We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A friendly and happy home away from home with the added bonus of amazing food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Tyrch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Save
You added Bryn Tyrch Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A friendly and happy home away from home with the added bonus of amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here over the New Year period, and am already trying to fugure out how to come here again. Great food, location, service etc. The room I stayed in was excellent, clean, well appointed and had a gorgeous bathroom. Sinking into a bubble bath at the end of a day's walking was bliss. The food and local beer selection was superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tashamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    66
    17
    9
    9
See reviews for
42
105
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ate here over new year and has the pleasure of doing so on New Year's Eve. We ate at a 3 Michelin star establishment last new year so we thought we'd take the risk and slum it, sluming it being the complete opposite of what we received, a taster menu that was absolutely first class and much better than what weve eaten, my partner is a chef and he was blew away, in his words the chef here has some talent. Could not find faults here, we didn't stay he overnight but plan to in the future. Service at time was slow and with not as passionate as the food but what a place to visit if your in the area. A really foodies retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerbrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ate here on 4 consecutive evenings over the New Year period. Food was consistently excellent, with choices ranging from burger (with fantastic Welsh rarebit topping) to glorious roasted butternut squash and red pepper risotto with goat's cheese. 5 course taster menu on New Year's Eve was absolutely first rate, better than many meals I have paid more for; especially liked the halibut! Atmosphere was cosy and friendly, with professional but also very welcoming staff. Nothing not to like!
Did not stay over so cannot comment on the accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ithacan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We live locally so have been past loads of times but never been in. Well I'm glad we have now. Hands down the best food in the area. We have a 6 week old baby girl so having a meal isn't always the easiest thing in the world but the staff could not have been more accommodating. We will definitely be returning and we have already told our friends how wonderful it is.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited here on Saturday night for a fabulous meal. A very warm welcome with the roaring log fire and a busy but not overcrowded restaurant. The spicy aroma of the glühwein as you entered the bar was too much to resist and a warming start to the evening. Service, though not fast was "just right", very attentive but not obtrusive. Eyeing other people's dishes being delivered made the menu choice very difficult as everything was so well presented. We started with a pave of duck confit and the scallops. Both dishes very tasty and decorative without being flashy. Main course was lamb shanks for myself and duck breast for my partner. Again, presentation, vegetable selection, meat quality and overall tastiness of the meal were worth far in excess of the £22.95 for two courses that you pay. Would highly recommend this inn for a cosy meal, or just a hearty fill up after a day on the mountains. The clientele were a mix of outdoors people just off the hills, we ourselves had been mountain biking all day, as well as couples having a romantic meal. Will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Of_Loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well worth a visit to this roadside hotel. All rooms have been recently refurbished, and our room at the back of the hotel was a stunner. Three separate spaces (rooms), bedroom, lounge and bathroom made up this suite with two Televisions and a couch to lounge on. The food was superb throughout our stay with Chef Simon Hough outdoing himself to present beautiful meals. Simon was off duty one evening and his assistant also presented a wonderful meal. Girl friday, Simona was a joy.

Well placed for sightseeing and hill walking, you need to check availability, especially at weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, away from the road which is busy in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rewphoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having ventured out and caught by the rain, we stopped at an unassuming inn nestled within the mountains of Snowdonia for some Sunday lunch. We were glad we did. Greeted by casual but certainly friendly service we were very impressed by the fine selection of local ales on offer at the bar. We found with the 2 course price (under 15 pounds) Sunday lunch a bargain, and thought it would be a cheap and cheerful affair. We were wrong. We were treated to a sumptuous Crayfish Rissoto brimming with vibrant flavour and a hearty portion at that. Our mains consisted of locally sourced beef swimming in a delicious gravy that warmed us up no end. The pudding was also a delight. A rich chocolate browny .... warm and gooey.

We left full and happy and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YCrwydrynaFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
4.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Tyrch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tyrch Inn

Property: Bryn Tyrch Inn
Address: Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Tyrch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Tyrch Inn is situated in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by magnificent scenery. Capel Curig is an ideal centre for outdoor pursuits and the area is very popular with walkers and climbers. The lakes, beaches, castles and other attractions of North Wales are less than 30 miles away.The Bryn Tyrch aims to provide a warm welcome in the hillside with high quality rooms and good food and drink ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tyrch Hotel Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Inn Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing