We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious scones”

The Moel Siabod Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Superb food in the heart of Snowdonia. The perfect base for Hikers,Climbers,Cyclists & Family trips! Group packages available.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious scones”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We visited the Moel Siabod cafe today after a walk in the area. We had the most delicious scones. I am used to cafés serving cold, dry scones, but these were warm and lush, served with clotted cream and jam. I am definitely going to visit here again, to try them again - or maybe the brownie my son had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizannuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    97
    14
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bolton lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“VILE "SPECIAL"”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After getting home and seeing the positive reviews of this place we are totally mystified???
We were unfortunate enough to stumble on it whilst driving through the area , we decided to have the "special of the day" as there was not much else to choose from.
It was supposed to be minted lamb with mayonnaise which we should have know was wrong when it was presented to us and it was orange and looked like mashed baby food???
It looked vile , tasted vile and left a vile taste in our mouths for hours after , so much so we did not have any tea when we got home as we both felt really ill from it.
We are both "foodies" and for us to actually leave food we have paid for is a rarity thats how bad it was.
Yes the surrounding area is more than beautiful and the staff were friendly , the food was served quickly and the presentation was nice but unfortunalely the food was inedible and made us ill.
:-(

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 8966deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela D, Manager at The Moel Siabod Cafe, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Deborah, Gaby our chef has shown me your review & I have to say I am disgusted by it. Of course you have a right to complain but to suggest that it made you feel ill, put you off your tea etc. is contradicting your leaving the food on your plate. If it had been that much to you dislike (you seem to enjoy using the word vile) we would have welcomed your comments after your first bite thereby giving us a chance to address your concerns. Speaking plainly about the Lamb you ordered it has been a very popular Special of ours for over a year now, We had the odd comment initially about it's appearance on the plate not being what people expected to see (although usually there is nothing left on the plate) & as such re-worded the Specials board description of it accordingly some months ago. As to taste everyone's is different, the dish remains one of my favourite's and is as popular as ever with most of our customers so I have advised Gaby not to remove it from the menu. Finally you refer to there not being much choice on our menu, I am staggered by this. Our average daily menu offers a choice of approximately 50 different meals & that was certainly the case on the day of your visit, this also included 8 alternative Open Sandwich Options to the one you chose. Put into this context your comment here is not valid. We accept criticism & always consider it carefully to see where or if we need to make changes based on people's experience of the Cafe & what we try to offer them. In this case I have respectfully decided not to make any changes. Regards, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A walker's haven”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We visited this cafe twice in one day - breakfast and a late lunch and then returned the following morning for breakfast again. Wonderful casual atmosphere, friendly staff and a place you can sit and eat with your muddy walking gear and not feel out of place....a true walker's haven! We will return the next time we are in Snowdonia. Thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perihelion24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We were out with the family for the day and having read the reviews on here we thought we'd give it a go and were not disappointed. I remember when it used to be a petrol station and a mediocre outdoor shop so it was great to see that it had been put to a good use.

Taking to someone who worked there (possibly the owner) it had been open for 2 years to the day and it's not difficult to see why. It's a big room which is not surprising seeing as it used to be a garage but it is well thought out and includes a small gallery as well as a shop selling maps etc.

The food was very good, the staff friendly and the portions substantial. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ehillier1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“classy cafe a touch above the rest”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is not your greasy spoon stop! Food is fresh but a little more pricey but well worth the extra. The eating area is light and airy with space around tables to stow biking and walking gear so not your usual cramped eating stop. Comes. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geemo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moel Siabod Cafe also viewed

Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Moel Siabod Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing