed themselves at Morwendon. We hope to see you again. Geoff & Teresa Challenor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Morwendon House is a lovely place to base yourself for a trip to this lovely corner of Wales. It is spotless, very comfortable and impeccably kept by its owners Geoff and Teresa. Our room was on the first floor - very spacious and had tremendous views over the bay.

Our only niggle was Teresa's absolute inflexibility to accommodate my wife's dietary needs. Having had a Gastric Bypass she is unable to eat more than a starter size portion. Our request was fairly simple - i wanted a starter and main whilst my wife would have just a starter served at the same time as my main. Not to difficult you would imagine but alas not possible. Bear in mind at this point that this was nothing to do with loss of income or numbers in the hotel. So much for the customer always being right...!!!

I would stress that this is unlikely to present a problem to anyone else and on that basis i would have no problem in recommending the place to others. For us however, given the abundance of choice in the bed and breakfast market and this rather 'fanickerty' episode, we would be unlikely to return. Sorry!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHallz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay and for your comments on our efforts and the house. Thank you also for saying you would recommend us to others, we do appreciate that.
We have read your comments regarding your evening meal. The decision not to serve a starter as a main course was taken by us some time ago and since then has never been a problem. We are a small establishment and restrict the number of covers in the evening in order to give the best service we can as a couple without additional staff whilst at the same time making it financially worthwhile for us. You will be able to appreciate that having prepared during the afternoon for a set number of covers only to find that guests just want starters is not a recipe for financial success.
Also, in our confirmation letter to each guest we ask: “Also, please tell us about any special dietary requirements you may have including vegetarian;” You could have told us then about your wife’s Gastric Bypass and we could have suggested alternative establishments. As it was, looking back through the records, you only ordered a starter for your wife anyway and no main course so it would appear your wishes were granted.
Notwithstanding the above we enjoyed having you stay with us and we are sorry you don’t feel able to visit Morwendon next time you are in North Wales. We wish you both well.

Geoff & Teresa Challenor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon House

Property: Morwendon House
Address: Morwendon House, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales (Formerly Morwendon Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay. Morwendon has stunning sea views and is a great place for a special get away. Barmouth is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy Snowdonia and the many activities this beautiful part of Wales has to offer. Kate and Rob are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Morwendon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing