We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Dol-Gam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dol-Gam
Ranked #2 of 6 Capel Curig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2008

As a family we were very impressed with our room. It was very large and very clean. A lovely big bathroom and plenty of hot water. The drying facilities were just what was needed as it rained for most of the weekend, but with a lovely warm B&B and fantastic sceneary what more could you ask for. We will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank richard_sangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

We found Dol-Gam through Trip Advisor, we were on a motorcycling holiday including Sctoland, Northern Ireland and Eire, travelling home on the Dun Loaghaire/Holyhead ferry. We were looking for an overnight stop before the final leg of our journey.
After checking Trip Advisor and seeing some of the horror stories in Bangor we found Dol-Gam.
Facing the A5 in Snowdonia I must have passed it dozens of times but never really noticed it.
From the outside it is an imposing farmhouse in a wonderful location, inside it is beautiful. It was warm, clean and the room was huge. Mrs Davies made us feel very welcome. Looking out of the bedroom window in the morning I felt sorry for the poor souls camping in the rain on the other side of the road!
We're planning to stay at Dol-Gam again but this time in the car, having a good look round Snowdonia rather than passing through.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoastRoadBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We got engaged on the summit of Moel Siabod in 2003 and discovered Dolgam on our next visit to Snowdonia.

Since then we have been back three times, have always stayed in the same room overlooking Moel Siabod and will keep going back time and time again. We are always made to feel very welcome when we arrive, are given tea and cake and then are left to enjoy the evening.

The breakfast is plentiful, and the packed lunches are great value - a few pounds for everything you need for a day in the mountains.

We can't praise Dolgam highly enough - it's the best place to stay in the area, all year round.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CPArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We loved Dolgam! We arrived very tired and weary from our long trip from the US to Manchester Airport. We rented our car and drove to Capel Curig. Mrs. Davies was there to meet us and show us to our room. It was very comfortable and had a fabulous bathroom.

Mrs. Davies was very accommodating and served a great breakfast. She even helped me with my family research as my ancestors were from Capel Curig.

Dolgam is a lovely house on a working farm and our daughter loved the sheep. The room was very quiet and we had a nice quiet evening to get over our jet lag.

We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
penguin town
15
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We Have stayed at many hotels and guest houses on our travels round the world, this one is by far the best.

The breakfast was brilliant, i felt as though i could have asked for anything, and they would have done there best to provide it.

In the evening when we returned she always offered us refreshments in the lounge, even though we had tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Clean towels every day, even when they hadn't been used! Clean and spacious rooms with fantastic veiws.

The whole family, who helped to run the house, were helpfull, polite and happy to offer and information we required.

Overall it was a very relaxing stay, where we felt welcome at all times.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
penguin land
14
Reviewed August 17, 2005

The Dol Gam b&b in capel cruig is brill. First theres brilliant views from the rooms,the rooms themselves are perfect, tv, kettle, bath and shower.

The breakfast is more than you could ask for she did us full breakfast, or sometimes if we wanted something litghter theres cerial, toast, jam, fruit bowl(too yourself) and youhgarts. Plus she even gave us a whole unsliced loaf and a knife to cut it ourselfs. If that wasn't enough every night when we came in she offered us a drink and a slice of her home made cake. And when we left she gave us her recipe. If your staying in the area i recomend this place to you and hope you will stay there and enjoy it as much as i did.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Silegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dol-Gam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dol-Gam

Address: Dolgam A5 | Betws-y-Coed, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Capel Curig
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Dol-Gam Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing