We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do n't do it”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wayside Inn - CLOSED

The Wayside Inn
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do n't do it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Looking for a seaside meal,happened on the Wayside Inn,what a disapointment run down and dismal but heck we were hungry and had a toddler with looking for his tea ! First of all no cod for fish and chips, we reordered meals,one ham egg and chips at over 9.00 a throw, the bill for three adults and one toddler with a drink 50.00pounds ! Needless to say we shan't be going again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nightingale077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    0
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Shabby pub gone downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very disappointed to find this pub so run down (several years ago it was a favourite).
The food was poor to dreadful - from 6 adult meals only about a quater of the food was eaten.
The place needs a good clean - especially the table tops.
Shame really, the location could not be better, lovely sea views.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Critic-Meads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped of here one Saturday 2 weeks ago. Well where do I start, as we were in a rush that day I bought the drinks as we went in, I askes the barman about the food, only to be told that the menu's are over there, most helpful. I then decided the quickest food item would be a sandwhich
and a plate of chips, I went to order at the bar, I was told food orders round the corner. Off I trotted, only to be met by the most miserable person you could want to meet. The time was 1.35, I asked how long it would be, I was told by the "Cook" about 15 mins wait. Well we waited and waited, after 30 mins we asked about the food, only to be told it was on its way. 45 mins later still no food and to top it all someone that ordered after us got there's before us. At that point we got up to leave and ask for our money back. Were they bothered noooooo, well the boy was not in the least. The "Cook" came out and said that every one is done in turn, no we said it did not happen today. What a dive. I can not comment on value for money as we did not get the food

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food with a fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited here to eat and have a drink on two nights running. The weather was in the high twenties on both evenings so we sat on the terrace to eat. Out here you can take your dogs with you and also on a not so nice day you can also sit in the conservatory with your dog. There was water tubs placed around for the dogs too. The view from the terrace is fantastic looking over the fields towards the beach and the sea.
Now to the food there is quite a range on the menu, one thing it does lack is a choice of salads which would be nice for those who don't fancy a big meal. Over the two nights we sampled four different meals, the pork stack, mushroom and leek crumble, chilli and welsh beef curry. While I guess they are not all cooked fresh but pre made like a lot of places they were all tasty and of good portion sizes. The prices were quite reasonable averaging about £20 for two main courses. Yes I know you can go to your big chains and get 2 for 1 but this is a local pub which makes its money I guess during the summer holiday season.
The decor in the pub could do with a bit of a freshen up but it was clean and tidy. The barman on both nights was quick and efficient and the waiting staff were as efficient and very friendly. As I return again and again to the campsite we were staying on I guess we may become regulars to the Wayside Inn, and that includes Freddy the dog too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wayside Inn also viewed

 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing