We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy spot for the mid-Wales coast”
Review of Llwyndu Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llwyndu Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Handy spot for the mid-Wales coast”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed two nights in mid-August. Our room was at the top of the farmhouse and had everything we needed. We were met on our arrival by Paula with a nice cuppa. Breakfasts were excellent. Sorry we couldn't sample Paula and Peter's dinnertime offerings as they had family commitments those days. This is a convenient spot for the coast, from the Lleyn peninsula down to Aberystwyth. We visited Harlech Castle and also some of the beautiful Mawddach Estuary 'Railway Walk' .

A great spot with two friendly hosts.

A great 'local' (20 min drive) eatery is the George lll at Penmaenpool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    21
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
76
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

we stayed here for two nights. Bed breakfast and evening meal the food was excellent and the bedrooms are very clean as was the rest of the property .The staff are very helpful and friendly especially Paula who made our stay very enjoyable. great place to stay and visit the welsh coastline

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lywyndu is a well-restored historic farmhouse on a remarakble site south of the town of Barmouth, perched on a hillside with expansive sea views across Cardigan Bay and spectacular sunsets seen from the garden. The rooms are very comfortable.

It is ten minutes' walk (partly uphill) from the request stop at Llanaber on the Cambrian Coast railway, and easily reached from the Barmouth - Harlech main road. Peter and Paula. the owners are very friendly and helpful, and the highlight is Peter's superb cooking, with several evening meal choices changing each day (except Sunday when no evening meal is offered) always including a vegetarian option, vital for us. The cooked breakfast has a vegetarian option, too.

Some fine walks are possible, especially by making use of the railway service, and the railway gives access to other towns and attractions (e.g. Portmeirion) along the coast. Ideal for travellers, like ourselves, without a car. Good connections are also available via Porthmadog or Tywyn to some of the best of the narrow-gauge tourist lines.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwrail422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at this ancient old farmhouse for a week with our young daughter and it was the most relaxing family break ever. The building itself is impressive with its old heritage feel and our room was superb and included a four poster bed with plenty of space for our daughters cot. On arriving Paula, the hostess, served tea in the gardens and we watched the striking sunset over Cardigan bay which was just what we needed after a long drive. The dining room is cosy with authentic wooden beams and the food is all cooked by Paula's husband Peter, a historian as well as a chef. He catered for my vegetarian diet splendidly and my husband was most impressed with his stock of ales and his knowledge of the local area.
It may have helped that the weather was brilliant but spending a week discovering the local hikes and walks and then returning to the hotel to relax with food, drink and chat was an ideal break away. Paula and Peter are the perfect hosts, never intrusive, always obliging and always around when you want them. Couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 616283Happycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a family trip around North Wales. Location is great for exploring the coast and mountains. You only need to step into the garden to see amazing views and it being quite large there is lots to explore. Steeped in history, the farmhouse is comfortable and the welcome is warm. Lovely host and very helpful with local questions and queries.

We stayed in the character filled old Granary with its squeaky floors and high beams. The room was spacious with enough room for us all. Our 4 year slept on the lower bunk due to the wobbly bunkbed. Would have been good to see a shower, but this forced us to take a turn at relaxing in the bath. However a few other basics like an alarm clock, a bin by the teamaking facilities etc. were missing. We have slept in comfier beds but this didn't detract the 'overall'.

The evening meal was delicious and the menu varied enough for our tastes. Our little one really tucked in to a simple option. Really good wine list and selection of ales. The breakfast was equally as good. The chef is obvioulsy very competent to put everything together to enable the ingredients to speak for themselves.

The hospitality & food is the thing that would take us back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Far_n_Wide_Back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyjape, Owner at Llwyndu Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Hi,
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. The good weather meant you could enjoy the views! Sorry about the glitches in your room and the alarm clock and bin have now been replaced. Bunk bed has also been tightened so thanks for telling us about them.
We look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid wales
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We normally stay in London or Paris at this time of the year in four or five star hotels and always found the breakfasts not worth the extra cost. So usually armed with wifi and tripadvisor I look elsewhere for breaky -It can also be a bit of fun.
My breakfast at Llwyndu Farmhouse was easily the best I have ever eaten and my big regret was not eating there in the evening but chose to eat in Barmouth instead !
Its not just the quality of the ingredients but when the Owner is the chef more care is lavished on your meal to set up the day.
We then took the Panorama Walk in the morning with the most spectacular views of the Mawddach Estuary with the Cader Idris dominating . The peace and Quite was awesome after watching the previous days motocross beach race.
Our room was comfortable and refreshing change from the usual sterile hotels we visit remembering this is an ancient farmhouse so navigation of the room can be tricky after a night on the town !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V12Aston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyjape, Owner at Llwyndu Farmhouse, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
Hello to you both,
Thank you for those kind words and particularly about the breakfast. We're pleased you enjoyed the scenery nearby and hope to see you again soon.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Well, actually Peter and Paul Thompson have 'only' owned Llwyndu Farmhouse for about the past 25 years but they really know what they are doing. My husband and I are Californians and have completely enjoyed our 2 week visit to Wales and the Farmhouse is the highlight. The Thompsons have taken great care to preserve the history and feel of this 400 year old farm/gentry house while also offering the modern comforts. After being shown to our room we had tea and cookies downstairs on lovely china, we played ball with Juke (the Jack Russel Terrier) while enjoying the view to the Cardigan Bay. Paula suggested the wonderful "The Last Inn" in Barmouth for a late dinner. Our room was comfortable and warm with lovely linens, about 3 foot thick stone walls and private bathroom and huge bathtub. The breakfasts were some of the best of our whole trip. I personally *loved* the vegetarian sausages. The next evening we met our Welsh cousin & his wife for the 1st time over one of Peter's gourmet dinners (Lambshanks - yummers!) Paula was so gracious, she treated us all like family & allowed our dinner party to go on a bit long. All in all Paula and Peter are lovely, talented, knowledgeable (Peter's a historian & chief) and intelligent people. They are great problem solvers, just talk to them. My one wish is that they would write a book about the farmhouse and their experiences - it would be a best seller.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgieJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyjape, Owner at Llwyndu Farmhouse, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
Hi to you all,
We had such a nice time talking to you and your friends during your stay. The weather was not up to your Californian standards but I guess you loved this part of Wales so it didn't seem to matter. It makes our job a pleasant one. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again if & when you come over to the UK.
.
Best wishes
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
6.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
418 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Talybont
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyndu Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyndu Farmhouse

Property: Llwyndu Farmhouse
Address: Llwyndu Farmhouse Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyndu Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent hotel with licensed restaurant. Informal & relaxed. Ensuite rooms in house and converted granary. All very individuel and of great character. Good food & wine. Marvellous views over Cardigan Bay. There is great walking and biking in the area and the sandy beaches go on forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Llwyndu Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing