We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location; attentive hosts; spacious accommodation; excellent dining room and lounge.”
Review of Llwyndu Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llwyndu Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Rather more space than most b and b's we have stayed in - large room with bathroom, a dining/breakfast room in which tables are well spaced for privacy and intimacy; comfortable lounge with real fire. Peter and Paula are attentive hosts. Peter is an excellent cook. The full Welsh breakfasts were excellent, as were the smoked kippers. Evening dinners offered varied and exciting menus. Really, this is a small hotel, rather than a b and b. The views across the bay are excellent. The location is far enough from the main road to be quiet, but not to be a reason for concern. Easy to find just north of Barmouth. Access by train or bus is possible. Local train services give access to Welsh narrow gauge lines and other attractions if you want to give the car a rest. Slightly more expensive than many, but very good quality.

Room Tip: Aim for a room with a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happilyretired54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Llwyndu Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a great couple of days here after searching around various places near Barmouth. This is a fabulous cross between a guest house and a small hotel. beautiful setting. Dog friendly too. Top marks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautiful 16th century property with gorgeous view of the bay. We had a delicious, full breakfast and enjoyed wine next to the fireplace. Paula was a gracious hostess and helped us when we had car trouble the morning we left. I would recommend this B & B to those wanting to see authentic Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWG310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I were on a four day break, and found Llwyndu Farmhouse by chance via a web search: what a lucky day that was! We both thought the (fourposter) bed was second in comfort only to our own, and the shower also only bettered by our home shower. Our plan was to eat in on the night of our arrival, then to save money by dining out the rest of our stay, if indeed we needed to after the excellent "full Welsh breakfast"! But the meal on our first evening was so good that we were beguiled into coming back every night. Yes, it's comparatively expensive, but it's definitely worth it, and the local beers, despite being bottled of course, were excellent and the wine list affordable. Best of all, though, were our hosts, Peter and Paula. It's difficult thing to be attentive to guests' needs without being intrusive, but Peter and Paula did it superbly well: we felt more like friends or family than like paying guests. As we left my wife and I turned to each other and unprompted said,"Well, that's the best place we've ever stayed!"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just stayed at the farmhouse with my partner and our beloved dog and all i can say is "what a Gem of a place" !!
We were the only occupants so really had the place to ourselves, and as it is on the outskirts of Barmouth and on an elevated position we soon relaxed into the tranquility of the place.

The views are breathtaking, ocean on front, countryside to the rear and the sunset was one of the best i have ever seen. Made even better as the host (Paula) served hot coffee and fresh biscuits whilst the sun dipped behind the ocean.

We were in the converted granary, Beautiful country cottage feel which had its own entrance (this was a bonus as we did not need to walk the dog through the b&b main farmhouse).
It's not modern, it's not dated.....Its a country style room, perfectly fitting for the farmhouses history and setting.
The room had everything you would need and i'm sure Paula would have accommodated anything else we may have required.

Evening Meal..........Don't bother going into Barmouth !!! The food here is excellent, I would have paid the total cost of the night on the food alone.......being a frequent fine diner i would put our meal up there with Michelin grade restaurants i have eaten in.

Breakfast.......equal to the evening meal.....both quality and quantity

In short......if you want a feeling of the countryside, with stunning sea-views and only 5 mins from the ctr of town.....Give it a go..........You will not be disappointed.

We will be returning.......on a regular basis.

P.S. A massive thanks to Paula (and her shy Husband / Chef)

Paul, Rach and the dog x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

! If you are looking for a place to make sense of things in your life then look no further. If you are in a hurry this place IS NOT for you nor is it if you like ultra modern chic or are used to chain hotels. If you want to lose track of time, what day of the week it is, really relax with great food, fine wines and some good company then you will like it here.

The whole point is that it’s so informal, friendly, casual and just a great place to chill. We had a drink in the garden and the sunset over the bay was quite stunning. Dinner was superb and wonderful to have home cooked meals from locally sourced produce from a short menu. There might be some time before you get it but it arrives for you to enjoy in one of the most characterful dining rooms I have eaten in. The hake and prawns and the duck we had were wonderful as were the breakfasts.

We had a room in the farmhouse with a great new bathroom and a powerful shower which was just the job after a long walk along the Mawddach Estuary. This was the reason we visited Barmouth after seeing Julia Bradbury’s BBC programme some while ago. There are plenty of walks here and we shall definitely be going back.

The service is very professional and Paula and Peter are never intrusive, they are there just enough to make your stay wonderfully relaxing. The peace and quiet may be too much for some!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a two night break recently and the majority vote (from all four of us) was that it was ok. We realise that the farmhouse is very old but there is a fine line between character and the need for updating. All the bed linen needed updating and the beds were uncomfortable. There is so much that could be done with the place it seemed such a shame. We arrived soaking from a long hike and unfortunately the hot water ran out which meant a tepid bath.

We ate one dinner there and the food was disappointing and at almost £30.00 a head seemed expensive for what it was. On saying that, breakfast was lovely. My advice would be to eat in town

Room Tip: It isn't worth paying the extra for the four poster room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
334 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
434 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belle Vue
Belle Vue
#21 of 23 in Barmouth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyndu Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyndu Farmhouse

Address: Llwyndu Farmhouse Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range: $127 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyndu Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent hotel with licensed restaurant. Informal & relaxed. Ensuite rooms in house and converted granary. All very individuel and of great character. Good food & wine. Marvellous views over Cardigan Bay. There is great walking and biking in the area and the sandy beaches go on forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Llwyndu Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing