We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Llwyndu Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llwyndu Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

! If you are looking for a place to make sense of things in your life then look no further. If you are in a hurry this place IS NOT for you nor is it if you like ultra modern chic or are used to chain hotels. If you want to lose track of time, what day of the week it is, really relax with great food, fine wines and some good company then you will like it here.

The whole point is that it’s so informal, friendly, casual and just a great place to chill. We had a drink in the garden and the sunset over the bay was quite stunning. Dinner was superb and wonderful to have home cooked meals from locally sourced produce from a short menu. There might be some time before you get it but it arrives for you to enjoy in one of the most characterful dining rooms I have eaten in. The hake and prawns and the duck we had were wonderful as were the breakfasts.

We had a room in the farmhouse with a great new bathroom and a powerful shower which was just the job after a long walk along the Mawddach Estuary. This was the reason we visited Barmouth after seeing Julia Bradbury’s BBC programme some while ago. There are plenty of walks here and we shall definitely be going back.

The service is very professional and Paula and Peter are never intrusive, they are there just enough to make your stay wonderfully relaxing. The peace and quiet may be too much for some!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a two night break recently and the majority vote (from all four of us) was that it was ok. We realise that the farmhouse is very old but there is a fine line between character and the need for updating. All the bed linen needed updating and the beds were uncomfortable. There is so much that could be done with the place it seemed such a shame. We arrived soaking from a long hike and unfortunately the hot water ran out which meant a tepid bath.

We ate one dinner there and the food was disappointing and at almost £30.00 a head seemed expensive for what it was. On saying that, breakfast was lovely. My advice would be to eat in town

Room Tip: It isn't worth paying the extra for the four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Thank you for a lovely 2 days. I have fell in love with Barmouth again. The views are wonderful and the accomodation very good. Everyone said how great I looked when I returned to Birmingham. The dogs enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: Walk on the beach ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

How refreshing to find proprietors who remain true to heritage. Llwyndu Farmhouse is being lovingly restored/protected with no concessions to superficial cosmetic transformation. The house exudes its benign family histories through the pores of its walls & its ghosts can relax in the knowledge that they will not be sanitised out of existence.
Our accommodation in the granary was cosy, private & met all our needs. Breakfasts were superb – varied, generous & cooked to order. We loved the restaurant. The menus were imaginative & locally sourced, freshly cooked, with personal service throughout. Expensive? Not when you take into account the holistic experience of an intimate 16th century dining room, congenial fellow diners & the absence of mobile phones and intrusive attention-seekers.
Our hosts were a self-effacing couple who worked unobtrusively as a team. There was no attempt to intrude on their guests in a cynical ‘Have a nice day’ fashion but they were quick to respond if you needed them, or to exchange conversation and information in a quietly casual manner. In short they allowed you to make the place your own during your stay.
Llwyndu Farmhouse with its peaceful gardens & lovely views is a haven of tranquillity – an escape from gadgets, noise & superficiality. We would not hesitate to recommend it.
Also well done Barmouth – an amazing revival since our last visit several years ago.
Thank you Paula & Peter for a relaxing & memorable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The reception and service was very friendly welcoming and friendly. The food was top quality home cooking with interesting menu which varied daily including excellent and interesting vegetarian options. The evening meal looks pricey but was definitely worth it. Excellent and comprehensive wine list [supplied by Tanners of Shrewsbury].We stayed in the 'barn' which was quiet , a comfortable bed and lots of immediate hot water for the bath. The décor of the room was perhaps a little 'dated'. We could have had our dog with us had we wanted. Overall a most pleasant stay and one we will definitely repeat. I agree with the previous review re comments made by reviewer Sally W

Room Tip: The family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Disappointed would be an understatement. Hoped for a romantic night in what was meant to be a lovely four poster bed, the bed squeaked badly even when just lying down we had to tighten up the posts to stop a wobble. The farms toilet was right by the rooms wall so when anyone flushed the noise was terrible,we couldn't lock the bedroom door which left us feeling very insecure and from other reviews we have found out our room was the fire exit access point which the hotel owners do not mention in any adverts or leaflets.
Even though a summer night due to the weather being so adverse the room was quite cold with no way of warming up, the en-suite had a lock but no handle and the hot water took awhile to appear.
The breakfast offered a wide selection of food and a vegetarian option which was nice.
We did feel judged for not being already married as we had got engaged whilst there and when we mentioned it to Paula her demeanor could be described at best as dour.

Room Tip: Do not use the four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

After much research we booked for four days and our choice was good. In contrast to the mid-July clamour that unusually sunny weather brings, we had comfort in our room with light from three sides and a splendid bed. Paula made us most welcome with tea and biscuits on our arrival, setting the tone for the visit. Breakfasts are good with a range of cooked alternatives including excellent scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and a great vegetarian burger which was as good as it read on the menu. Dinner maintains their approach to good food and was made all the more enjoyable by being able to have accompanying drinks from a good wine/beers/spirits list. We look back with fond memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GridSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aber House B&B Barmouth
Aber House B&B Barmouth
#13 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.2 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyndu Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyndu Farmhouse

Property: Llwyndu Farmhouse
Address: Llwyndu Farmhouse Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyndu Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent hotel with licensed restaurant. Informal & relaxed. Ensuite rooms in house and converted granary. All very individuel and of great character. Good food & wine. Marvellous views over Cardigan Bay. There is great walking and biking in the area and the sandy beaches go on forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Llwyndu Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing