We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hostel in beautiful Snowdonia”
Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury hostel in beautiful Snowdonia”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I read a review for this place in Now magazine and was intrigued by its 5 star claims.
I wasn't disappointed.
The location is great, between a great cafe and a fab restaurant.
The facilities are new, fresh and exciting - lots of different wood beautifully used to great effect as tables, benches, wall divides and bed surrounds. It was both homely and modern.
I do prefer my accommodation to be a bit more remote, the main road is very close, but you can't hear traffic inside and it was convenient for getting to the many walks around stunning Snowdonia. There was also a mix of age groups. This would suit any type of holiday maker. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddynumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
47
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visited Snowdonia for a weekend of walking and Plas Curig was the perfect place to stay for this, especially when you're on a budget but still want nice accommodation.

The kitchen is VERY well equipped with 2 huge fridges, freezers and labels for you to label your own food, they have thought of all the little things that makes your stay easier and means you don't have to bring the whole kitchen with you when you come!

We had a private room which was perfect for us, comfortable bed with lovely big blankets for cold winter nights. Although right above the kitchen, this wasn't a problem when other guests were getting up early to go off for the day.

Didn't see much of the staff but this wasn't a problem as the hostel allows you to be very self sufficient. When we knew we wouldn't be able to get there before 10pm, the staff went out of their was to accommodate this and make our check in process hassle free.

The location is good if you have a car, maybe too far out of Betws-y-Coed to walk in for dinner, but Snowdon is accessible by car and I think there is a bus service but didn't look too much into this.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone, it's perfect for most people wanting an active weekend in Wales or a relaxing one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visit this place each year while completing the 5 Peaks Challenge with a group of 40 clients. This hostel is the highlight at the end of our trip 5 day trip! When we tell clients there is such a thing as a 5 star hostel they laugh but when we get there they are always pleasantly surprised! I love this place and I'm really looking forward to visiting with friends - highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamjam989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great place to stay in a great location especially if you're into hill walking, leave your car in the car park and enjoy. Staff very helpful with fab facilities; definatly the best hostel I've stated in and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the most amazing hostel I've ever stayed in. The beds are so comfortable, staff are very friendly and helpful, excellent kitchen, all the communal spaces are amazing. Highly recommended. Nothing negative to report.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great place.....everything about it is spot on so highly recommended. Would stay here over any hotel in the area. Rob and Rebecca were very pleasant and helpful and location is perfect. YHA have a long way to go now as the standard has been raised.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in the family room, and it's lovely. Great staff, amazing Nature, dont forget to walk to the Mountain Siabod, great easy climbing on the top. We are from Switzerland and the Nature is very different for this hight. And the Nature starts right at the doorstep of the hostel.

The Restaurant we've been twice, was the Tyn y Coed, just 5 minutes by feet, check the daily special for desserts =)

Room Tip: The family room was great! =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumpfsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
2.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
4.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
4.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
663 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
10.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Property: Plas Curig Hostel
Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Youth Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Youth Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, homely, fun and most importantly cheap accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody is welcome and we offer dog-friendly accommodation. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches.Our cheap accommodation means the magic of Snowdonia can be enjoyed by everyone. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Snowdonia has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing