We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening meal”
Review of Bryn Tyrch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I hadn't been here for many years but was camping locally with friends who had visited not long ago. The place has been transformed since I last went and is now a great pub restaurant.

Staff greeted us on arrival but unfortunately the person showed us to what was probably the worst table under a TV, on a through route to other tables and no view. Fortunately this was spotted by a lady who I presume was the manager who shortly afterwards showed us to a much better table with a great view of the Snowdon horseshoe. Well done for spotting this and putting it right!

Service was great and the food was excellent - as a vegetarian my heart usually sinks at the lack of thought on the menu but the starter of a souffle and rosti was excellent, the main course of butternut squash risotto was good. Real ale on tap also excellent.

Dessert menu a bit limited but we were all so full we couldn't be tempted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 356 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really great place to stay, lovely rooms, delicious breakfast and warm, friendly atmosphere in the bar. Evening meal was a very high standard, enormous portions of good quality food. Staff we're very helpful and knowledgable about where to walk. Weather report on the bar is a helpful touch!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed with a group of friends in April. After a hard day climbing Mt Snowdon I arrived at the hotel exhausted. It was quite place-aw warm welcome and great start make this a special place to stay. The Owner- Rachel is hand on and happy to accommodate most of visitor needs. The food is wholesome and delicious and presented in some style.
I would stay at the hotel again-the rooms a basic but clean and most importantly warm.If the shower had been a bit more powerful -It would have got the maximium stars

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tars64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I just reached home after a weekend in Snowdonia, and having stayed in many top hotels around the world, can say this ranks amongst the best, despite being a small family run business.

We chose this hotel as it's ideal location for accessing Snowdon, which we climbed on Saturday. we were originally a party of 14, which the owner, Rachel, managed to squeeze in despite being booked up. However the cold Easter and the snow that still covered Snowdon put some of the group off, so in the end only 6 made the trip. Rachel still gave us a huge welcome and made us feel like her personal family guests. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Rachel and her staff made us feel like nothing was too much trouble. She still gave us our original four rooms at her own loss. The hotel is clean, smart, modern, and its location by a beautiful river is brilliant. Free parking is available outside. the restaurant served amazing food, and having eaten in all of the best restaurants in London, this place is up there with the best. Most of the ingredients are local sourced and Head Chef Simon is great. he even went out of his way to make my friend veggie sausages when they didn't have any on the menu. Its not cheap but the food is worth it. many of the diners were not even residents, but guests from other hotels. The price included the best breakfast you will get anywhere. def try the sausages. Great additional features are free wifi, all the tea and coffee you can drink (for free). This is such a refreshing approach compared to the big brands where everything is charged for. The rooms are a good size, very clean and modern in appearance. Some rooms have showers whilst others have baths. There is even a bunk bed room for kids.

The thing I loved about this hotel is that Rachel goes out of her way to look after you and gives you loads of help and advice to get the most out of your stay. If you haven't been to Snowdonia before, I recommend you stay here and ask Rachel to help you plan your outings, where to go, what to do, etc. I shall def be visiting again with my family.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Bryn Tyrch is a super place to stay after a hard day walking. Imagine the scene.... Tired and hungry intrepid sorts entering with large rucksacks/ cases to be met with the sight of a roaring fire and some serious real ale, comfy sofas and the prospect of delicious food on the menu.
We stayed in a room that looked out onto a snow covered Moel Siabod, and despite the fact that the inn is on the A5, we had the most peaceful night's sleep. The room was tastefully decorated and our seven year old son was looked after well. There were quite a few families with children staying.
One little niggle.... either some of kitchen staff didn't turn up or they need to get some extra help because we waiting a little too long for our food to arrive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trish_llysawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights last week. We've visitied many times over the years, and the place improves each time. The food is exceptionally good, especially the varied vegetarian options (tell them in advance if you want a veggie breakfast, and the chef will provide home made sausages). The menu is unusual, with something for everyone, and the portions are very generous. I'd say it is excellent value for money, given the top quality dishes provided. The rooms are really stylish, and immaculately clean. All in all a very comfortable stay - I would not want to stay anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A long weekend in the mountains, with three friends. Bryn Tyrch, is in a great location with a mountain stream across the road, and views of the mountains from the rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms very comfortable, and clean, food is good, with people booking from around the area to eat there. Ideal for a walk up Snowdonia, which entails a five minute drive, leave early as car parks fill up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
4.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
24.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Tyrch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tyrch Inn

Address: Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Price Range: $107 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Tyrch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Tyrch Inn is situated in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by magnificent scenery. Capel Curig is an ideal centre for outdoor pursuits and the area is very popular with walkers and climbers. The lakes, beaches, castles and other attractions of North Wales are less than 30 miles away.The Bryn Tyrch aims to provide a warm welcome in the hillside with high quality rooms and good food and drink ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tyrch Hotel Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Inn Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing